Need some PLC programming training - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls

Like Tree12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2020, 03:20 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by just the cowboy View Post
Don't jump the gun, he said make a change as an example. What if he just needs to add something in the future or change a timer. He did not say " change program to fix something" Does he call an engineer??

Cowboy
In general, if you don't know what you are doing because you don't have PLC programming experience, then you don't have to do the work because it can be unsafe. Nobody can force you to work in unsafe conditions either.

Also, if the machine worked before, then it will likely work again without changes to the PLC program. The problem is that some electricians don't want to troubleshoot because that requires work. Some people are lazy and they don't want to get in the rats nest of wires to look for ground faults. They don't even want to check if the sensor is not aligned properly. But they want to immediately change how the machine works by altering the PLC code.
Corporate_Big_Shot is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2020, 07:51 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: florida
Posts: 2,493
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corporate_Big_Shot View Post
In general, if you don't know what you are doing because you don't have PLC programming experience, then you don't have to do the work because it can be unsafe. Nobody can force you to work in unsafe conditions either.

Also, if the machine worked before, then it will likely work again without changes to the PLC program. The problem is that some electricians don't want to troubleshoot because that requires work. Some people are lazy and they don't want to get in the rats nest of wires to look for ground faults. They don't even want to check if the sensor is not aligned properly. But they want to immediately change how the machine works by altering the PLC code.
Ive worked with at least 30 programmers and its no surprise to find code that needs to be patched.
I have never meet a programmer that has truly tested there code in every situation. Just last week i had to toggle a bit simply because the reset on wonderware didn't agree with the tag in the code and that program is over 5 years old (first time we have tripped that motor and the full time programmer fixed it next day).

We have to sign out the program to change the code so everyone gets a alert if you make a change so no one is jumping/AFI a bad sensor unless everyone agrees. Its just easier to fix the sensor then deal with the emails.

Its getting to a point that electricians really need a laptop as everything is networked. Im not even going to bother trying to mess with a AB powerflex drive HIM when i can simply pull it up on the laptop. (also means i can dial in and see whats going on before leaving home)
gpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com