Xfmr Lugs - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree14Likes
  • 2 Post By macmikeman
  • 1 Post By micromind
  • 2 Post By Southeast Power
  • 3 Post By varmit
  • 1 Post By brian john
  • 1 Post By micromind
  • 2 Post By splatz
  • 1 Post By frenchelectrican
  • 1 Post By lightman
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2017, 11:27 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 335
Rewards Points: 280
Default Xfmr Lugs

I am trying to find a method of connecting 11 individual 4/0 conductors (each phase) to the lugs of a pad-mount 1500 KVA xfmr. So far, I have had no luck finding something that will have sufficient clearance between the phases and still bolt up to the Lugs.
Have you run into this problem before?

Thanks,
Rick
subelect is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2017, 12:03 AM   #2
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,954
Rewards Points: 16,267
Default

That is a lot of conductors. Poco guys will run a single set into a 48" x 48" buried vault and use a bunch of sweethearts in there. For secondaries. If these are primary wires , call the transformer company and ask them what you should do.
Dash Dingo and circuitman1 like this.
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2017, 12:08 AM   #3
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 16,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subelect View Post
I am trying to find a method of connecting 11 individual 4/0 conductors (each phase) to the lugs of a pad-mount 1500 KVA xfmr. So far, I have had no luck finding something that will have sufficient clearance between the phases and still bolt up to the Lugs.
Have you run into this problem before?

Thanks,
Rick
1500 KVA transfomer ? humm .,, do you have some type of specs what you can get a hold of it ? I am pretty sure the secondary side it kinda staggered stack up that what I remember one before.

myself and couple other guys may know a trick with this set up once I know which way the secondary is comming out of the transfomer itself.,,

I cant remember who have the photo of the connection of the common 1500 KVA transformer but I am aware of few ways of secondary connectons is.

I know the last one I did have both 6 port connectors so I ran 6 each side on the secondary take off lugs.

I dont know how tight the room you have in there. but mine was not too bad.
__________________
Bleu est beau.

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 07-27-2017 at 12:10 AM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
subelect (07-27-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2017, 10:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dash Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 707
Rewards Points: 318
Default

The poco takes care of that around here. Is it a poco supplied transformer?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dash Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 12:42 AM   #5
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,522
Rewards Points: 2,654
Default

I've used back-to-back crimp lugs, they also make ones that have a 45º bend.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 06:42 AM   #6
86 45 20
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,735
Rewards Points: 8,146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
I've used back-to-back crimp lugs, they also make ones that have a 45º bend.
I was thinking the same thing but he would need six holes per bus to pull that off.
Not unreasonable at all.
micromind and MechanicalDVR like this.
Southeast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 06:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 1,347
Rewards Points: 1,596
Default

If you only have 4 hole connection pads, you could probably stack crimp lugs with the bottom layer turned 180 degrees to the top layer.
varmit is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to varmit For This Useful Post:
Southeast Power (07-28-2017)
Old 07-28-2017, 09:23 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,907
Rewards Points: 1,586
Default

They also make a spacer that allows you to stack crimp/hypress lugs.

You never gave dimensions BUT

https://commerce.ilsco.com/e2wShoppi...221:3100012705
splatz likes this.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 01:01 PM   #9
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,522
Rewards Points: 2,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by varmit View Post
If you only have 4 hole connection pads, you could probably stack crimp lugs with the bottom layer turned 180 degrees to the top layer.
That's what I was thinking too.

Usually, the bus is thick enough to accomodate at least one of the lugs turned inward.

This way you'll have 3 per hole and need 4 holes.
frenchelectrican likes this.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 06:04 PM   #10
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,316
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

If you look at the Blackburn Color Key catalog (and I am sure others) there are lugs that are made to stack nicely in cramped spaces.
Attached Thumbnails
Xfmr Lugs-blackburncolorkeystackable.png  

__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to splatz For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-28-2017), telsa (07-28-2017)
Old 07-28-2017, 06:28 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,816
Rewards Points: 25,878
Default

I must admit, 11 x 4/0 is astounding per 'spade.'

I can't fathom it.

That much secondary power usually goes off in bigger conductors to a (solo) distribution panel. ( Big Box )

The implication here is that you're piping 200A panels something crazy out of one titanic transformer... skipping the Big Box all together.

Weird.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 10:05 PM   #12
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 16,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post
I must admit, 11 x 4/0 is astounding per 'spade.'

I can't fathom it.

That much secondary power usually goes off in bigger conductors to a (solo) distribution panel. ( Big Box )

The implication here is that you're piping 200A panels something crazy out of one titanic transformer... skipping the Big Box all together.

Weird.
I have see that before Tesla.,,

I know I was kinda little suprised with that numbers of conductors on that size due normally I useally see it in 500kcm or larger .,

unless someone screw the pooch with undersized conducts .,, that is the only time I see when they ran bunch of 4/0's
micromind likes this.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 06:33 AM   #13
86 45 20
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,735
Rewards Points: 8,146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post
I must admit, 11 x 4/0 is astounding per 'spade.'

I can't fathom it.

That much secondary power usually goes off in bigger conductors to a (solo) distribution panel. ( Big Box )

The implication here is that you're piping 200A panels something crazy out of one titanic transformer... skipping the Big Box all together.

Weird.
I would like to see what that riser looks like too.
Southeast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 06:35 AM   #14
86 45 20
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,735
Rewards Points: 8,146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
They also make a spacer that allows you to stack crimp/hypress lugs.

You never gave dimensions BUT

https://commerce.ilsco.com/e2wShoppi...221:3100012705
I like the comment " NEMA hole spacing for flexibility" doesn't mean you have to have a bolt in every hole.
Southeast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 10:59 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: england, ar
Posts: 176
Rewards Points: 352
Default

Our company used to use nema standard 2 hole lugs. We had a stock number for an aluminum extension plate 1/2 X 4 X however long you needed that was drilled out to the nema standard 2 hole pattern. You would bolt it onto the 2 hole transformer lug. Later on we changed to an aluminum bar with holes and set screws that would screw onto a threaded stud on the transformer. A stacking type lug is useful but with that many conductors I would expect you to run out of room. I don't ever remember having a failure on the 1/2 X 4 extension. We would do up to 1000MCM conductors this way.
splatz likes this.
lightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 01:07 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,165
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

I've done the plate thing before.

Preferably I just run a few conductors out of the pad to one or more tap boxes then feed from them though.
__________________
Everything has user serviceable parts inside.
Jlarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 01:24 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,816
Rewards Points: 25,878
Default

My Pocos dictate this sort of thing.

If it's their unit, they will land the secondaries, period.

The OP has me corn fused because his power level spells BIG while 4/0 says not-so-big.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 07:37 AM   #18
86 45 20
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,735
Rewards Points: 8,146
Default

It never occurred to me that it was a POCO transformer, I just assumed it was private due to all of the excessive taps.
I was just thinking someone being asked how another 600 amps could be added.
Southeast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disconnect to lugs on sub panel fastlane General Electrical Discussion 5 07-22-2017 12:17 AM
Lugs / Termination temperatures 2825mdh1 General Electrical Discussion 10 09-30-2016 04:16 PM
480Y/277V Isolation XFMR eztorres General Electrical Discussion 2 05-24-2016 07:49 PM
Feed through lugs TRurak NEC Code Forum 10 04-18-2016 05:30 AM
GE THQL Breaker Lugs Splitting at Specified Torque Mr. Skookum General Electrical Discussion 16 03-11-2016 01:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com