12VDC Power Supply and Diode - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls


Like Tree16Likes
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-27-2019, 10:32 AM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 24
Default Sola

Not sure about the made in usa, but we have had great success with 24vdc sola power supplies and ups.

looks like they are part of emerson and appleton.
Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Unread 03-27-2019, 05:01 PM   #22
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,589
Rewards Points: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I'll have to install a separate power supply, diode, and pair of wires for each device. That way I can adjust the voltage on each power supply to accommodate for voltage drop in the diode and the wire.

Any ideas for this: I don't want to make the adjustment with the expensive device, I want to connect the expensive device once the power supply is adjusted. To do this I will need some dummy load to match the device. So the dummy load will have to be something I can adjust so it matches the actual device. I haven't yet measured but based on the factory 12V 2.5A power supply, the device will draw less than 30W.
I would look up the specs for the camera, and just do a voltage drop calculation based on the spec amps. Add 0.8V for the diode (the drop is current dependent, but doesn't change much.. from what I've seen). You could look up the curve for your diode if you want thou.

You should be able to calculate within .2V I would think.
splatz likes this.
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-11-2019, 01:33 PM   #23
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,830
Rewards Points: 3,064
Default

I still haven't finished this project. The Phoenix power supplies are good quality as far as I can tell but a little big, they have other models that would have fit the enclosure better. Adjusting for voltage drop was simple and easy.



I also bought the Phoenix Contact DIN rail diodes and they are good, just as advertised. However, it occurred to me that some cross-ups you'd be safer with the diode closer to the camera. The DIN rail diodes are pretty big and hard to work with in the enclosure by the camera.

I found these beauties which I will be swapping in




http://eco-energy.us/diodes/diodes.html
CoolWill likes this.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Unread 06-11-2019, 04:14 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,440
Rewards Points: 910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I still haven't finished this project. The Phoenix power supplies are good quality as far as I can tell but a little big, they have other models that would have fit the enclosure better. Adjusting for voltage drop was simple and easy.



I also bought the Phoenix Contact DIN rail diodes and they are good, just as advertised. However, it occurred to me that some cross-ups you'd be safer with the diode closer to the camera. The DIN rail diodes are pretty big and hard to work with in the enclosure by the camera.

I found these beauties which I will be swapping in




http://eco-energy.us/diodes/diodes.html
That's cool. They are Schottky diodes too, so the voltage drop across them will be lower than standard diodes.
splatz likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CoolWill For This Useful Post:
splatz (06-11-2019)
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com