ICF boxes - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By splatz
  • 1 Post By Judoka
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2019, 05:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, canada
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 283
Default ICF boxes

Hi all! I’ve done box installs on ICF before. New customer wants a stove installed in the basement. I do not see a 4 -11/16 box for ICF. Anyone come across this? He may have to install a few studs to attach a metal box on. Thx in advance!
Judoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2019, 06:18 PM   #2
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,508
Rewards Points: 4,414
Default

How about this. If it's 2" foam, use a 2-1/8" deep box. Cut a 4-11/16" square recess in the foam right to the concrete. This will leave the box 1/8" proud of the foam.

Depending on the thickness of the foam and the thickness of the box you might have to shim it out a little.

If the foam is thin, you might have to put a wiremold starter box on top to get some depth.

Leviton makes low profile range receptacles that are only an inch deep, you could use a shallower box if the foam is thinner.

Bird dog and canbug like this.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler

Last edited by splatz; 04-23-2019 at 06:26 PM.
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 12:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, canada
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
How about this. If it's 2" foam, use a 2-1/8" deep box. Cut a 4-11/16" square recess in the foam right to the concrete. This will leave the box 1/8" proud of the foam.

Depending on the thickness of the foam and the thickness of the box you might have to shim it out a little.

If the foam is thin, you might have to put a wiremold starter box on top to get some depth.

Leviton makes low profile range receptacles that are only an inch deep, you could use a shallower box if the foam is thinner.

Thx for feedback!!
splatz likes this.
Judoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2019, 12:54 AM   #4
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,189
Rewards Points: 466
Default

That receptacle splatz posted well also fit comfortably in a 2 gang device box.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground splice in pull boxes or pass thru boxes ? Matthew90 General Electrical Discussion 16 12-20-2018 10:29 PM
MC and Plastic Boxes backstay NEC Code Forum 15 10-05-2017 12:44 PM
Electrical disconnect for By-Pass Boxes katwalatapan Canadian Electrical Forum 5 04-11-2017 08:23 PM
Adjoining 1900 boxes Nutmegger777 General Electrical Discussion 41 05-03-2016 12:21 PM
Exterior Box trim for recessed boxes psgama Residential Electrical Forum 7 01-22-2016 06:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com