Two phase system - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls

Like Tree9Likes
  • 6 Post By MDShunk
  • 1 Post By MDShunk
  • 2 Post By varmit

Old 08-06-2018, 11:43 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 4
Default Two phase system

I am working on a building from the 1800s, it has what I believe to be a two-stage system. It has 3 wires with 3 fuses but one is a neutral. So from ground to A is 240V ground To B is 240V and ground to C is 0V but, from any leg to leg is 240V.
My question is if I move this machine shop to a new location will these motors that are running on 240V 2 phase run on a 208V three-phase system? I am not that good with motors. I assume I would also have to check the starters and contactors in the control system. Any advice would be greatly appreciated thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Two phase system-8e43d928-fe8d-4686-9e24-7b36fbac5d6f_1533570135031.jpg  

Two phase system-cabe42f5-645c-451a-8313-f0b39a8414c5_1533570184124.jpg  

Robbie Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE