Need advise how to wire my 3 phase spray booth with a vfd to 220v single phase - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls


Like Tree11Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2019, 10:19 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Jon105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Jersey shore new jersey
Posts: 12
Default Need advise how to wire my 3 phase spray booth with a vfd to 220v single phase

Hi, I have a 3 phase 2 hp spray booth motor and only have single phase electric at my shop. I purchased a invertek optidrive e3 VFD to covert the 3 phase to single phase. I have a couple questions on how to wife this properly.

I'll give you my idea on what I was going to do then if you can correct or confirm that would be amazing.

This is going from the motor to the panel.

3 wires coming from the motor that runs 12G wire to the top bottom of the VFD. (The ground wire I have a copper ground with a 8ft spike into the ground outside the booth, thays also connected to the booth, and the one ground wire ran directly to the ground of the vfd next to the 3 phase connections)

From the top of the vfd I have 12g 220v connected to a quick disconnect with 30amp time released fuses. From there the wire is ran to the panel to a 3 amp 220v fuse.


Does this sound correct? Thank you so much in advance. Any questions I will quickly reply
Jon105 is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 10:26 AM   #2
Knotted Ropes Skeery
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 4,463
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

The electrician will know just what to do. He will even get the material.
glen1971 and telsa like this.
__________________
So here is how its going to go. I am going to leave you alone. And you will do the same for me.
But, should you give me anymore trouble, one of us is leaving here.
CoolWill is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 11:08 AM   #3
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 16,180
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

Jon
Please take a few minutes and fill out your profile.
John Valdes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 11:12 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jw0445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kirkwood, Pa.
Posts: 1,301
Rewards Points: 1,980
Default

ibtl
jw0445 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 11:18 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 138
Default

I recently found theres a converter thingy that converts the 240 to 3phase.

Looked pretty pricey

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
glen1971 and MikeFL like this.
trentonmakes is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 11:57 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,884
Rewards Points: 4,120
Default

Make sure the flux capacitor is properly connected to be additive and not subtractive or you'll let the smoke out!
glen1971 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 12:10 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Jon105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Jersey shore new jersey
Posts: 12
Default

I'm doing the work myself, not hiring anyone that's why I'm asking.

Ok I will fill out my profile no problem.

The VFD only cost $260. Wants to bad
Jon105 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 12:11 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Jon105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Jersey shore new jersey
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
Make sure the flux capacitor is properly connected to be additive and not subtractive or you'll let the smoke out!
Good one....
Jon105 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 12:53 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Jon105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Jersey shore new jersey
Posts: 12
Default

Anyone have any advice with this type of situation?
Jon105 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:09 PM   #10
Knotted Ropes Skeery
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 4,463
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon105 View Post
Anyone have any advice with this type of situation?
Jon, the terms to sign up here explicitly state the forum is for electrical pros only. I want to help you, but if I do, every other stray cat will want some milk too
John Valdes and MechanicalDVR like this.
__________________
So here is how its going to go. I am going to leave you alone. And you will do the same for me.
But, should you give me anymore trouble, one of us is leaving here.
CoolWill is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:17 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,884
Rewards Points: 4,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon105 View Post
Good one....
Are you an electrician?
Bird dog likes this.
glen1971 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:31 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Jon105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Jersey shore new jersey
Posts: 12
Default

I do typical electric for residential for my business, but this is above my knowledge here.
Jon105 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:33 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Jon105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Jersey shore new jersey
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon105 View Post
Anyone have any advice with this type of situation?
Jon, the terms to sign up here explicitly state the forum is for electrical pros only. I want to help you, but if I do, every other stray cat will want some milk too
My company I do the electric work. This is something I consider industrial or commercial and do not normally do this. I understand the premise of this forum, this is just a little above my knowledge of residential electric
Jon105 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:34 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,884
Rewards Points: 4,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon105 View Post
I do typical electric for residential for my business, but this is above my knowledge here.
That's good, but that was not the question..
I sometimes do my own plumbing at home but I'm not a plumber..
glen1971 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:36 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Jon105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Jersey shore new jersey
Posts: 12
Default

I offer my electrical service as part of my company. Am I a everyday electectrician? No but once a week I am
Jon105 is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:39 PM   #16
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 16,180
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

Jon. You really should go to our sister site that I linked below.
Please try that first. There are several guys from this forum there helping guys like you.
So go there and give it a shot. I will check over there in a little bit.
As you can see our guys here probably will not assist you nor should they.
Thanks

http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/
Bird dog likes this.
John Valdes is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:40 PM   #17
Knotted Ropes Skeery
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 4,463
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon105 View Post
I offer my electrical service as part of my company. Am I a everyday electectrician? No but once a week I am
Oh, well then. That makes it all OK. Never mind the forum being for electrical pros. I'll tell what you want to know over at Cabinettalk.com
__________________
So here is how its going to go. I am going to leave you alone. And you will do the same for me.
But, should you give me anymore trouble, one of us is leaving here.
CoolWill is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:43 PM   #18
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 60,872
Rewards Points: 24,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon105 View Post
I do typical electric for residential for my business, but this is above my knowledge here.
If you can acknowledge this so freely why not just do the right thing and hire a pro to do it?

I don't know any electricians that do their own autobody painting....









IBTL
__________________
Warning:

I've been known to make snowflakes whine!
Posts may contain sarcasm and guttural humor!
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:46 PM   #19
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 60,872
Rewards Points: 24,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon105 View Post
I offer my electrical service as part of my company. Am I a everyday electectrician? No but once a week I am
Gee that is really illegal in NJ where you are required to be licensed and insured to do electrical work outside of your own home.
__________________
Warning:

I've been known to make snowflakes whine!
Posts may contain sarcasm and guttural humor!
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:48 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Jon105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Jersey shore new jersey
Posts: 12
Default

Lol who said I wasn't licensed and insured? Because I am. You guys are all full of assumptions on here...
Wiresmith likes this.
Jon105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 phase to single phase te12co2w PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 62 03-14-2016 10:47 AM
220 single phase to 3 phase? TechieBecky Canadian Electrical Forum 16 02-19-2016 03:46 AM
3 phase panel (208) used for single phase (240)? CEC09 Canadian Electrical Forum 3 02-10-2016 02:35 AM
I need to run this motor on single phase. (with photos) Neanderthal General Electrical Discussion 1 01-29-2016 04:28 PM
Can be both a three or single phase motor just the cowboy General Electrical Discussion 2 01-21-2016 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com