Phase error - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By CdotJdot
  • 1 Post By JRaef

Old 01-18-2016, 10:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 24
Default Phase error

Good morning folks I am a maintenance electrician at an injection molding facility and we just installed a brand new injection molding press that use 750 volt dc servo motors to drive the hydraulic pumps these motors are controlled by B&R drives. The new machine has auxiliary 480 volt receptacles built in to run our mold temp controllers which are basically water pumps with heating elements and dump valves to control the water temp being pumped through the molds. Now on these temp controllers there is a phase monitoring system to insure the correct rotation of the motor and when we have them connected to the machines auxiliary outlets and the servo pumps are running we will get a phase error on the temp controller but if we plug the controllers into a power source not connected to the press everything is fine and dandy. Has anybody seen somthing like this before, or could anyone explain to me their theory, any feedback would be great thank you
CdotJdot is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!