12VDC Power Supply and Diode - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls


Like Tree16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2019, 01:12 PM   #1
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 3,060
Default 12VDC Power Supply and Diode

I have to supply power for some very expensive process cameras. I need a top quality regulated 12VDC DIN rail mount power supply. Made in USA if at all possible. I'd prefer something I can set up in parallel for redundancy but that's not really a must.

Can anyone recommend a brand?

These cameras have warnings about reverse polarity in the documentation. I am worried someone (including me) will accidentally cross wires and fry a camera, people don't agree about the color code for 12VDC like they do with line voltages. Is there maybe a good brand terminal block with a diode in it?
__________________
Thy sea, O God, so great, my boat so small.
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2019, 01:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Peewee0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New mexico
Posts: 526
Rewards Points: 254
Default

I think I've seen once that Wago makes terminal blocks with diodes. I have a machine that uses Wago I/O, and have no complaints.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
splatz likes this.
Peewee0413 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Peewee0413 For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-18-2019)
Old 03-18-2019, 05:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,431
Rewards Points: 892
Default

Holy cripes... I just did something similar not too long ago. I used an Eaton PSG480R24RM
power supply and the Altec 5702.2 diode module. The diodes are rated up to 1 amp, but you could parallel a few because there's 8 per module. I like that power supply because it's adjustable. I bumped the output voltage up to compensate for the diode drop.
splatz likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CoolWill For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-19-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2019, 03:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
gnuuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: nw. Pa.
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,524
Default

this may suit your needs



https://www.amazon.com/SDR-120-12-DI...SIN=B005T8XR08
splatz likes this.
__________________
ive been shocked so many times that my eyes light up and i fart lightning bolts.

Miracle (mere-ack-ull):the aspirations of the indigent, The expectation of the indolent, and the inspiration of the ignorant.
gnuuser is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gnuuser For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-19-2019)
Old 03-19-2019, 03:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Going_Commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Hampshah
Posts: 6,004
Rewards Points: 1,410
Default

People use other than black for - and red for + on 12VDC?
__________________
"I bet you smell like cigarettes and felonies." -HackWork
Going_Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 08:08 PM   #6
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 3,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Going_Commando View Post
People use other than black for - and red for + on 12VDC?
I guess it's supposed to be red+ and white- if negative is grounded, white+ and black- if positive is grounded, red+ and black- if ungrounded. This is more nuance than some can abide and also some will just think it doesn't matter, like the speakers in their basement, and do whatever.
__________________
Thy sea, O God, so great, my boat so small.
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 08:55 PM   #7
Semper Fi
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,401
Rewards Points: 7,466
Default

We used these a few times, I'm sure they were 12vdc.

https://www.plchardware.com/Products...0aAgtLEALw_wcB
splatz likes this.
Southeast Power is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Southeast Power For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-19-2019)
Old 03-19-2019, 09:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 1,448
Default

https://www.phoenixcontact.com/onlin...4-1dfd436785c3

Phoenix has what you need. You can also get a redundancy module to tie both P/S together. They are not cheap but very reliable.

I’m not sure about the diodes or why you would need them.
splatz likes this.
bill39 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bill39 For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-20-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 05:50 AM   #9
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 3,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill39 View Post
https://www.phoenixcontact.com/onlin...4-1dfd436785c3

Phoenix has what you need. You can also get a redundancy module to tie both P/S together. They are not cheap but very reliable.

Iím not sure about the diodes or why you would need them.
I bought the Phoenix last time I shopped. I am not sure where they were made, might have been somewhere you wouldn't guess, eastern European country? But Phoenix is a very good company to deal with as far as I can tell.

The diodes are to kill the circuit if someone crosses wires and reverses polarity.
__________________
Thy sea, O God, so great, my boat so small.
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to splatz For This Useful Post:
bill39 (03-20-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 05:53 AM   #10
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 3,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnuuser View Post
I see the Meanwell brand comes up a lot when internet shopping - have you had good luck with them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southeast Power View Post
We used these a few times, I'm sure they were 12vdc.

https://www.plchardware.com/Products...0aAgtLEALw_wcB
The AB are pricey but nobody can say you cut corners if you buy them ... are they made in USA?
__________________
Thy sea, O God, so great, my boat so small.
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 05:59 AM   #11
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 3,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
Holy cripes... I just did something similar not too long ago. I used an Eaton PSG480R24RM
power supply and the Altec 5702.2 diode module. The diodes are rated up to 1 amp, but you could parallel a few because there's 8 per module. I like that power supply because it's adjustable. I bumped the output voltage up to compensate for the diode drop.
I found these,
3A
made in Italy

I have to measure current - I could see it going higher but 3A is probably going to do it.

https://www.asi-ez.com/pix/doc/sf901....pdf#view=fitv



I did not know of this diode drop you speak of. I like the idea because I could probably compensate for voltage drop so the voltage is right on the money at the device.
__________________
Thy sea, O God, so great, my boat so small.
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 06:21 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Service Call's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 1,838
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I see the Meanwell brand comes up a lot when internet shopping - have you had good luck with them?







The AB are pricey but nobody can say you cut corners if you buy them ... are they made in USA?


Iíve used Meanwell power supplies several times for DC and have not had a problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
splatz likes this.
Service Call is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Service Call For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-20-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 08:24 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,431
Rewards Points: 892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I did not know of this diode drop you speak of. I like the idea because I could probably compensate for voltage drop so the voltage is right on the money at the device.
Diodes (and similar semiconductor devices) have an inherent voltage drop across them no matter what the load is. It's usually between 0.5 and 0.7 volts. Not usually a big deal for high voltage, but needs to be addressed when sensitive electronics operate on low voltage.
splatz likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CoolWill For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-20-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 09:59 AM   #14
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,587
Rewards Points: 542
Default

We used Xp Power DIN supplies in traffic cabinets.

They performed well, and in some tough environmental conditions. Dusty, and -20˚C to +40˚C

Spec sheet ... https://www.xppower.com/Portals/0/pdfs/SF_DNR05-60.pdf

**edit** adjustable output as well.

I would get a higher rated diode than 3A. If you're pushing close to that range for extended times, you creating a failure point IMO.
That, or use multiple diodes like OneCallWilly said
splatz likes this.
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by emtnut; 03-20-2019 at 10:03 AM.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to emtnut For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-20-2019)
Old 03-25-2019, 11:51 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
gnuuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: nw. Pa.
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,524
Default

[QUOTE=splatz;5179256]I see the Meanwell brand comes up a lot when internet shopping - have you had good luck with them?

we had some equipment installed at the plant that had them.
never had any issues with them! and they were quite tolerant to power fluctuation as i recall
splatz likes this.
__________________
ive been shocked so many times that my eyes light up and i fart lightning bolts.

Miracle (mere-ack-ull):the aspirations of the indigent, The expectation of the indolent, and the inspiration of the ignorant.
gnuuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 07:14 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 1,448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Going_Commando View Post
People use other than black for - and red for + on 12VDC?
Unfortunately, yes.

NFPA-79 and I believe UL-508A both require blue for DC circuits. If the negative is grounded then itís white w/blue stripe.
CoolWill likes this.
bill39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 11:49 AM   #17
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 3,060
Default

So after thinking a little more about the adjustable power supplies.

I'll have to install a separate power supply, diode, and pair of wires for each device. That way I can adjust the voltage on each power supply to accommodate for voltage drop in the diode and the wire.

Any ideas for this: I don't want to make the adjustment with the expensive device, I want to connect the expensive device once the power supply is adjusted. To do this I will need some dummy load to match the device. So the dummy load will have to be something I can adjust so it matches the actual device. I haven't yet measured but based on the factory 12V 2.5A power supply, the device will draw less than 30W.
__________________
Thy sea, O God, so great, my boat so small.
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 07:45 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,001
Rewards Points: 1,890
Default

The only DIN rail mount industrial power supply I know of that is still made in the USA is Acopian.
https://www.acopian.com/DINrailmount...Power-Supplies
Small company, not well known, not the low price leaders but the products are decent.



Pretty much everything else comes from the same 5 Asian suppliers; Puls, Meanwell, Chint, Delta and Idec, but most of the other brands that you see (such as Phoenix, A-B, Siemens, Power One, Eaton, Sola etc. etc.) are almost all just brand-label deals with one of these 5 Asian suppliers. Meanwell is a latecomer to the party and commands attention because they are cheap, I have had many people complain about them. They (and Chint, Delta and Idec) get cheaper by cutting corners on the magnetics inside of the PSU, so they put in a "fold-back" circuit to take it off line if there is a surge in demand on the output side. That pisses people off when it happens. Puls (who makes the Allen Bradley and Siemens products) don't do that, they have surge capacity built-in. Still made in Asia though, even though Puls is a German company.
splatz and CoolWill like this.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JRaef For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-26-2019)
Old 03-27-2019, 02:35 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
ppsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 84
Default

I believe the Siemens SITOP lineup is Austrian or Romanian made depending on the series.
ppsh is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ppsh For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-27-2019)
Old 03-27-2019, 10:07 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,431
Rewards Points: 892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
So after thinking a little more about the adjustable power supplies.

I'll have to install a separate power supply, diode, and pair of wires for each device. That way I can adjust the voltage on each power supply to accommodate for voltage drop in the diode and the wire.

Any ideas for this: I don't want to make the adjustment with the expensive device, I want to connect the expensive device once the power supply is adjusted. To do this I will need some dummy load to match the device. So the dummy load will have to be something I can adjust so it matches the actual device. I haven't yet measured but based on the factory 12V 2.5A power supply, the device will draw less than 30W.
Rheostat? Multiple incandescent brake lamps?
splatz likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CoolWill For This Useful Post:
splatz (03-27-2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com