Your opinion on these career paths... - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree9Likes
  • 2 Post By TRurak
  • 1 Post By splatz
  • 1 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 2 Post By NC Plc
  • 3 Post By telsa

Old 08-10-2016, 12:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 28
Default Your opinion on these career paths...

I graduated from school in May from an electrical construction and maintenance program(2 year program) and also took a summer course doing overhead line work/pole climbing ect. I have been working with my uncle doing residential basically when he needs me.

Ive been looking nonstop on monster, indeed, and careerbuilder for a position. Ive only had 2 interviews and I believe they want someone with more experience.

I wanted to get into linework except where I live there doesnt seem to be openings. I dont want to move far because of family. I received a call from Freihofers(a large bakery around here) for a maintenance technician position. Id get experience with VFD's, some PLC's, and similar things.

But I also just applied to the local IBEW a couple days ago as well.

What do you think the smarter/better decision is long term? Ive tried talking to my uncle about it but one minute he'll suggest the union, and another he'll suggest the other.
jasonl176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!