Whole house fan - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Residential Electrical Forum


Like Tree12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2019, 09:07 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
HertzHound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: East coast
Posts: 484
Rewards Points: 792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Nice! Clean work.

I have an antenna mounted in my attic too, aimed directly at the Empire State Building for HD network channels. I don't use it much, but it's good to have incase I ever lose the internet.

I boycotted the cable company for a few years. Then the whole Trade Center thing happened, and it really went to sh!t. When I knocked the house down I moved the antenna to the detached garage roof. It didn't work to well out there. To low, and in the trees, but I didn't want to put it on the roof of the new house.


Eventually I switched to FIOS. I still thought I could come up with a better signal. So I kept trying different things. Even if I don't get rid of the FIOS triple play. It is a good backup, plus it's great for the stereo. I ran two RG6 cables to every location when I wired the house. One for cable, one for stereo/TV. Luckily the solar is on the south side and the New York signals are on the north. As long as I get WDHA in clear I'm happy.



For the non NJ guys. https://wdhafm.com/



The one in the picture isn't hooked up anymore. I tried it up there. Not to good, but works good for FM. Then I switched to an eight bay bowtie. That one works real good for HDTV. Then the one in the picture was only used for FM, then I made a dedicated FM antenna. The dedicated FM antenna is made from a piece of coax. It's called a folded Dipole. There are calculators online to get the length right for the frequency. That replaced the antenna in the picture.
__________________
“Why say lot words when few words do trick”
HertzHound is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2019, 10:35 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,994
Rewards Points: 1,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HertzHound View Post
I boycotted the cable company for a few years. Then the whole Trade Center thing happened, and it really went to sh!t. When I knocked the house down I moved the antenna to the detached garage roof. It didn't work to well out there. To low, and in the trees, but I didn't want to put it on the roof of the new house.


Eventually I switched to FIOS. I still thought I could come up with a better signal. So I kept trying different things. Even if I don't get rid of the FIOS triple play. It is a good backup, plus it's great for the stereo. I ran two RG6 cables to every location when I wired the house. One for cable, one for stereo/TV. Luckily the solar is on the south side and the New York signals are on the north. As long as I get WDHA in clear I'm happy.



For the non NJ guys. https://wdhafm.com/



The one in the picture isn't hooked up anymore. I tried it up there. Not to good, but works good for FM. Then I switched to an eight bay bowtie. That one works real good for HDTV. Then the one in the picture was only used for FM, then I made a dedicated FM antenna. The dedicated FM antenna is made from a piece of coax. It's called a folded Dipole. There are calculators online to get the length right for the frequency. That replaced the antenna in the picture.
You may find this Youtuber interesting/helpful...
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCySjheRcVJ21B3Jo3HcWMTQ/videos
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu

Last edited by Bird dog; 09-07-2019 at 10:42 PM.
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bird dog For This Useful Post:
HertzHound (09-07-2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com