Wild leg - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2019, 03:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: nebraska
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default Wild leg

Can you, by NEC, install a 20a 120v receptacle fed from a panel board with "B" phase being the wild leg? If you use A or C phase you should be okay.
pencil is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2019, 05:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,625
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

Of course you can


Well....I can anyway. I don't know your skill level
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 05:34 PM   #3
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,517
Rewards Points: 4,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pencil View Post
Can you, by NEC, install a 20a 120v receptacle fed from a panel board with "B" phase being the wild leg? If you use A or C phase you should be okay.
There's no reference point available in the system that's 120V to B -

AB = 240
BC = 240
BN = 208 = BG

So if you were to install a 120V 20a receptacle with B to hot and N to neutral it would be at 208V, violating the listing, the rating, and probably a lot of other things.

As you mention AN or CN is 120V as intended, that's how it's supposed to work with the high leg delta.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2019, 06:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,970
Rewards Points: 1,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pencil View Post
Can you, by NEC, install a 20a 120v receptacle fed from a panel board with "B" phase being the wild leg? If you use A or C phase you should be okay.
That is the whole reason for Delta-Hi-Leg distribution
micromind likes this.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 11:26 PM   #5
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,583
Rewards Points: 2,776
Default

Think of a 120/240 3 4 wire system as a single phase system with a high leg added.

The two 120 volt legs are exactly the same as a basic 120/240 single phase system, the high leg is the only oddball.
CoolWill likes this.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 10:08 AM   #6
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

what he said.
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 12:33 PM   #7
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,570
Rewards Points: 1,552
Default

Welcome aboard @pencil!

Enjoy your ride here.

A receptacle wired in the manner you mention might just take the lead out of your pencil!
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 08:45 AM   #8
German Spy
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,594
Rewards Points: 3,873
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
BN = 208 = BG

So if you were to install a 120V 20a receptacle with B to hot and N to neutral it would be at 208V, violating the listing, the rating, and probably a lot of other things.
Do they make sp breakers rated for 240V?

I suppose if they did, you could fee 208V equipment from it, couldn't you?
__________________
I see nooothing, I was not here.
I did not even get up this morning.
Helmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 11:37 AM   #9
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,517
Rewards Points: 4,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
Do they make sp breakers rated for 240V?

I suppose if they did, you could fee 208V equipment from it, couldn't you?
I can't think of a reason why it wouldn't work,
but that doesn't mean there isn't a reason
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 12:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fleetside, RI
Posts: 619
Rewards Points: 1,203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
Do they make sp breakers rated for 240V?

I suppose if they did, you could fee 208V equipment from it, couldn't you?
It would "work" but you may be loading the neutral and the transformer in an unintended way
splatz and Kevin_Essiambre like this.
samgregger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 12:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
just the cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,634
Rewards Points: 14
Default Not sure

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I can't think of a reason why it wouldn't work,
but that doesn't mean there isn't a reason

Back in the stone age when I was in school they said no it is unusable because vector wise it goes to 240 first then subtracts to 208. I have heard people on here say you could, if breaker was rated. But I don't think it would be good.


Cowboy
splatz likes this.
__________________
A cowboy may get thrown down, but he always gets up and walks forward and don't look back at what thru him.
just the cowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 05:11 PM   #12
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,191
Rewards Points: 466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by just the cowboy View Post
Back in the stone age when I was in school they said no it is unusable because vector wise it goes to 240 first then subtracts to 208. I have heard people on here say you could, if breaker was rated. But I don't think it would be good.


Cowboy
This doesn't make sense to me, can you elaborate?

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 05:18 PM   #13
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,517
Rewards Points: 4,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by just the cowboy View Post
Back in the stone age when I was in school they said no it is unusable because vector wise it goes to 240 first then subtracts to 208. I have heard people on here say you could, if breaker was rated. But I don't think it would be good.
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
This doesn't make sense to me, can you elaborate?
I was trying to think ... which winding would supply the voltage?

Would it be
N-C-B = 208 - half the AC winding plus the BC winding
or
B-A-N = 208 - other half of the AC winding plus the AB winding
or
both
?
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 10:16 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,215
Rewards Points: 2,712
Default

The open delta 4-wire is where you will find the wonky imbalance if you use the high leg to neutral. Not sure of the exact reason, but a closed delta wouldn't have that problem if the transformer with the neutral were sized right.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 10:17 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,215
Rewards Points: 2,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I was trying to think ... which winding would supply the voltage?

Would it be
N-C-B = 208 - half the AC winding plus the BC winding
or
B-A-N = 208 - other half of the AC winding plus the AB winding
or
both
?
Yes.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 11:42 PM   #16
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,583
Rewards Points: 2,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
Do they make sp breakers rated for 240V?

I suppose if they did, you could fee 208V equipment from it, couldn't you?
Years ago, when I was a carpenter, I had a 240 volt worm-drive skilsaw and my compressor was also 240.

I made up some clip less (yes, they were fused) and whenever I worked anywhere there was a 240 ∆, I would use the high leg and the neutral.

Never had a lick of trouble but got some flak from electricians who didn't know better.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 07:46 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 160
Default John R retired electrician from Fed Gov

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
Do they make sp breakers rated for 240V?

I suppose if they did, you could fee 208V equipment from it, couldn't you?
SD was making 240 the last time i checked
John R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 08:21 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Fist of lightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 151
Default

What was the intended purpose or advantage of using this system back in the day . If you cannot use the b phase with a single pole braker To feed peices of equipment with
Fist of lightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 08:26 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,215
Rewards Points: 2,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fist of lightning View Post
What was the intended purpose or advantage of using this system back in the day . If you cannot use the b phase with a single pole braker To feed peices of equipment with

1) You got 240 three phase for big motor loads
2) You got 120 V for general power
3) You got an easy place to ground the system
4) You got a nice closed delta to cancel harmonic currents


The 208 volt high leg was just a side effect. You want 240 volt three phase and 120 V single phase from a delta, well, you have to live with the 208. The physics won't have it any other way.


It really is a pretty good and stable system, especially if you have a bunch of motors.
micromind and JRaef like this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 02:58 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,111
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
1) You got 240 three phase for big motor loads
2) You got 120 V for general power
3) You got an easy place to ground the system
4) You got a nice closed delta to cancel harmonic currents


The 208 volt high leg was just a side effect. You want 240 volt three phase and 120 V single phase from a delta, well, you have to live with the 208. The physics won't have it any other way.


It really is a pretty good and stable system, especially if you have a bunch of motors.
The operative issue was however, that your loads were PREDOMINANTLY 240V 3 phase, with SOME 120V loads. So think of a machine shop with lots of 3 phase machine tools all around, then a small front office, snack room and bathrooms that need 120V outlets. In some areas the utility will limit the 120V to 5% of the total load because it results in an imbalance. if your loads are predominantly single phase, they will push you to 208Y120.
micromind and CoolWill like this.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 Electric only Ford Transit Connect found in the wild Southeast Power Tools, Equipment and New Products 5 12-02-2018 09:48 PM
Delta Service Wild Leg on HVAC equipment sparkiez General Electrical Discussion 42 10-18-2018 02:10 PM
Tomatoes Gone Wild Dennis Alwon Off Topic (Non Trade) 20 06-20-2018 04:14 AM
load changes cause wild voltage swings ??? mikewillnot Residential Electrical Forum 9 03-23-2016 10:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com