Underground Comm Conduit - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2015, 11:22 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 709
Default

People still use yellow 77? I haven't seen it at the sale house in years


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2015, 11:26 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
five.five-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,919
Rewards Points: 10,144
Default

I love me some yellow 77. Stays on the wire.
__________________
Liberal Paradise would be a place where everybody has guaranteed employment, free comprehensive healthcare, free education, free food, free housing, free clothing, free utilities, and only authorities have guns. We have such a place. It's called prison.
five.five-six is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 11:32 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chicago
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Yes sir! I prefer the yellow over the clear goo any day.
LoVolt134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2015, 11:44 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 709
Default

What's the stuff that dries up and turns to a clay like substance after so long?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 11:51 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,192
Rewards Points: 4,074
Default

Fishtape.
__________________
Everything has user serviceable parts inside.
Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 11:59 PM   #26
Electron Herder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 314
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyboy View Post
What's the stuff that dries up and turns to a clay like substance after so long?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yellow 77
OaklandElec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 12:04 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
five.five-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,919
Rewards Points: 10,144
Default

Nothing a little water wont fix
__________________
Liberal Paradise would be a place where everybody has guaranteed employment, free comprehensive healthcare, free education, free food, free housing, free clothing, free utilities, and only authorities have guns. We have such a place. It's called prison.
five.five-six is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 01:40 PM   #28
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,745
Rewards Points: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
I've never vacuumed a line in with wires. I always use one existing as a pull line.
As it should be done. A vacuum will not work with wires already in the conduit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by five.five-six View Post
I don't know about never ever, but it's toward the bottom of the list of ways to get the job done. Damage one of those cables and you are replacing everything


Use the RG11 to pull in a rope, use the rope to pull the RG11, a pullstring and whatever you are adding back in. Use lots of soap.
No rope. Just use the existing rg11 to pull in another rg11, what you need and a string for the next time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
Fishtape.
225 feet and you recommend a fish tape?
I mean I am sure you can do it, but I have never used a fish tape on a run this long no matter if it had wires in it, or if it was a new conduit that was empty.
I always use an existing conductor to pull with and if new I use a vacuum or pressurized air.
In fact, it was rare for me to use a fish tape at all. On any job.
If it could not be pushed in, the wires were pulled in with string or pulled in with an existing wire.
Just how i was taught I guess.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to John Valdes For This Useful Post:
electricguy (02-27-2015), glen1971 (02-28-2015)
Old 02-27-2015, 02:25 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,192
Rewards Points: 4,074
Default

I'd rather shoot a line with a compressor but if all the guy has access to is fishtape there's no reason he can't get it done that way.

I doubt the motel owner is gonna be cool with him screwing with the cable either.
__________________
Everything has user serviceable parts inside.
Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 08:22 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
LawnGuyLandSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,380
Rewards Points: 172
Default

25 pair phone? Motel? Use the coax or the Telco line. It's a friggin' motel, not the New York Stock Exchange. Besides, nobody uses motel phones anyway.

Hey there's an idea, could 4 of those Telco pairs be spares? THERE'S your cat 5!
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 09:39 PM   #31
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
Yes, I'm thinking clearly.

I've shoved fishtapes in LOTS of conduits with wires in them and I've yet to rub through a SINGLE wire. Maybe it's your technique, although I don't think it takes any to push a fishtape in...

I wouldn't shove a fishtape into a packed conduit, I usually just use the ground as a pullstring. But, a 2" LV conduit with a 25 pair and a coax? That's not exactly stuffed.

It sounds like you can stick to pulling one wire out and back in every time you need to add one. I'll continue to take my chances and fish when I can and pull one out when I can't. To each their own.



Ummmmm. No matter how packed (or unpacked) the conduit is, if there's a cable under you fish tape, pulling around a 90, you're gonna rub right through it. But go ahead. It's not likeI care. One day you'll remember this thread, and remember this, "I told you so"
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
five.five-six (03-03-2015), John Valdes (03-03-2015)
Old 02-27-2015, 10:48 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chicago
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Been in this game for 15 years, and I have yet to cut thru the jacket with a fish tape. The poly line or cable I'm pulling in will do more damage. Its all about your technique. Pull what ever your pulling slow and easy with lots of lube and you will not hurt the other cables. As long as that pipe isn't over 50% full!
LoVolt134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 12:13 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
Ty Wrapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Shawnee KS
Posts: 2,102
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandGuy View Post
25 pair phone? Motel? Use the coax or the Telco line. It's a friggin' motel, not the New York Stock Exchange. Besides, nobody uses motel phones anyway.

Hey there's an idea, could 4 of those Telco pairs be spares? THERE'S your cat 5!
Not enough twist in those pairs to be Cat5.
Ty Wrapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 04:10 PM   #34
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,745
Rewards Points: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
I'd rather shoot a line with a compressor but if all the guy has access to is fishtape there's no reason he can't get it done that way.

I doubt the motel owner is gonna be cool with him screwing with the cable either.
So. Tell motel owner cable will be down for a little while. A fish tape at 225 feet even empty, is a feat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoVolt134 View Post
Been in this game for 15 years, and I have yet to cut thru the jacket with a fish tape. The poly line or cable I'm pulling in will do more damage. Its all about your technique. Pull what ever your pulling slow and easy with lots of lube and you will not hurt the other cables. As long as that pipe isn't over 50% full!
Maybe now that your getting your feet wet, you might just learn some time and headache saving techniques.
Like I said earlier. I rarely used a fish tape in 35 years in this trade.
We/I always opted for the easy way.
Use existing conductor or vacuum or pressurized air.

I will vacuum or blow a string anytime over a fish tape. I will sacrifice an existing conductor any day over forcing a fish tape thought a pipe with wires is it.
Did you know with THHN and some experience you can sometimes push the new conductors in over the existing? I do as I have done it many times.
But I would not ever try at this distance.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 04:19 PM   #35
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoVolt134 View Post
Been in this game for 15 years, and I have yet to cut thru the jacket with a fish tape. The poly line or cable I'm pulling in will do more damage. Its all about your technique. Pull what ever your pulling slow and easy with lots of lube and you will not hurt the other cables. As long as that pipe isn't over 50% full!
I've been in it 30+ years and I've seen conduit elbows rubbed through, but like I said, I don't care what you do. You seem like a know it all anyway.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 06:32 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
cdnelectrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,889
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

I would pull out that RG11 and pull in a rope or some mule tape with it. If they are that concerned about loss of service, run a temp RG6 above grade if you can. They need the job done right? So they should be a little accommodating. And while you're there, pull in a spare Cat 5. Hopefully the cable you plan on using is rated for direct burial.

I would not use a fishtape, you're asking for trouble down the road, underground conduit never stays dry!

Exactly what type of telephone cable is pulled into that conduit?
cdnelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cdnelectrician For This Useful Post:
Vintage Sounds (03-03-2015)
Old 03-03-2015, 08:17 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,921
Rewards Points: 3,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnelectrician View Post
I would pull out that RG11 and pull in a rope or some mule tape with it. If they are that concerned about loss of service, run a temp RG6 above grade if you can. They need the job done right? So they should be a little accommodating. And while you're there, pull in a spare Cat 5. Hopefully the cable you plan on using is rated for direct burial.

I would not use a fishtape, you're asking for trouble down the road, underground conduit never stays dry!

Exactly what type of telephone cable is pulled into that conduit?
I am pretty sure it is flooded direct burial cable . I did not look at it that close
electricguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 08:27 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
cdnelectrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,889
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricguy View Post

I am pretty sure it is flooded direct burial cable . I did not look at it that close
That stuff is pretty tough, if the RG11 is outdoor cable it's probably also pretty tough. Maybe go for the fishtape route and see how it feels, hard to say without seeing it.
cdnelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 08:33 PM   #39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 1,486
Rewards Points: 1,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoVolt134 View Post
Being a motel they probably don't want you to take the phone and cable down for any length of time. I would go and get a new fish tape. Are both cables direct burial? You might want to get your hands on a 1/4" flat tape.



They can sit on it for 15 minutes . No problem if you do not give them the option . Never give the yaho at the desk any ground to stand on .




Pete
pete87 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pete87 For This Useful Post:
electricguy (03-04-2015)
Old 03-03-2015, 08:38 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
triden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 382
Default

Which motel?
triden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC as underground conduit xcursion88 General Electrical Discussion 7 05-07-2014 07:32 AM
Conduit in Slab or Underground? onilozay General Electrical Discussion 10 06-21-2013 04:20 AM
Underground conduit pull JacksonburgFarmer General Electrical Discussion 22 10-23-2012 07:58 AM
Underground conduit Antmc22 Commercial Electrical Forum 25 10-24-2011 12:50 AM
NM-B in conduit underground bluemoonshine General Electrical Discussion 6 02-23-2011 06:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com