New Resident Service - Texas County - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Like Tree23Likes
  • 1 Post By ZipperT
  • 3 Post By Wirenuting
  • 5 Post By Wirenuting
  • 2 Post By Bird dog
  • 2 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 1 Post By Bird dog
  • 1 Post By Bird dog
  • 1 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 1 Post By readydave8
  • 1 Post By Wirenuting
  • 1 Post By joebanana
  • 4 Post By lighterup
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2018, 12:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Waller County, Texas
Posts: 4
Default New Resident Service - Texas County

Hello everyone! First time on the forum. I have a pretty simple question...I think!
I'm putting in a new service to a garage/accessories building. I've contacted Center point Energy about the service. I'm going to run 2" pvc from their pole to new meter can, but I'm having issues with sizing correctly. I want to put in a 200 amp service, but may need to reduce to 150 amps based on distance from pole. It's approximately 240 feet from pole to meter can. I don't want to pull in greater than 4/0 aluminum. Can I run a 200 amp service this far? If not how much service can be put on this size aluminum wiring? Thanks y'all!
readydave8 likes this.
ZipperT is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2018, 12:21 PM   #2
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 11,966
Rewards Points: 5,518
Default

Welcome to ET
Please finish filling out your profile.
Until then, the best I can think of is a standard answer to your question...


Luckily your issue is easily resolvable.

Tie the microwave into the stove circuit. The stove circuit is 240 volts. That is what you need to operate your microwave correctly. I bet that your hot dogs are taking too long to cook in the microwave, aren't they. Talk to one of the home improvement experts at your local home depot or Lowes. They can explain how to do this and provide you with all of the materials required to complete the project.


BTW, Boiling hot dogs for long hours does produce the best taste.
But that’s on the stove man forum.
readydave8, lighterup and d2043 like this.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 12:31 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Waller County, Texas
Posts: 4
Default

Go troll on someone else's questions...
ZipperT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2018, 12:33 PM   #4
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 11,966
Rewards Points: 5,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZipperT View Post
Go troll on someone else's questions...
Not trying to troll you. But you need to fill out your profile.
This site gets so many DYI, farmer, HO questions that filling out your profile is a must.

At least I was polite and welcomed you first.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 12:37 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Waller County, Texas
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks, I've been there twice, but I'm working off of my mobile phone so it may not be giving me all the options to complete.
ZipperT is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 12:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: US
Posts: 3,331
Rewards Points: 1,876
Default

Contact your local electrician.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
TGGT is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 12:45 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Waller County, Texas
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks! You guys are really helpful. I've held my electrical licence for over 20 years, but really don't work in that area anymore. I was just looking for validation to my question. Thanks again!
ZipperT is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 12:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 5,095
Rewards Points: 1,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZipperT View Post
Thanks! You guys are really helpful. I've held my electrical licence for over 20 years, but really don't work in that area anymore. I was just looking for validation to my question. Thanks again!

If you like to, post your question to http://www.diychatroom.com/ because it sounds like you've been out of the trade for so long that you might just as well be a DIYer.
The_Modifier and lighterup like this.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:02 PM   #9
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,552
Rewards Points: 1,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZipperT View Post
Thanks! You guys are really helpful. I've held my electrical licence for over 20 years, but really don't work in that area anymore. I was just looking for validation to my question. Thanks again!
If you had a license at some point you must have passed a test and voltage drop calculations are extremely basic.

The way you wrote your question really casts severe doubt on you ever holding a license.

" how much service can be put on this size aluminum wiring?"


Never saw any electrician size a service to the roll of wire he has.
The_Modifier and lighterup like this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 5,095
Rewards Points: 1,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Never saw any electrician size a service to the roll of wire he has.

It just so happens to be the size I have in my trunk!
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:15 PM   #11
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,552
Rewards Points: 1,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
It just so happens to be the size I have in my trunk!
LOL!

Over 240', must have been the end of a large spool?
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:16 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
StriickeN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 156
Rewards Points: 204
Default

250 ft extension cord.

Do they make those? O.o
StriickeN is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:17 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 5,095
Rewards Points: 1,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
LOL!

Over 240', must have been the end of a large spool?

Yeah, that's all he could get at the local jockey lot.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:24 PM   #14
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,552
Rewards Points: 1,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StriickeN View Post
250 ft extension cord.

Do they make those? O.o

One can always use two 100's an a 50' or just go full on and use three 100's or just even five 50's if there are on sale at HDpeot.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:30 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
StriickeN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 156
Rewards Points: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
One can always use two 100's an a 50' or just go full on and use three 100's or just even five 50's if there are on sale at HDpeot.
****... You could even put 5 50 footers at the end of the two 100's on a power strip. More power!!!!! Lmao
StriickeN is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:33 PM   #16
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,552
Rewards Points: 1,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StriickeN View Post
****... You could even put 5 50 footers at the end of the two 100's on a power strip. More power!!!!! Lmao
I recall reading a story about too much heat released from the cords when you go too far.

Or was that in the motor at the end of the cord??????








Maybe it was smoke that was released......
StriickeN likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:39 PM   #17
neutral member
 
readydave8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Clarkesville, Georgia
Posts: 1,529
Rewards Points: 676
Default

No you never been an electrician even if you were licensed 20 years

PM me and I'll explain how to do it

I "liked" your post!
Bird dog likes this.
__________________
Dave Ruth
readydave8 is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:49 PM   #18
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 11,966
Rewards Points: 5,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
I recall reading a story about too much heat released from the cords when you go too far.
......

To prevent to much heat generating on that long SO cord,, I keep it wrapped tightly to a tiny spool.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 01:56 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,559
Rewards Points: 7,057
Default

"Who let the dogs out....woof, woof, woof". Brutal.
lighterup likes this.
joebanana is offline  
Old 05-11-2018, 02:02 PM   #20
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,401
Rewards Points: 10,126
Default

without doing the load calc and actually seeing
the panel schedule , I'd throw caution to the wind
and run 500 cm (cu) in parallel ...I'm also figuring
another 30' for the riser up the pole to the can.

Hope this helped ya...buddy..errrrr

Last edited by lighterup; 05-11-2018 at 02:04 PM.
lighterup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com