What specs to beef up, or upgrade, the Bridge Rectifier on my electric lawn mower?? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree25Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2017, 09:15 AM   #21
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,296
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suncoast Power View Post
Well then just buy a couple of goats.

Tried that route.

They are far too slow and picky.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2017, 09:31 AM   #22
86 45 20
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,738
Rewards Points: 8,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Tried that route.

They are far too slow and picky.
I guess you spent too long on a float as a young Marine to be allowed to have sheep.
Southeast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 09:40 AM   #23
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,296
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suncoast Power View Post
I guess you spent too long on a float as a young Marine to be allowed to have sheep.
Lol!

Had a friend drop off a trailer of his goats to graze in my back yard after SS Sandy had washed in and grown all kinds of odd greens back there.

They ate what they liked and left the rest, it looked like a ******ed haircut.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2017, 09:41 AM   #24
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Tried that route.

They are far too slow and picky.
And you have to watch out for the local Chicken Steve. Damn goats can eat grass if their lower digestive tract is swollen shut...
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 09:44 AM   #25
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,296
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
And you have to watch out for the local Chicken Steve. Damn goats can eat grass if their lower digestive tract is swollen shut...
I'll keep that in mind but I'd say this area is pretty safe for livestock with relative certainty.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 11:47 AM   #26
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,528
Rewards Points: 2,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
Any bridge rectifier with specs exceeding the original will do. You could even use two in parallel, or individual diodes.
If it's just a basic bridge rectifier, simply replace it with one that has a higher current rating. Higher voltage won't help but it doesn't hurt either.

If there's a heatsink involved, use heatsink compound when bolting the diodes/rectifier to the heatsink or it'll overheat.
brian john and RePhase277 like this.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 12:53 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsparky View Post
I didn't read were you tested the bridge, put a meter across it before you throw parts at it.
I tested it with a tick tracer by isolating a group of parts at a time, and seeing which group of parts tried the breaker. Long story, short.... switch works fine and doesn't trip the breaker until plugged directly into isolated rectifier. Looks like one of the pins were bent... thinking that's a symptom rather than the cause.

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
If it's just a basic bridge rectifier, simply replace it with one that has a higher current rating. Higher voltage won't help but it doesn't hurt either.

If there's a heatsink involved, use heatsink compound when bolting the diodes/rectifier to the heatsink or it'll overheat.
That's what I would've guessed, but I don't really like guessing when it comes to electrons. I guess I'll go with the 50 A, 1000 V certain then... Since it seems to be the cheapest available.

And yes, I will definitely make sure there's plenty of heatsink compound.

Thanks for the help!!
grndslm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 02:03 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,963
Rewards Points: 1,700
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsparky View Post
A bridge is 4 diodes tied together, an ohm meter will read conduction in one direction only, read across each lead. Will read open or shorted, swap the leads, will measure reverse of first reading.
IIRC You want them to be 2 times PIV (Peak Inverse Voltage).
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 02:30 PM   #29
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,735
Rewards Points: 848
Default

If that motor doesn't have a thermal shutoff, I'd go OEM on the part.

Cheaper than replacing the motor.


Wait ... Nothing ... I don't wait 3 or 4 weeks to cut my grass , and even if I did, I have a Man's lawnmower
wildleg and RePhase277 like this.
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 09:00 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,869
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Name:  diodes.jpg
Views: 162
Size:  52.8 KB

[QUOTE] Those look to be at least 30amp rated. [QUOTE]


No chance those diodes are 30A !
at best 8A.
if you want 30A you will need a bridge arrangement

micromind likes this.

Last edited by dmxtothemax; 07-16-2017 at 09:03 PM.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 09:51 PM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

[quote=dmxtothemax;4132866]Attachment 109138

[QUOTE] Those look to be at least 30amp rated.
Quote:


No chance those diodes are 30A !
at best 8A.
if you want 30A you will need a bridge arrangement

Actually, those are regular 1 amp diodes. I just have tiny, tiny hands
micromind likes this.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 09:10 AM   #32
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtnut View Post
If that motor doesn't have a thermal shutoff, I'd go OEM on the part.

Cheaper than replacing the motor.


Wait ... Nothing ... I don't wait 3 or 4 weeks to cut my grass , and even if I did, I have a Man's lawnmower
But the motor should be able to handle that grass no problem... Even if I haven't cut it in 8 to 12 months!! I think it really has been closer to a year since that backyard's been cut.

The mower with the shorted rectifier was a newer 13 amp Black & Decker. I ended up using a 30+ year old, 8 amp Black & Decker model (called the Flip something or another) to finish the job, even after it had rained!!! What likely burnt up the 13 amp rectifier was not using the side discharge attachment since it was elsewhere. Mulching was definitely not smart.

But anyway.. you can keep your man's mower. I don't ever have to go get gas or oil, never have to worry about cleaning carburetors, air filters, choking, unchoking, ripping off the pull string, or having to store it outside since it smells like gas. Too much trouble when the corded mowers virtually always JUST WORK.. and even if one component does fail, they are easier to diagnose and of the 2 or 3 parts that fail, they are also easier and cheaper to replace usually, than a carb rebuild kit for example.

Mowing with a cord is really not all that difficult. I just cut in a back and forth pattern that starts closest to the receptacle and moves away so that cord stays between the receptacle and the mower deck. It also helps to hold a loop of cord in each hand to help whip it from time to time, plus it allows you to know how much slack you have.

Batteries and gas can suck my mower's grASS!
grndslm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 11:45 AM   #33
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Importantly, a large cord is need for those mowers.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 01:48 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
cuba_pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,541
Rewards Points: 2,813
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
Thanks, but us barefoot cousin humpers in 'Bamy don't believe in that there Ebay. That's for the devil. We roll our own bridge rectifiers in these hills:
I find it hard to believe that there are that many electric bushhogs out in the sticks...
__________________
Troll in Training
cuba_pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 01:50 PM   #35
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,296
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
Importantly, a large cord is need for those mowers.
A large cord beats a short one hands down!
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 02:42 PM   #36
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuba_pete View Post
I find it hard to believe that there are that many electric bushhogs out in the sticks...
I'm not the OP.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 02:44 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,908
Rewards Points: 1,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
A large cord beats a short one hands down!
And a lawn service beats them all hands down been 10 years since I mowed grass.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brian john For This Useful Post:
Bird dog (07-24-2017), Southeast Power (07-17-2017)
Old 07-17-2017, 11:09 PM   #38
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,063
Rewards Points: 574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Tried that route.

They are far too slow and picky.
Don't feed them but do stake them out on a chain, they'll eat a rope.

They also fertilize as they go.

__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,
LARMGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 03:35 PM   #39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Its not going to 'help' your mower mow any more if you uprate the BR it will however last longer. As long as voltage is the same and your curremt is as high or higher than you are fine.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk
bigbigjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Company Service Drop Upgrade MustangRider6688 Services and Service Equipment 12 07-11-2016 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com