Troubleshoot - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Like Tree28Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2017, 05:16 PM   #21
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DDesign View Post
I was just on a troubleshoot last week where one leg was lost underground coming from the transformer. I called the power company and they brought out a device called a Power Back
This device is a portable transformer that creates 120/240V from a single 120V leg. I had never seen this before but it worked well and supplied 20 Kva or 200 amps while the underground feed was replaced.
How do you get 200A at 240V from 20kVA?

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2017, 06:13 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: mn
Posts: 12,376
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
How do you get 200A at 240V from 20kVA?

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
You mean you don't know how?
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 06:16 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
How do you get 200A at 240V from 20kVA?

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
I'm just quoting the manufacturer's web site HERE

Maybe because the 20Kva is for one 120v leg only?
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2017, 07:39 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 14,057
Rewards Points: 26,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DDesign View Post
I'm just quoting the manufacturer's web site HERE

Maybe because the 20Kva is for one 120v leg only?
Yup.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 08:25 PM   #25
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 470
Default

I see. So you use the 20 kVA on a 200A service, and it will give you 83.333A at 240V on the secondary.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 09:30 PM   #26
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
How do you get 200A at 240V from 20kVA?

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
You have to ask it really quietly in its ear. You want to be low but breathy enough to stimulate the little hairs on its neck while you're speaking. It will give you whatever you ask it to then.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshoot WronGun Residential Electrical Forum 58 11-18-2016 05:24 PM
Freaky troubleshoot need help Anathera General Electrical Discussion 27 10-05-2016 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com