Hello, Looking for Advice on possible career change - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 01-18-2012, 02:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25
Default Hello, Looking for Advice on possible career change

Hello, my name is Chris and I am 32 years old and currently considering a career change, becoming an electrician.

A little background: After HS I went to university and got a BSc degree. About one month after I graduated I got hired by a local pharmaceutical company where I worked for 9 years...until last week when I was laid off.

The vast majority of time I worked for the company I didn't like what I was doing, mostly sitting in front of computer writing documents/protocols and instructions. What I enjoyed most was when I had a combination of mental and physical tasks, although this was rare. Furthermore, the pharma industry is so tightly regulated that I never felt I got to make decisions or judgements, the managers always had a death grip on control.

By coincidence, a friend was is an industrial electrician was hired by my former company while I was working there. I saw him enjoy more interesting tasks, more importance and higher pay. It was very appealing but I was in a comfortable rut, unable to get the motivation to switch careers. Now, the decision has been forced on me.

I think I would like being electrician because I like and excel science and math, but also doing practical "project" type work. I do the majority of my home and car maintenance, so I'm not afraid to get dirty or put in sweat equity. I have a Mustang that barely has an original factory part and I've done all the work myself (pump gas car that runs 11s in full street trim, but I digress).

So based on this long winded post, do you think that a career as an industrial/commercial would be right for me?