Zinsco Remediation - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree13Likes
  • 5 Post By brian john
  • 3 Post By ppsh
  • 2 Post By varmit
  • 1 Post By Bird dog
  • 1 Post By ppsh
  • 1 Post By telsa
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2017, 07:03 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
ppsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 302
Rewards Points: 110
Default Zinsco Remediation

I have a 100a u/g fed Zinsco flush mount meter main and its due for replacement. Need to add a few circuits and running out of spaces. Really don't want to have to tear out the can, feeders don't have any slack, and I don't want to tear out/patch siding. Don't have the space needed for a CH or BR retrofit interior either.

There is enough length on the wires that feed the backfed 100a main, that I could put ilsco butt splices on that, and feed a new panel.

Planing on putting a 100a main breaker panel inside the garage in the stud bay to the side of it, running 1 1/4" emt between the panels and pulling #2s.

Compliant, any better ideas?
ppsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2017, 07:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,904
Rewards Points: 1,580
Default

Zinsco was trash from day one, much less 40-50 years later, replace it.
MechanicalDVR, Cow, drspec and 2 others like this.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 07:28 PM   #3
Magic Smoke Remover
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,004
Rewards Points: 1,966
Default

Pics?
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2017, 09:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ppsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 302
Rewards Points: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
Zinsco was trash from day one, much less 40-50 years later, replace it.
Not sure if my first post was clear enough, but essentially what I would be doing is using the old panel as a j box for the splice to the new panel. I would just be taking the wires from the meter that fed the main breaker, moving those to a 2 port mechanical butt splice, and have it feed the new panel instead. I would be relocating all existing circuits to the new panel. No Zinsco breaker would be in use.
ppsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 10:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 1,346
Rewards Points: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppsh View Post
Not sure if my first post was clear enough, but essentially what I would be doing is using the old panel as a j box for the splice to the new panel. I would just be taking the wires from the meter that fed the main breaker, moving those to a 2 port mechanical butt splice, and have it feed the new panel instead. I would be relocating all existing circuits to the new panel. No Zinsco breaker would be in use.
That is the standard way to relocate a panel in my part of the world. You will need to fix the old panel cover to where it does not hinge open to expose the splice. Two bolts or screws will take care of this.
brian john and MechanicalDVR like this.
varmit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 10:36 PM   #6
Magic Smoke Remover
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,004
Rewards Points: 1,966
Default

Why cant you remove the existing wires from the meter to the main completely instead of splicing? I've never seen a zinsco meter combo before.
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 10:39 PM   #7
Magic Smoke Remover
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,004
Rewards Points: 1,966
Default

And I agree with varmit. Don't forget the bonding bushing!
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 10:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
ppsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 302
Rewards Points: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt1124 View Post
Why cant you remove the existing wires from the meter to the main completely instead of splicing? I've never seen a zinsco meter combo before.
You have to pull the meter to get to the load side terminals. Easier to just extend whats accessible .
ppsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 11:03 PM   #9
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,290
Rewards Points: 996
Default

As others have said I'd run in new wires and not do the splices, I see no benefit to splicing.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 11:32 PM   #10
Magic Smoke Remover
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,004
Rewards Points: 1,966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppsh View Post
You have to pull the meter to get to the load side terminals. Easier to just extend whats accessible .
OH! I see what's going on now

I would rather yank the meter than splice hot in a small can with no breaker ahead of me, but that may not be feasible where you are....
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 11:41 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,931
Rewards Points: 1,636
Default

His profile says says "Lv".
Majewski likes this.
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 11:51 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
ppsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 302
Rewards Points: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
His profile says says "Lv".
Might be possible that I found other employment since 2014?
Majewski likes this.
ppsh is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ppsh For This Useful Post:
Bird dog (03-12-2017)
Old 03-12-2017, 11:55 PM   #13
Magic Smoke Remover
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,004
Rewards Points: 1,966
Default

I figured at his post count, he's made it this far. Those that shouldn't be get shut down pretty quick!

We all act like residential is low volt anyway, you guys don't pull out recepts from the box hot and run new circuits without shutting down the whole house?
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 12:27 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,815
Rewards Points: 25,876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt1124 View Post
I figured at his post count, he's made it this far. Those that shouldn't be get shut down pretty quick!

We all act like residential is low volt anyway, you guys don't pull out recepts from the box hot and run new circuits without shutting down the whole house?
99% of my trade experience has been commercial...

BUT.

Every time I have had to un-scramble residential branch circuits and loads the joint was a mess. Mr. DIY and Mr. handy man had fubared MWBC and much else.

So, my operating philosophy is to power down at least half the house, and break out my toner and wand. Then I never 'let the smoke out.' I can also work much, much faster.
Majewski likes this.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zinsco Panel MechanicalDVR Residential Electrical Forum 5 01-26-2017 01:39 AM
Aluminum Remediation Question David40 Residential Electrical Forum 25 09-05-2016 07:55 PM
Zinsco panel swap out grounding question Woodsman General Electrical Discussion 5 04-23-2016 12:40 AM
Zinsco Electek inc Services and Service Equipment 3 03-30-2016 07:50 AM
Zinsco with dual screws - no bus bar danickstr General Electrical Discussion 4 03-25-2016 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com