Main Breaker for SqD QO-16M panel needed - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Vintage Electrical


Like Tree16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 07:56 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: VT
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
That sounds like the QO breakers that used 4 spaces. At some point, Square D was unable to make a 100 amp breaker that worked in two spaces, so they made them span 4. I bet this breaker can be replaced by a regular QO.
I think the two space breakers are more prone to buss to breaker failure. They require a hold down.

Probably substituting a different breaker voids UL or other listing.
Connx likes this.
Willie B is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Yesterday, 08:10 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 36,749
Rewards Points: 735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie B View Post
I think the two space breakers are more prone to buss to breaker failure. They require a hold down.
Breaker hold-downs are usually dinky little pieces of plastic that will still allow you to move the breaker quite a bit. They are not required to mitigate breaker-buss connection failures.

They are only required when backfeeding a breaker to stop someone from pulling the breaker off the bus, which would leave the connection point energized. There is an exception to this rule when backfeeding a breaker for solar, since it will shutdown on it's own when removed from the bus.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:09 AM   #23
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,462
Rewards Points: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie B View Post
I think the two space breakers are more prone to buss to breaker failure. They require a hold down.



Probably substituting a different breaker voids UL or other listing.
OP is in canada. So it would be CSA or ULc listing that is voided.

Also, IIRC, at least in Ontario, we do not require a hold down kit.

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.
Connx likes this.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Yesterday, 11:56 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: VT
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Breaker hold-downs are usually dinky little pieces of plastic that will still allow you to move the breaker quite a bit. They are not required to mitigate breaker-buss connection failures.

They are only required when backfeeding a breaker to stop someone from pulling the breaker off the bus, which would leave the connection point energized. There is an exception to this rule when backfeeding a breaker for solar, since it will shutdown on it's own when removed from the bus.
I should have separated into two paragraphs. Breaker to buss failure isn't related to the hold down. More a reminder to not pull it off the buss. I've seen a few failures in the two place breakers as a main. Despite my father using them even for 200 amp services in hundreds of electric heat houses in the 60s & 70s, I haven't seen many failures in the four place. In the day they weren't using dielectric grease on the jaws. The old ones did have a pretty reliable track record.
Willie B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:55 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,570
Rewards Points: 3,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southeast Power View Post
I have a milk crate full of those.
They take up both sides of the bus.
Have they been properly tested? If I have learned one thing on this site it is that you can never put a used breaker back into service. You are taking a huge chance. Think about the kids man.
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:11 PM   #26
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,462
Rewards Points: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
Have they been properly tested? If I have learned one thing on this site it is that you can never put a used breaker back into service. You are taking a huge chance. Think about the kids man.
I'm sure he's got a 200 amp service he can test them with

Sent from my new phone. Autocorrect may have changed stuff.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:58 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 14,254
Rewards Points: 26,754
Default

You need a Main breaker to be tested by a certified outfit.

You should be able to ask your AHJ as to which firms are acceptable.

No ordinary LEC can expect to stand muster.

You might find that converting to MLO and setting a knife-switch disconnect up the line is the way forward.

You might find that C-H retro-guts are the way forward.

I can't see your set up from my house. The decision usually turns on many factors.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:35 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,929
Rewards Points: 3,026
Default

the QO 2 pole 100 will not line up with the hole it sits almost to the one side off centre for the main breaker opening I should add that our QO panels have always had a separate compartment for the main breaker and service conductors iirc also this 16 circuit panel has tandem breaker rejectors so cant add much to the panel , double check the buss for arcing

Last edited by electricguy; Yesterday at 08:01 PM.
electricguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:43 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: VT
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 190
Default

Many years ago I got a call on Friday night. A plumber in his home had suffered a main breaker, (service disconnect), failure.
The installation was horrific. NM cables entered through knock outs without removing the knock out, no connector. More cables entered through the open face, no cover.

I explained this was among the worst I had seen. It needed a new panel. Manufacturer didn't offer a replacement, they did offer a new breaker with adapter terminals.

I went back to the owner, I could replace the panel, clear up numerous other hazards. He declined, all he wanted was a new breaker. Meanwhile he lived without electric heat in his garage using a 60 amp as a makeshift main.

I got the substitute parts, and installed them.

He reported me to the State Inspector, claimed the mess in the panel was my work.

I received a written reprimand from the State, and, no, I never got paid.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
Willie B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:45 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,069
Rewards Points: 8,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
Have they been properly tested? If I have learned one thing on this site it is that you can never put a used breaker back into service. You are taking a huge chance. Think about the kids man.
Yes.
The test was how many I could fit in a milk crate.
The answer to the test is 28.
Southeast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:21 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,929
Rewards Points: 3,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southeast Power View Post
Yes.
The test was how many I could fit in a milk crate.
The answer to the test is 28.

i had a couple of these panels in the used pile I kept the covers and threw out the panels then i get a call from an ec asking if i had the guts for one i am assuming burnt buss
electricguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com