EON Powerdown Plug Help/Alternatives - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > UK Electrical Forum

Closed Thread

Old 03-26-2020, 08:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2
Default EON Powerdown Plug Help/Alternatives

Hi all, first time poster & I hope it's in the right area, sorry I'm not an electrician but hoping I can get some help/advice.

For many years now I've been using an EON Powerdown Plug to power my PC & its peripherals, specifically the Desktop version "DSK105EON".
Sorry, I can't post links/photos/videos to it as I have fewer than 20 posts so you will just have to google it

The idea behind this plug is basically that it monitors your PC's power consumption and basically when it belives either your PC is off or idle, it will automatically turn off power to the secondary plug sockets which your peripherals (monitors, speakers etc) are plugged into.

This has been working well for years now but over the years as my PC has been upgraded and required more and more power to power the bits of hardware. I've gotten to the point now that even when using some programs like Photoshop and the like, the power adapter thinks I'm not using my PC at all as its power consumption is pretty low in comparison to when it's running flat out like when I'm playing an intensive game. As such it turns off all my monitors, speakers, lights etc connected to my PC, even thou I'm trying to work on it as it thinks it is doing nothing... This might be also because while I do have some very high-performance hardware in my PC, it also is energy efficient with turning off the fans when it isn't doing anything and doesn't need to be cooled etc, further increasing the gap between when my PC is at full power, and just normal usage, and narrowing the gap between normal usage and idle.