Mounting Items on a Tiled Wall - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Like Tree10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2018, 11:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,139
Rewards Points: 958
Default Mounting Items on a Tiled Wall

If you have to drill through a tiled wall (drywall behind tile) and you need to use some type of anchor to mount something, what type anchor have you found that works best for this?
__________________

A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2018, 12:02 AM   #2
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 6,421
Default

depends on the weight of the item. Could be anything from a red Rawl plug to a toggle bolt.
eddy current likes this.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 12:03 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,182
Rewards Points: 4,056
Default

Depends on what it is exactly but for small stuff usually a sharkie or a polyset.
__________________
Everything has user serviceable parts inside.
Jlarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2018, 12:30 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,139
Rewards Points: 958
Default

It's for a range hood vent. They are not venting it so it doesn't weigh much, maybe 10lbs.
__________________

A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 12:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
greenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada / Ontario/ Bruce County
Posts: 714
Rewards Points: 698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
It's for a range hood vent. They are not venting it so it doesn't weigh much, maybe 10lbs.
wood screw if u can hit the stud throw the grout
__________________
“We the willing, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, with so little, for so long, we are now qualified to do anything, with nothing.”THE NUCLEAR ELECTRICIAN
greenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 12:34 AM   #6
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 6,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
It's for a range hood vent. They are not venting it so it doesn't weigh much, maybe 10lbs.
If there's a cupboard above, they have keyhole slots to put screws through the top. The screws in the back hold hardly any weight, if they even exist at all.
tjb likes this.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 12:59 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,139
Rewards Points: 958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDShunk View Post
If there's a cupboard above, they have keyhole slots to put screws through the top. The screws in the back hold hardly any weight, if they even exist at all.

No cupboard above (or anything) to mount to. I've installed several hoods, including microwave hoods, where you mount to the bottom of cabinets but never mounted one just to the wall.
This particular vent/hood is made to mount that way.


I thought I was just wiring it for them but walked into a surprise when they also wanted it mounted. Had to reschedule due to time and I didn't have a tile bit with me.
I got to thinking about the anchors and don't remember ever having to mount anything over a tiled over drywall wall before.
__________________

A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 02:45 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,966
Rewards Points: 8,612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
If you have to drill through a tiled wall (drywall behind tile) and you need to use some type of anchor to mount something, what type anchor have you found that works best for this?
Buy the fancy red hollow tile bit and use toggle bolts.
daveEM likes this.
Southeast Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 06:05 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 5,784
Rewards Points: 456
Default

Can you give us a link to the product page for this hood?
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS Timers

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(833) GPS-TIME
MikeFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 08:37 AM   #10
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 9,072
Rewards Points: 792
Default

A hollow wall anchor might be the easiest thing, it will work with a 1/4" tile bit. A toggle is good, but they are a bit of a pain in the ass to use and you have to make a hole in the material much bigger than the shaft of the bolt, so they can shift.



They have little burrs that are made to grip the surface, but you could just flatten them out. You'd just have to buy something with a long enough neck to get through the tile and the drywall, but long neck ones are available.

http://www.shamrockexpress.com/media...chorsmolly.pdf

If it doesn't work out, you can remove it and use a toggle as plan B.
__________________
I am with thee, and will keep thee in all places whither thou goest
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 08:43 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,321
Rewards Points: 1,829
Default

Even if the hood is only 10lbs, there is a lot of leverage since it sticks out from the wall so far. The homeowner puts a hand on it to balance themselves when changing the bulb or filter and next thing you know it's hanging off the wall by the cable.

I would do whatever it takes to mount it to the studs. I often find myself drilling new mounting holes in items in order to fasten them to the studs. Even just one stud is good, then use anchors for the other holes.

After that, I would use toggles.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 09:11 AM   #12
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,437
Rewards Points: 10,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
If you have to drill through a tiled wall (drywall behind tile) and you need to use some type of anchor to mount something, what type anchor have you found that works best for this?
Sounds like a "tower" style hood.
Tiled wall.... may not be able to use stud finder.
Cabinet below (cooktop?) If it is , you can look to see where
studs are ...cabinet installer already found them & you'll see
screws thru back of cabinet.

I'm kid of surprised they have an electrician installing the hood.
Usually HVAC or cabinet installers do this in my neck of the woods.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 09:22 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Philly/NJ
Posts: 611
Rewards Points: 990
Default

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Milwauke...-204994400-_-N


i use regular plastic anchors and these small diamond hole saw they work well.
Tonedeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 01:02 PM   #14
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,075
Rewards Points: 242
Default

We commonly install hood fans and sometimes even the duct work for them.... also do duct work for the dryer.

Money is money.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lighterup View Post
Sounds like a "tower" style hood.
Tiled wall.... may not be able to use stud finder.
Cabinet below (cooktop?) If it is , you can look to see where
studs are ...cabinet installer already found them & you'll see
screws thru back of cabinet.

I'm kid of surprised they have an electrician installing the hood.
Usually HVAC or cabinet installers do this in my neck of the woods.
Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 03:14 PM   #15
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,437
Rewards Points: 10,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Essiambre View Post
We commonly install hood fans and sometimes even the duct work for them.... also do duct work for the dryer.

Money is money.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
I've never done duct work where there are permits.
They (AHJ) say that an HVAC contractor has to pull permit for that.

BTW , I don't install microwave hoods either.

I had one builder tell me I needed to install the dishwasher.
No...that falls under the plumbers health department permit.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 03:42 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,139
Rewards Points: 958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lighterup View Post
Sounds like a "tower" style hood.
Tiled wall.... may not be able to use stud finder.
Cabinet below (cooktop?) If it is , you can look to see where
studs are ...cabinet installer already found them & you'll see
screws thru back of cabinet.

I'm kid of surprised they have an electrician installing the hood.
Usually HVAC or cabinet installers do this in my neck of the woods.

I added some receptacles and moved some switches a few months ago. They asked if I would come back and wire the hood and hang some lights when they finished the remodel. So I show up to hang the lights and wire the hood. I didn't see a hood when I got there and asked where it was. "Oh it's in the basement, I'll get it for you"!


I looked at it and agreed to install it while I was there. But if they had called out of the blue and asked me to install just the hood with no other work I would have declined.
__________________

A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 03:47 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,321
Rewards Points: 1,829
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Little Short View Post
I added some receptacles and moved some switches a few months ago. They asked if I would come back and wire the hood and hang some lights when they finished the remodel. So I show up to hang the lights and wire the hood. I didn't see a hood when I got there and asked where it was. "Oh it's in the basement, I'll get it for you"!


I looked at it and agreed to install it while I was there. But if they had called out of the blue and asked me to install just the hood with no other work I would have declined.
I don't do ducting or venting. But if the duct is already there I will install a bath exhaust fan or vent hood.

I also have no issue installing non-vented recirculating hoods. They are easy and profitable.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 04:04 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Switched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Posts: 6,166
Rewards Points: 9,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I don't do ducting or venting. But if the duct is already there I will install a bath exhaust fan or vent hood.

I also have no issue installing non-vented recirculating hoods. They are easy and profitable.
I will install bathroom exhaust ducting, but not a kitchen hood duct.
Switched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 04:05 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,139
Rewards Points: 958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I don't do ducting or venting. But if the duct is already there I will install a bath exhaust fan or vent hood.

I also have no issue installing non-vented recirculating hoods. They are easy and profitable.

Yeah, I install those too along with micro-hoods and also don't do venting. But this being a stand alone to be mounted on a tile wall I wouldn't normally do.
HackWork likes this.
__________________

A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 04:27 PM   #20
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,437
Rewards Points: 10,198
Default

I want to clarify.

I will do any of these type jobs if I don't need an hvac permit .
This usually means remodels.

On new construction , I decline hvac scope of work because that's not
what I bid to do and 9 out of 10 times a home builder is trying to
"push this off" as electricians scope of work and I say it's not. They are just
trying to get me to do something for nothing. They're not offering to pay it
as an extra , they're acting as if it should be in the bid to begin with and
that would be a losing argument , cause all one has to do is read the description
of what an electricians state license is vs a state licensed HVAC contractor.

It's (ventilation / hoods etc) are clearly in the HVAC contractors scope.

But if you can make more money doing this ...go for it.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PV conduit inside exterior wall permitted? katwalatapan Alternative Energy Forum 11 12-05-2016 01:09 PM
Wire into bottom of insulated wall BobN Residential Electrical Forum 12 07-23-2016 09:01 PM
Venting, not HVAC 220/221 General Electrical Discussion 6 07-07-2016 11:09 AM
Hanging heavy lights on a furred wall. Year_Zero General Electrical Discussion 16 02-25-2016 07:38 PM
locating conduit or LV cable behind wall or missing conduit end? lortech Structured Wiring 3 01-18-2016 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com