Wire fill, pass or fail? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2015, 04:09 PM   #1
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default Wire fill, pass or fail?

Handy box, device and four conductors

Attached Images
 
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?

Last edited by guest; 02-11-2015 at 09:40 PM. Reason: Removed broken link
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2015, 04:10 PM   #2
JDJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 376
Rewards Points: 547
Default

Broken link
JDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 04:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

How deep?
What size conductors?
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2015, 04:57 PM   #4
Electrical Simpleton
 
Pete m.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,350
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Your box would have to be 3X2X2-3/4. Assuming you are using #14.

Pete
__________________
"The difference between a conviction and a prejudice is that you can explain a conviction without getting angry."
Pete m. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 06:37 PM   #5
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

A looped 12/2, only the blacks are broken.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 06:42 PM   #6
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Lets try againWire fill, pass or fail?-uploadfromtaptalk1423694345476.jpg
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?

Last edited by guest; 02-11-2015 at 09:38 PM.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 08:08 PM   #7
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

I can see that dishwasher sticking out of the cabinet. BTW, that's one cheap dishwasher so its not that bad.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 08:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,557
Rewards Points: 3,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
A looped 12/2, only the blacks are broken.
I don't believe it matters if the all conductors are spliced or not.
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Big Pickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 122
Default

So you want to put in a switch?

Last edited by Big Pickles; 02-11-2015 at 10:14 PM.
Big Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 10:25 PM   #10
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
I don't believe it matters if the all conductors are spliced or not.
Yes it does.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pass or Fail Deep Cover General Electrical Discussion 32 09-25-2013 09:48 AM
Pass or fail? Deep Cover General Electrical Discussion 20 12-23-2012 08:47 PM
Pass or fail BBQ NEC Code Forum 39 09-26-2011 01:55 AM
Junction box wire fill calc I made TOOL_5150 General Electrical Discussion 1 03-12-2009 05:10 AM
Conduit fill and derating wire. rod213 NEC Code Forum 41 03-12-2008 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com