Underground Comm Conduit - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2015, 05:44 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,921
Rewards Points: 3,010
Default Underground Comm Conduit

I need to get a cat 5 cable through a 2 inch conduit. the run is about 225 ft there is a CATV RG11 cable and a 25 pair telco cable in it. I have never "blown" a string into a conduit before. Can this be done ?
Thanks
electricguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2015, 05:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
halfamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: the wild west
Posts: 631
Rewards Points: 516
Default

What's wrong with your fishtape?
halfamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 05:51 PM   #3
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

If this were me, I'd tie onto that catv , and pull in two with it.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
John Valdes (02-27-2015), pete87 (02-26-2015), Spunk#7 (02-26-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2015, 06:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,921
Rewards Points: 3,010
Default

RG 11 is expensive and fairly rigid my 200 ft fish tape is probably 150 ft by now or less
electricguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 06:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Adelanto CA
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 374
Default

I would try a jet line and a plastic bag with a shop vac and if it did not go quick and easy then I would tie on to the RG11 with two lines. one for the new cable and one to pull the RG11 back in afterwards.
Hawkrod is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hawkrod For This Useful Post:
samgregger (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 06:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
360max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 11,434
Rewards Points: 1,234
Default

Walmart plastic shopping bag, string, tie string thru handles of shopping bag and vacuum it in.
360max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 06:46 PM   #7
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,236
Rewards Points: 218
Default

You can blow it or use the vacuum side with a plastic bag. Just make sure the "pig" moves easily through the pipe and fills the void completely.
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,
LARMGUY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 06:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chicago
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 27
Default

It will probably be tough to suck a bag thru that pipe. Know how many 90's? That's where the bag will get stuck in those cables. Best bet is to tape up the vacuum tube to the conduit and cables to get the best seal. Can you pull one of the cables out? Tie a string to the end you pull out and remember to tie another string on when you pull your cables back thru! It would probably be easier to pull the 25 pr out versus that rg11.
LoVolt134 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LoVolt134 For This Useful Post:
glen1971 (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 07:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,921
Rewards Points: 3,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoVolt134 View Post
It will probably be tough to suck a bag thru that pipe. Know how many 90's? That's where the bag will get stuck in those cables. Best bet is to tape up the vacuum tube to the conduit and cables to get the best seal. Can you pull one of the cables out? Tie a string to the end you pull out and remember to tie another string on when you pull your cables back thru! It would probably be easier to pull the 25 pr out versus that rg11.

The 25 pair is direct burial type and is connected, it is a motel.
electricguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 07:04 PM   #10
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

I've never vacuumed a line in with wires. I always use one existing as a pull line.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
Cow (02-26-2015), five.five-six (02-26-2015), glen1971 (02-26-2015), John Valdes (02-27-2015), pete87 (02-26-2015), Vintage Sounds (03-03-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 07:11 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 1,486
Rewards Points: 1,702
Default

You can repul in the RG11 cable if you like , if a line is used when pulled out .


Pete
pete87 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pete87 For This Useful Post:
electricguy (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 07:46 PM   #12
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 3,037
Rewards Points: 4,910
Default

I'd buy a new 240' fishtape to try before I did anything else. If yours is only 150' now, it sounds like you needed another fishtape about 90' ago.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Cow For This Useful Post:
crazyboy (03-02-2015), electricguy (02-26-2015), five.five-six (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 08:08 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,921
Rewards Points: 3,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
I'd buy a new 240' fishtape to try before I did anything else. If yours is only 150' now, it sounds like you needed another fishtape about 90' ago.
Yeah it is an Ideal one that I bought maybe 25 years ago, replaced the handle and the tape over the years
electricguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 08:16 PM   #14
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
I'd buy a new 240' fishtape to try before I did anything else. If yours is only 150' now, it sounds like you needed another fishtape about 90' ago.
Why bother to try and get through the pipe, when there is already something going through the pipe?
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
John Valdes (02-27-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 08:53 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chicago
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Being a motel they probably don't want you to take the phone and cable down for any length of time. I would go and get a new fish tape. Are both cables direct burial? You might want to get your hands on a 1/4" flat tape.
LoVolt134 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LoVolt134 For This Useful Post:
electricguy (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 09:06 PM   #16
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 3,037
Rewards Points: 4,910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Why bother to try and get through the pipe, when there is already something going through the pipe?
Because it literally takes less than 10 minutes to try with a fishtape.

I'm willing to waste that much time if need be before I tug a coax out just to find out the compression connector on the end pulled off underground when it snagged on a poorly glued 90 giving me something else to deal with.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Cow For This Useful Post:
electricguy (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 09:21 PM   #17
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
Because it literally takes less than 10 minutes to try with a fishtape.

I'm willing to waste that much time if need be before I tug a coax out just to find out the compression connector on the end pulled off underground when it snagged on a poorly glued 90 giving me something else to deal with.
I would never never ever ever pull a Metal fish tape through a conduit with existing wires in it. Are you crazy? You can rub through a catv in a few feet, let alone pulling 200' of tape around an elbow that already has wires in it. .....

Last edited by guest; 02-27-2015 at 12:42 AM. Reason: Removed snarky remarks
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 09:34 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
five.five-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,919
Rewards Points: 10,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
I would never never ever ever pull a Metal fish tape through a conduit with existing wires in it. Are you crazy? You can rub through a catv in a few feet, let alone pulling 200' of tape around an elbow that already has wires in it. .....
I don't know about never ever, but it's toward the bottom of the list of ways to get the job done. Damage one of those cables and you are replacing everything


Use the RG11 to pull in a rope, use the rope to pull the RG11, a pullstring and whatever you are adding back in. Use lots of soap.
__________________
Liberal Paradise would be a place where everybody has guaranteed employment, free comprehensive healthcare, free education, free food, free housing, free clothing, free utilities, and only authorities have guns. We have such a place. It's called prison.

Last edited by guest; 02-27-2015 at 12:42 AM. Reason: Edited quote
five.five-six is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to five.five-six For This Useful Post:
shocksystems (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 11:01 PM   #19
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 3,037
Rewards Points: 4,910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
I would never never ever ever pull a Metal fish tape through a conduit with existing wires in it. Are you crazy? You can rub through a catv in a few feet, let alone pulling 200' of tape around an elbow that already has wires in it. .....
Yes, I'm thinking clearly.

I've shoved fishtapes in LOTS of conduits with wires in them and I've yet to rub through a SINGLE wire. Maybe it's your technique, although I don't think it takes any to push a fishtape in...

I wouldn't shove a fishtape into a packed conduit, I usually just use the ground as a pullstring. But, a 2" LV conduit with a 25 pair and a coax? That's not exactly stuffed.

It sounds like you can stick to pulling one wire out and back in every time you need to add one. I'll continue to take my chances and fish when I can and pull one out when I can't. To each their own.

Last edited by guest; 02-27-2015 at 12:43 AM. Reason: Edited quote
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 11:20 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chicago
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Pushing and pulling a metal fish tape will be fine. Especially if both have a direct burial jacket. Even if they were just cmr, pull slow, with some yellow 77 and your not going to burn thru the jacket. Just make sure the eye on the end of your fish tape is taped up good too.
LoVolt134 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LoVolt134 For This Useful Post:
electricguy (02-27-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC as underground conduit xcursion88 General Electrical Discussion 7 05-07-2014 07:32 AM
Conduit in Slab or Underground? onilozay General Electrical Discussion 10 06-21-2013 04:20 AM
Underground conduit pull JacksonburgFarmer General Electrical Discussion 22 10-23-2012 07:58 AM
Underground conduit Antmc22 Commercial Electrical Forum 25 10-24-2011 12:50 AM
NM-B in conduit underground bluemoonshine General Electrical Discussion 6 02-23-2011 06:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com