Wire toner. - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By LARMGUY
  • 1 Post By MXer774
  • 1 Post By Cow
  • 1 Post By splatz
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2017, 09:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,134
Default Wire toner.

Looking to get a toner to help identify wires especially when working in a trough can be a pain to try and identify wires. Was looking at a greenlee AT8LK looks like a nice unit with a variety of features.

Sent from my SM-S727VL using Tapatalk
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2017, 10:43 PM   #2
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,063
Rewards Points: 574
Default

Do you want the device for LAN and network use that the Greenlee you mentioned will do or do you want a more analog wire identification unit like the Tempo 620K

https://www.datacomtools.com/store/620K.html

This unit along with polarity testing for DC circuits and the regular toning feature also has a N/O normally open and N/C Normally closed feature I cannot live without. I can hook up the toner to the wires in question set to N/O and then go to the other end, and connect the wires and listen for the tone or even latch the tone if I'm too far to hear it.

splatz likes this.
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,
LARMGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 04:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,134
Default

Would like to be able to do cat5 along with regular wiring.

Sent from my SM-S727VL using Tapatalk
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2017, 08:28 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
MXer774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: The Grid
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 608
Default

Ask Telsa
dronai likes this.
MXer774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 09:15 AM   #5
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 4,584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MXer774 View Post
Ask Telsa
Yeah, give Telsa a few minutes to respond, I'm sure he's busy googling it right now.
readydave8 likes this.
Cow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 09:37 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
MXer774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: The Grid
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
Yeah, give Telsa a few minutes to respond, I'm sure he's busy googling it right now.
Too funny. Alright, I'll give my real response. I have one of these and highly recommend it. Have not had any issues out of it. http://www.flukenetworks.com/datacom...Tone-and-Probe
MXer774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 09:38 AM   #7
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,316
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

The Greenlee in the OP is set up with a built in banjo, when working with modular jacks / plugs you can inject your tone on whatever pair you want rather than the blue pair. This can be useful if you do a lot of work with datacom cables.

The one @LARMGUY posted catches alarm openings / closings which is obviously useful for alarms but could also be useful if you're messing with digital IOs on PLCs, DAQ, etc.

But there is a Trippet 3388 that can be used on energized wires up to 240V, an obvious advantage when working with power.
LARMGUY likes this.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 08:38 PM   #8
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,063
Rewards Points: 574
Default

The same catalog MXer posted has this http://www.flukenetworks.com/content...election-guide
It is an online guide to help select the right tester for your application.



I have always wanted a TDR but I have heard mixed reviews about the TS100.
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,
LARMGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
for pad mounted transformer secondary side, pulling wire no ground wire required? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 9 04-09-2017 01:22 PM
Invisible Dog Fence Wire? John Valdes General Electrical Discussion 11 06-10-2016 10:55 PM
Branch circuit wire for a 12v dc off grid solar cabin Off Grid Alternative Energy Forum 14 05-12-2016 08:13 AM
Wire Strippers for #18 stranded 2 conductor !Tom Tools, Equipment and New Products 22 05-04-2016 08:22 PM
8ga Aluminum Oven Wire vs 8ga Copper Wire? savatreatabvr General Electrical Discussion 17 01-13-2016 07:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com