Wanting to join IBEW local 34 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 02-26-2008, 03:26 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Default Wanting to join IBEW local 34

Hello all, my name is Drew and I live in central, IL.. I am interested in applying at the local union hall as an apprentice, but I am nervous about the test, would like to make a good first impression. I have been a self employed general contractor for 8 years and do not specialize in anything. I am fairly familiar with residential electrical code but have never worked under a licensed electrician. I am 39, tired of the rat race, and ready for a career.

I have not taken an aptitude test in many years, and this makes me nervous. Many years have passed since algebra and trig classes. I have a week to prepare if anyone has any advice I would greatly appreciate it. Of all the trades, the brotherhood of electricians is my first choice, really don't want to end up a pipe fitter after all.

thanks,
Drew
Relative Space is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE