Whole panel circuit protector question - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By macmikeman
  • 1 Post By The_Modifier
  • 2 Post By Navyguy
  • 2 Post By wcord
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2019, 03:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ottawa valley
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default Whole panel circuit protector question

So I've got this panel I'm doing new work on, and I have to put a whole panel protector on it. I've accepted that I'm going to have to put a hole in the wall, but, in the end I want it to look nice. So, what type/style of whole panel protector should I use such that its status is visible at/on the wall and it's somewhat easy to replace should the need arise.

I've looked at a few devices, but nothing I've seen so far is both visually appealing and does the required job. I'd prefer if the device either was flush mounted or didn't stick out too far as this panel is mounted in a small hallway. Oh, and I can't use an in-panel device unless it's a screw-in mount (not snap in). I've not yet found an in-panel device which is a screw-in type - otherwise I'd have it installed already. :P
Jarod997 is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2019, 03:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,842
Rewards Points: 3,976
Default

What brand of panel? Several manufacturers now have SPDs that fit in a couple of breaker spaces. Some even have built-in breakers so that you don't lose those spaces.
__________________
Elizabeth Warren 2020. Strong Woman, Strong Future, Strong America.
CoolWill is online now  
Old 03-03-2019, 03:42 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ottawa valley
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Siemens EQ424225 -- which translates into:
  • Siemens EQ Loadcentre
  • 4 wire
  • 24/48 circuits
  • 225 amp
(I like it when manufacturers have meaningful product numbers ).


Sorry, would have posted a photo, but I'm still too new here.
Jarod997 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2019, 03:50 PM   #4
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 27,713
Rewards Points: 17,781
Default

You can put them into a flush mounted junction box located below your panel if you are concerned about looks. Like an 8x8x4 indoor pull box. Go to the same family friendly hardware store Hacks goes to that has the slogan "Ace is the place" and get an offset nipple for the leads from the surge protector to the panel where you put the 2 pole breaker into. Shorter leads are better, but nobody is really going to know except you. If the lights are critical to see all the time, you can cut an acrylic plastic clear cover for it and throw away the cover that came with the box.
Jarod997 likes this.
__________________
JOBS GROWTH SOARS
RECORD WORKING
UNEMPLOYMENT 50-YEAR LOW
Drudge Report
macmikeman is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to macmikeman For This Useful Post:
Jarod997 (03-03-2019)
Old 03-03-2019, 03:54 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ottawa valley
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Ya, that thought occurred to me today. And no, I don't care if I have to open a door to check, just as long as it's easily accessible. It's going in an existing church panel which has all their sound equipment on it. They've been having some issues with various pieces of equipment lately and this is a relatively cheap/easy item to install. Getting the speakers off the ceiling, that was fun.
Jarod997 is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 04:21 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ottawa valley
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
What brand of panel? Several manufacturers now have SPDs that fit in a couple of breaker spaces. Some even have built-in breakers so that you don't lose those spaces.

Ya, but not that will fit in a bolt-in panel - at least not that I've found yet.
Jarod997 is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 05:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,842
Rewards Points: 3,976
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarod997 View Post
Ya, but not that will fit in a bolt-in panel - at least not that I've found yet.
Guess I didn't read it all.
__________________
Elizabeth Warren 2020. Strong Woman, Strong Future, Strong America.
CoolWill is online now  
Old 03-03-2019, 07:35 PM   #8
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
The_Modifier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 2,744
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarod997 View Post
So I've got this panel I'm doing new work on,
@Jarod997 are you a licensed electrician? Just curious.

Quote:
About Jarod997
Professional Biography
I do mainly repairs and small installations (single item, not whole residence)
What is your electrical related field/trade:
Engineer, manufacturing technologist
Bird dog likes this.
__________________
Opportunities multiply as they are seized.

Last edited by The_Modifier; 03-03-2019 at 07:38 PM.
The_Modifier is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 10:39 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 4,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarod997 View Post
Siemens EQ424225 -- which translates into:
  • Siemens EQ Loadcentre
  • 4 wire
  • 24/48 circuits
  • 225 amp
(I like it when manufacturers have meaningful product numbers ).


Sorry, would have posted a photo, but I'm still too new here.
4 Wire panel? 3 phase? Need more then a double pole breaker.

Cheers
John
splatz and CoolWill like this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 07:53 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
wcord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 3,835
Rewards Points: 1,626
Default

in a separate enclosure
splatz and Jarod997 like this.
__________________
Nothing is to be gained by arguing with fools.
Nothing can be gained by reasoning with ignorant people.

Last edited by wcord; 03-04-2019 at 07:57 AM.
wcord is online now  
Old 03-05-2019, 04:59 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ottawa valley
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

@The_Modifier I am not a licensed electrician, no. The term "new work" that I've heard refers to retrofitting or performing work after the project has been completed - such as adding a new receptacle box in an existing wall. All my electrical work I've done so far has been inspected and passed though, and I know where to draw the line as far as what I'm comfortable doing.

@Navyguy - Yes, you're correct. But there isn't 3 phase going into that box, just your standard phase per side type thing. I'm not happy with that panel, but it's what I have to work with.
Jarod997 is offline  
Old 03-05-2019, 06:49 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,774
Rewards Points: 7,493
Default

That's a 3 phase panel. And you have single phase feeding it? ("phase per side type thing") Is there a neutral, and a ground bus in it? I can tell you right now, that won't pass inspection.
__________________
-------------------------------
~ She thinks I'm crazy, but I'm just growing old~
joebanana is offline  
Old 03-05-2019, 08:18 PM   #13
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,360
Rewards Points: 1,666
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. The Moderators of this forum would prefer if you post Do It Yourself related topics on our sister site www.DIYChatroom.com

ElectricianTalk.com is designed for electrical industry professionals to discuss issues and topics related to the electrical trades and related industries. Many of our professionals are also members at DIYChatroom.com and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
The_Modifier (03-05-2019)
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splice in Panel NDC Canadian Electrical Forum 20 08-24-2018 10:17 AM
Working on panel - safety instructions for Gen Mgr conclavicus General Electrical Discussion 24 05-19-2018 11:43 PM
Need advice for mouting a pony panel NDC Canadian Electrical Forum 10 04-05-2018 03:52 PM
Converting a 3 wire 3 phase aux panel to 4 wire Elec Trix Commercial Electrical Forum 10 01-13-2018 07:33 AM
Sub Panel or main panel Agewon Residential Electrical Forum 12 09-06-2017 10:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com