For the new apprentice - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Union Topics

Old 03-21-2011, 03:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Default For the new apprentice

I am a fifth year apprentice and there are some things I have noticed that chap my ass from time to time. First, if you were a ***** and have soft hands coming in, then force your self to be a little bit more hardcore. ALWAYS anticipate what your journeyman is going to need to complete the job. ALWAYS make sure you have enough materials. ALWAYS anticipate the next move. When I first started bending conduit I used to dream about it at night. I used to vizualize my kicks and offsets. Always be THINKING. LEARN your circuitry! Always remember you need a ground with every pull. GOD I dont know how many times I've pulled a homerun for a half an hour and there is no green wire that pops out! First and foremost dont be a *****! You need to check and double check everything! You are in the highest skilled trade there is, and you need to be the best you can be! If You dont know ASK! This isnt some job where you can wing it and hope things are right. I have not met a Journeyman yet that has ridiculed me for asking.
Chief_Triangle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Chief_Triangle For This Useful Post:
BONE SAWW!! 48 (03-22-2011), Frank Mc (03-22-2011), Hire me please (03-21-2011), yuning521 (04-04-2011)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!