Ferrules - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls


Like Tree8Likes
  • 1 Post By Peewee0413
  • 2 Post By joe-nwt
  • 2 Post By Navyguy
  • 1 Post By emtnut
  • 1 Post By micromind
  • 1 Post By varmit
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2019, 02:50 PM   #1
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 6,762
Rewards Points: 4,125
Default Ferrules

Ferrules when panel building, yea, or nah ?
dronai is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2019, 04:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Peewee0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New mexico
Posts: 565
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Its a good thing IMO, especially on certain terminal blocks. BUT!! if panel building is your job, then you need to account for the extra cost. (Time & Material)

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Peewee0413 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 04:10 PM   #3
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 4,592
Default

I have not found them necessary on terminal blocks because I don't get stray strands making trouble with terminal blocks. (I mean DIN style terminal blocks.)

On relay bases where the screw terminations are prone to shorts from stray strands, maybe / probably.

On pain in the ass equipment with ridiculously crowded shallow terminals, hell ya.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2019, 04:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Peewee0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New mexico
Posts: 565
Rewards Points: 254
Default

With ferrules you can usually just push the wire in the push in terminals, where as with stranded you must use a screw driver to insert the wires. I've seen the novice cause damage prying around.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
splatz likes this.
Peewee0413 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 04:59 PM   #5
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 6,762
Rewards Points: 4,125
Default

I don't use ferrules, but saw one guy doing it. I think it's required in Europe though
dronai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 06:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
joe-nwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 386
Rewards Points: 776
Default

Nice on panel devices with crowded screw terminals such as PLCs. One stray strand can cause a lot of grief. Just as an FYI they also make ferrules that accept 2 conductors. Sometimes these will save you time trying to shove 2 fine-strand conductors in the same hole. I find the cost and the time to be neither here nor there, but I don't often use the on all connections in a panel build. There will be devices in a panel that require stakons, ferrules take the same amount of time.
splatz and Southeast Power like this.
joe-nwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 07:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,246
Rewards Points: 4,688
Default

I generally match what is there, but if going from scratch I would use them. More importantly is the numbering scheme; if I am going to putting ID numbers on the wires (which is necessary), then the extra 30 seconds to put a ferrule or sta-kon on does not even show up on the radar.

Cheers
John
MechanicalDVR and splatz like this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 08:23 PM   #8
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East and Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 5,003
Rewards Points: 3,742
Default

I took in a ferrel cat once.
flyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 09:08 PM   #9
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,912
Rewards Points: 1,402
Default

Never used them, but have seen them. On 20awg and lower they are good if you're going into a TB.

Anything larger, there's no reason to use them IMO.
splatz likes this.
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 09:27 PM   #10
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,603
Rewards Points: 2,816
Default

Since a good part of my work is add-ons and various changes, I don't use them.

The only way to change a label is to cut the ferrule off and it's difficult to add another wire to a terminal block is there's already a ferrule there.
splatz likes this.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 10:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,733
Rewards Points: 3,822
Default

Some places have had 'em spec'd. Then it's a matter of what they want to see and where. Most jobs I've been around, they aren't asked for.
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:36 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 1,363
Rewards Points: 1,628
Default

Ferrules should normally be used on spring retention terminals. I use them on equipment terminations all of the time. I like to use ferrules on equipment that is to be disconnected, relocated and reconnected. They save the wire ends from becoming frayed to where the wires will not go in the terminal without reworking the ends.

Using ferrules on SO cord, makes installing twistlock plugs and receptacles much easier.

Time and cost are trivial to use them.
splatz likes this.
varmit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:57 PM   #13
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 6,762
Rewards Points: 4,125
Default

That's one out of 8 people so far.
dronai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:29 AM   #14
Chief Flunky
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Carolinas
Posts: 1,013
Rewards Points: 332
Default

Ferrules are definitely not Code. It should be obvious. Round peg in flat or square hole that is designed to accept a soft ductile metal where it cracks the oxidation then smears both metal surfaces together so we get a joint wire microohms of resistance and meets the design contact area. Ferrule joints don’t do any of that. Technically you’re not even supposed to reuse ends because they are deformed. Fine strands tend to fray or break the worst. So the fraying argument is dead wrong. We all still do it though because reterminating the end is time consuming and usually the ends aren’t that bad.

If you are going to be routinely changing wiring there are tons of much better options. First off install connectors for frequent plugging/unplugging. ThAts what plugs do. Or use lugs. That’s what most people do on motors. Or forked or ring terminals. Those are all flat so they work. Or get Phoenix Contact separable terminal strips. All of this is Code. The tiny 3-5 mm DIN rail terminals are meant for once and done or once in a few years where the wiring maybe gets disturbed three or four times in its life. If the panel shop cheaped out mount your own.

I keep ferrules on the truck for one customer.
paulengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:03 AM   #15
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 14,951
Rewards Points: 9,062
Default

When I was building panels, I found them very handy for small conductors, which you run into quite frequently depending on the type of panel you're building.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:22 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 1,363
Rewards Points: 1,628
Default

After crimping ferrules are not round and they will deform to fit a mechanical connection.

Yes, I would use rings or forks where they would work the best.

Few mechanical connectors are rated for fine strand conductors, so ferrules are helpful to use to keep the strands under the set screws.

Most European equipment uses ferrels for all connections, even power terminations.
varmit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:28 PM   #17
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 6,762
Rewards Points: 4,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by varmit View Post
After crimping ferrules are not round and they will deform to fit a mechanical connection.

Yes, I would use rings or forks where they would work the best.

Few mechanical connectors are rated for fine strand conductors, so ferrules are helpful to use to keep the strands under the set screws.

Most European equipment uses ferrels for all connections, even power terminations.

Varmit, You work at a plant as an employee, or contract ?

It seems like there is no doubt, it's best way to terminate wires, but unless it's spec'd by the engineering documents, most contract Electricians won't spend the time to do it.

Your idea on cord and cap is a good use also.
dronai is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com