Wires running across joists in attic - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2014, 09:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 105
Default Wires running across joists in attic

I recently had a job inspected and all the old work was done quite sloppily. Specifically wires not stapled and running across across the joists. I failed inspection because of it and now am in the process of lengthening the old wires so I can staple them to the joists. I am wondering though is that specifically a code or just the inspectors subjective interpretation of neat work?
TomSpano is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2014, 10:02 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: mn
Posts: 12,376
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSpano
I recently had a job inspected and all the old work was done quite sloppily. Specifically wires not stapled and running across across the joists. I failed inspection because of it and now am in the process of lengthening the old wires so I can staple them to the joists. I am wondering though is that specifically a code or just the inspectors subjective interpretation of neat work?
Yes there is, but your inspector can not make you fix old sloppy work. He could ask nicely. But not fail your work that isn't yours.
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 10:29 AM   #3
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,002
Rewards Points: 12,371
Default

Here is how I understand it in general terms: An inspector cannot demand upgrades to a building for wiring that was original. If it is obvious that there was wiring done after the fact that was not properly permitted and inspected, he can demand that it be brought up to current standards.

Our job quotes state that we do not include repairs to existing wiring in our bid. Safety concerns and violations will be brought to the attention of the owner or GC and will be quoted separately. If an inspector demands repairs and upgrades, that's money in the bank .
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 99cents For This Useful Post:
RIVETER (01-26-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2014, 11:43 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 105
Default

Hmm good to know. I may just fix it all. Halfway through already. Some of the old work is stapled but it's on top of the joist. That shouldn't be a problem should it?
TomSpano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 11:44 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: mn
Posts: 12,376
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSpano
Hmm good to know. I may just fix it all. Halfway through already. Some of the old work is stapled but it's on top of the joist. That shouldn't be a problem should it?
How is an apprentice pulling permits?
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 11:46 AM   #6
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,002
Rewards Points: 12,371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSpano View Post
Hmm good to know. I may just fix it all. Halfway through already. Some of the old work is stapled but it's on top of the joist. That shouldn't be a problem should it?
It wouldn't fly here but here isn't there.

If you're getting paid for all this extra work it could be a nice little money maker .
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 11:48 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Deep Cover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SE WI
Posts: 2,923
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

320.23 via 334.23
Deep Cover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 11:48 AM   #8
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

it can stay on top if its protected, such as a strip of wood on both sides
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to papaotis For This Useful Post:
chicken steve (01-26-2014)
Old 01-26-2014, 11:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Deep Cover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SE WI
Posts: 2,923
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
it can stay on top if its protected, such as a strip of wood on both sides
Only necessary if the attic is accessible by permanent stairs or within 6' of the scuttle.
Deep Cover is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Deep Cover For This Useful Post:
360max (01-26-2014), guest (01-26-2014), wendon (01-26-2014)
Old 01-26-2014, 03:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 105
Default

Ok so what do they mean by guard strips in the code book?
TomSpano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 03:40 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 105
Default

And I didn't pull the permits
TomSpano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 04:45 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
wendon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsiberia
Posts: 9,327
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSpano View Post
Ok so what do they mean by guard strips in the code book?
The big question is: is the attic accessed by a permanent stair or ladder. If not, protection is only needed within 6' of the access hole. I believe the guard strips would be strips of 1x4 or something of the like nailed on each side of the cable to protect it when you're back up there redoing someone's work. It must be at least as thick as the cable.
__________________
Saving the world, one backstabbed receptacle at a time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wendon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 06:01 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 105
Default

Thanks for everyone's input. So there are not permanent stairs. So that means wires already stapled on the face not within 6 ft are ok, right? In addition I can stop stapling all these wires? I'm not getting paid for the extra work unfortunetly
TomSpano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 08:16 PM   #14
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,002
Rewards Points: 12,371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSpano View Post
Thanks for everyone's input. So there are not permanent stairs. So that means wires already stapled on the face not within 6 ft are ok, right? In addition I can stop stapling all these wires? I'm not getting paid for the extra work unfortunetly
I would stop stapling and work on your power of negotiation.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 99cents For This Useful Post:
dspiffy (01-26-2014)
Old 01-26-2014, 10:07 PM   #15
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,670
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

We don't care where the access is. If there is a meter (3 ft. + 3 inches or so ) clearance we protect our wire. I always wire near the outside walls so don't worry about protection.

Staple at one end then walk 40 or so feet to the other end and pull her tight. Eye ball within a 16th of an inch for square and drop a second staple. Two wires under a staple.

If I'm feeling chipper I might toss another staple in here or there when doing the general wiring of the room.

My rough-in (all at right angles) looks wonderful. Always the inspector smiles and has never once asked where the ladder is.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daveEM is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to daveEM For This Useful Post:
360max (01-26-2014), 99cents (01-26-2014), dspiffy (01-27-2014), wendon (01-26-2014)
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running EMT in attic Aegis General Electrical Discussion 24 08-28-2012 09:50 PM
Rewiring 2nd floor from the attic; wires and attic floorboards Breakfasteatre Residential Electrical Forum 14 01-08-2012 11:00 AM
Correcting wires ran incorrectly along floor joists cmdietz NEC Code Forum 11 08-27-2011 04:12 PM
running NMSC through holes in joists question LTH306 Residential Electrical Forum 5 03-31-2011 10:14 PM
Wires in the attic... waco General Electrical Discussion 5 09-08-2008 10:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com