Who knows their CH panels? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2014, 11:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Rewards Points: 1,250
Default Who knows their CH panels?

And what is the likelihood of this one accepting twins?



Realtor sent me the pic, I can't get out there for a couple days.
Joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2014, 12:30 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 653
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Is the panel listed to accept the tandem breakers? Who knows?
120/208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 12:38 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Rewards Points: 1,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 120/208 View Post
Is the panel listed to accept the tandem breakers? Who knows?
yes, that was the question
Joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2014, 01:05 AM   #4
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ∙
Posts: 7,230
Rewards Points: 340
Default

A miniature realtor with a miniature camera taking miniature photos.
FrunkSlammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 01:15 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Call the realtor and ask them for a better picture that has the label clearly shown. It should have a list of all the breakers the panel is approved for. Which is not to say others may not physically fit, but they aren't listed/approved.
jigs-n-fixtures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 01:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
J. Temple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: California
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 79
Default

It looks pretty old. Most of the older panels are listed for tandem breakers. It's the newer ones that are CTL (circuit total limitation). I believe prior to 1965 all panel could have tandem breakers. How old is the building? Is the sub-panel original? Hope this info makes sense and is helpful.
J. Temple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 03:48 AM   #7
NJ-IEC
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14,387
Rewards Points: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jigs-n-fixtures
Call the realtor and ask them for a better picture that has the label clearly shown. It should have a list of all the breakers the panel is approved for. Which is not to say others may not physically fit, but they aren't listed/approved.
It's a CHCH panel and those are the only breakers you'll be fitting in that panel. IMO that's the benefit of a CH or QO.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 06:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,924
Rewards Points: 8,524
Default

Those tan handle CH types plug in like a QO breaker.
This is what you will need.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_151343-82364...ductId=3014062


I have this load center in my house.
Southeast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 08:00 AM   #9
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,209
Rewards Points: 178
Default

Looks like a couple of empty spaces. Unless you are planning on adding some, you are all set even if not listed for twins. Go forth, make money.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 08:03 AM   #10
Electron Flow Consultant
 
sparky970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Longview, WA
Posts: 3,309
Rewards Points: 992
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joefixit2 View Post
And what is the likelihood of this one accepting twins?



Realtor sent me the pic, I can't get out there for a couple days.
Looks like it already has a couple
sparky970 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sparky970 For This Useful Post:
220/221 (02-28-2014)
Old 02-28-2014, 09:32 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Rewards Points: 1,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky970 View Post
Looks like it already has a couple
You may be right, my eyes aren't that good.
Joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 09:33 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Rewards Points: 1,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
Looks like a couple of empty spaces. Unless you are planning on adding some, you are all set even if not listed for twins. Go forth, make money.

Home inspector said no more room so I have to assume there are no bus stabs behind those two KOs
Joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 09:34 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Rewards Points: 1,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Temple View Post
It looks pretty old. Most of the older panels are listed for tandem breakers. It's the newer ones that are CTL (circuit total limitation). I believe prior to 1965 all panel could have tandem breakers. How old is the building? Is the sub-panel original? Hope this info makes sense and is helpful.
Thanks, the building is 1960
Joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 09:35 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Rewards Points: 1,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrannis View Post
Those tan handle CH types plug in like a QO breaker.
This is what you will need.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_151343-82364...ductId=3014062


I have this load center in my house.
Thanks jrannis, just the kind of response I was looking for.
Joefixit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 10:20 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
MattHelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MO
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 89
Default

Is that a main lug only load center? If so, is one of the DP breakers being used as the disconnect?
MattHelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 11:56 AM   #16
Fond of three phase
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cedar Grove, Wi. 40 mi. north of Milwaukee.
Posts: 1,649
Rewards Points: 928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joefixit2 View Post
Thanks, the building is 1960
The panel doesn't look that old. It also looks like there's a tandem used already. Best thing to do is pull the cover and look!
retiredsparktech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 02:17 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: pgh pa
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 115
Default

Two tandems being used top left and 2nd down on right
guy2073 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sky Panels stuiec Lighting Design 5 10-28-2012 08:11 PM
Sub - panels drumnut08 General Electrical Discussion 8 10-18-2012 10:49 PM
Replacing 50 year old westinghouse panels with newer panels SPINA ELECTRIC Services and Service Equipment 1 08-08-2010 02:20 PM
How many panels do you need now ? MDShunk General Electrical Discussion 33 12-18-2009 01:58 PM
FPE Panels nolabama Services and Service Equipment 5 10-02-2008 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com