Ever Heard of a GFCI Tripping Due To Line Side Problem? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Commercial Electrical Forum

Like Tree16Likes

Old 03-28-2019, 02:33 PM  
Swimmer

Rewards Points: 654
Default Ever Heard of a GFCI Tripping Due To Line Side Problem?

A DVD dispenser company asked me to look into a problem where the GFCI cord, attached to the DVD dispenser, trips intermittently. The GFCI is integral to the power cord and is part of the DVD dispenser. Here is a link. Note that it is automatic set.

https://www.hubbell.com/hubbell/en/P...15LA/p/1726153

I am an electrician so I'm looking into facility issues. I am working along side an equipment tech who is looking into equipment issues. So my task is to identify any facility electrical issues that would cause the GFCI to trip. I can't think of any. Though there are dozens of reasons for power loss from the facility, I can't think of any way for the facility wiring to cause the GFCI to trip. Note that the GFCI is protecting only this single piece of equipment. No facility wiring is connected to the load side of the GFCI. I've checked voltage Line to Neutral, Line to Gnd and Nuetral to Gnd. Plug tester lights look good. The tech has already replaced the GFCI power cord and the UPS that it feeds. The wiring looks good.

So my main questions are:
1. Has anyone seen a GFCI trip due to LINE side issues.
2. If this is an equipment problem then there will be a 5mA difference between Load Hot and Load Neutral. Is there a meter or technique anyone knows to do this? I don't want to connect 2 meters because there may be differences in their readings.

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!