How to wire outlet constant on and toggle - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Like Tree21Likes
  • 2 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By Signal1
  • 1 Post By jw0445
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 3 Post By frso
  • 5 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By frso
  • 3 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By frenchelectrican
  • 2 Post By Speedy Petey
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2017, 11:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default How to wire outlet constant on and toggle

Hi, I and doing some bathroom renovation and i am changing some of the electrical.

I am installing a 2 gang box and i want one of the gangs to be a constant on duplex outlet. The other outlet is going to be a toggle switch to control the vanity. I am using Romex 12-2 wire and im not sure how to wire this. The only way i can think of is using a short jumper wire inside the gang box and im not sure if this is safe or not.

The way i am thinking is run the live wiring into the box and connect it to the duplex outlet. Then the wire a black jumper to the toggle. And then hook the black wire to the wire going to the vanity light to cut the power. And then hook the white wire going to the vanity to the extra screw on the duplex outlet.

Does this make sense or is there a better way?
frso is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2017, 11:09 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,658
Rewards Points: 459
Default

You should definitely do this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
You should definitely do this.

So having a black jumper connecting the duplex to the toggle? Or should i wire nut 2 jumpers and connect one to the duplex outlet and one to the toggle? Or does it make any difference?
frso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2017, 11:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,658
Rewards Points: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frso View Post
So having a black jumper connecting the duplex to the toggle? Or should i wire nut 2 jumpers and connect one to the duplex outlet and one to the toggle? Or does it make any difference?
Either way will work, but you need to be sure to connect the neutral and ground together inside of this box. I also want to say that you made a good choice not using a GFCI outlet, they are rather dangerous in this situation.
emtnut likes this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:19 AM   #5
Gold Pliers Champion
 
Signal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Either way will work, but you need to be sure to connect the neutral and ground together inside of this box. I also want to say that you made a good choice not using a GFCI outlet, they are rather dangerous in this situation.
I agree with this, and you should use Wagos for this connection.
emtnut likes this.
Signal1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:30 AM   #6
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,720
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Whatever you do, DO NOT wire on the LOAD side of the switch.
Your breaker won't see an overload, and it can actually melt the wires inside the box !
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:31 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
jw0445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kirkwood, Pa.
Posts: 1,136
Rewards Points: 1,644
Default

Ibtl
The_Modifier likes this.
jw0445 is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:31 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,149
Rewards Points: 2,149
Default



Your making it too complicated


active1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,149
Rewards Points: 2,149
Default

active1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:37 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I dont understand how to connect neural and ground. I did this in MS paint does this look right?

frso is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:42 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,658
Rewards Points: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frso View Post
I dont understand how to connect neural and ground. I did this in MS paint does this look right?

No, do it again but better this time.
The_Modifier likes this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:48 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 183
Default

Call an electrician before you hurt somebody, where is the moderator?
EC2253 is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:50 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

****in great im getting trolled by smart asses...

I am not an electrician i just wanted to know how to wire this safely
HackWork, The_Modifier and Signal1 like this.
frso is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:51 AM   #14
Gold Pliers Champion
 
Signal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frso View Post
I dont understand how to connect neural and ground. I did this in MS paint does this look right?

This is EXACTLY how I learned to do it, only I use a blue box.
Signal1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:53 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,658
Rewards Points: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frso View Post
****in great im getting trolled by smart asses...

I am not an electrician i just wanted to know how to wire this safely
Oh, you're not an electrician?

Then why did you register on a forum that said only professional electrician are allowed and no DIYers?
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
EC2253 (11-06-2017), The_Modifier (11-06-2017)
Old 11-06-2017, 11:56 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Oh, you're not an electrician?

Then why did you register on a forum that said only professional electrician are allowed and no DIYers?

google search and it popped up so i registered without reading the fine print... i will go find a new forum to ask on sorry for the trouble assholes.
Wiresmith likes this.
frso is offline  
Old 11-06-2017, 12:09 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,658
Rewards Points: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frso View Post
google search and it popped up so i registered without reading the fine print... i will go find a new forum to ask on sorry for the trouble assholes.
No, you clearly saw where it said electrical professionals only and then it asked for your electrical profession and you wrote "none".

The only asshole here is you.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now  
Old 11-06-2017, 02:39 PM   #18
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,634
Rewards Points: 16,780
Default

Please go to our sister site they can help you on this matter.,,

we did have a good print note when you sign in the fourm in here and you cant miss that.


Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. The Moderators of this forum would prefer if you post Do It Yourself related topics on our sister site www.DIYChatroom.com

ElectricianTalk.com is designed for electrical industry professionals to discuss issues and topics related to the electrical trades and related industries. Many of our professionals are also members at DIYChatroom.com and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (11-06-2017), The_Modifier (11-06-2017)
Old 11-06-2017, 02:43 PM   #19
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 11,390
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EC2253 View Post
Call an electrician before you hurt somebody, where is the moderator?
Some of us occasionally work.
frenchelectrican and Bird dog like this.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
Speedy Petey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com