Three Phase Motor Plugging(Forward/Reverse) - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls

Like Tree23Likes
  • 3 Post By frenchelectrican
  • 5 Post By 460 Delta
  • 2 Post By micromind
  • 1 Post By IASMICHIGAN
  • 4 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 2 Post By telsa
  • 3 Post By JRaef
  • 2 Post By varmit
  • 1 Post By Flyingsod

Old 07-25-2019, 08:46 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 6
Default Three Phase Motor Plugging(Forward/Reverse)

Hello first post here. I have been doing controls for the last 10 years and have ran across a first for me. A company built a drill/tap machine that as I now know uses plugging, reversing a motor while it is still running forward. The motor is a 3hp motor using old Allen Bradley nema 705 Bulletin forward reversing contactors. These are now obsolete and have been replaced with the 505 series.

My question is, Has anyone ever replaced these NEMA contactors with IEC forward/reversing? Specifically in a plugging application this seems like murder on a contactor. I know the NEMA style contactors are tanks but they come with the price tag. The AB spec sheets list them as capable but I'm more looking for some real world experiences.

Thoughts, opinions?

Thanks.
IASMICHIGAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!