Hiring Process - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > New Member Introductions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2011, 12:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
obrienp23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default Hiring Process

I understand it will differ from area to area but in general what is the process the local's use to bring on new apprentices? Obviously the first step is the application, then what? And after hired do they normally wait to start you working when classes start or is it more of a case whenever they need somebody. Thanks in advance!
obrienp23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2011, 01:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alaska/Nevada
Posts: 1,415
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obrienp23 View Post
I understand it will differ from area to area but in general what is the process the local's use to bring on new apprentices? Obviously the first step is the application, then what? And after hired do they normally wait to start you working when classes start or is it more of a case whenever they need somebody. Thanks in advance!
Contractor driven on the short end. They need bodies, the hall better move a warm one in. What that warm body does early on is significant to building a good career.

Normally work before school. if your a slacker at the grunt end...see ya, we need producers!

When you see this from that angle it gets pretty easy.

Just go to work, do a good job, let them give you direction (nobody likes a foreman apprentice!) make friends and do good.
__________________
Don't let fear be your guide!
Rockyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:25 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Go take some math classes at your local community college(algebra, trig, maybe some single variet calc if your brave. You might test out of some of the Apprentice school too. The contractor I am working for was looking for someone with math skills. They were having trouble with their apprentices and math after they started school. You will have a leg up and get the job. I interviewed against 15 other candidates and got the job because I had a better resume and highlighted that I was enrolled in college and stated which math courses I had taken in my interview.

I do not start ABC classes until September, I have been working for them for 2 months. Like rockyd said they want to see you will work, be on time, be productive, and especially do the grunt work. Even as a journeymen you will be doing grunt work, so if you can't do it as an apprentice, see you later. If you can then they will spend the money to send you to classes.
Ridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rotork Process Actuator help dowmace General Electrical Discussion 8 12-06-2012 09:06 PM
Union Apprentice Process Savage16 Union Topics 15 09-04-2010 06:11 PM
What is the correct process to test a PLC ? steven shica General Electrical Discussion 17 06-15-2008 09:23 PM
Apprentiship Process CFine Union Topics 2 05-20-2008 06:32 AM
Fluke 771 DC ma process clamp on meter 5volts Tools, Equipment and New Products 5 01-30-2008 12:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com