Installing outlet concrete floor 2nd story - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Commercial Electrical Forum


Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By B-Nabs
  • 2 Post By Navyguy
  • 1 Post By splatz
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2020, 10:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 28
Default Installing outlet concrete floor 2nd story

Asked to do a job moving two outlets in a concrete floor. For local business. 2nd story so conduit will be coming up from bottom. Never installed box in existing concrete floor let alone suspended floor.lookingfor recommendations on box and best method. Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
NorthernElectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2020, 10:08 PM   #2
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 28,305
Rewards Points: 18,979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernElectrician View Post
Asked to do a job moving two outlets in a concrete floor. For local business. 2nd story so conduit will be coming up from bottom. Never installed box in existing concrete floor let alone suspended floor.lookingfor recommendations on box and best method. Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Go to your supply house counter. they got. You usually need a coring drill for that job if they have to be flush. If they are pedestals it is an easier job .
__________________
If you start feeling the effects of a possible Corona infection, do not take Ibuprofen (ADVIL) to relieve pain, it increases the ability of the virus to replicate itself.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:41 AM   #3
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,386
Rewards Points: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernElectrician View Post
Asked to do a job moving two outlets in a concrete floor. For local business. 2nd story so conduit will be coming up from bottom. Never installed box in existing concrete floor let alone suspended floor.lookingfor recommendations on box and best method. Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
What you want is called a "poke thru" box. Goes into a core hole (4" 6" 8" depending on how many devices/services). They're not cheap.

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
99cents likes this.
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Yesterday, 03:49 AM   #4
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 28,305
Rewards Points: 18,979
Default

Get a load of the "extension kit" on this catalog page from Hubbell. LOL

https://hubbellcdn.com/catalogpage/W...35_CatPage.pdf

I wonder what that costs.....
__________________
If you start feeling the effects of a possible Corona infection, do not take Ibuprofen (ADVIL) to relieve pain, it increases the ability of the virus to replicate itself.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California all of it
Posts: 873
Rewards Points: 1,717
Default

You can cut , drill , core and notch concrete .
You can cut , drill , core and notch wood
concrete is wet , dusty and messy
wood is dusty and nasty

Both have structural members

Same tools just different cutting edge and removal process .

So what floor box is being used ?
Is it square or round ?
Home Depot shopping or supply house ?
catsparky1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,075
Rewards Points: 8,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernElectrician View Post
Asked to do a job moving two outlets in a concrete floor. For local business. 2nd story so conduit will be coming up from bottom. Never installed box in existing concrete floor let alone suspended floor.lookingfor recommendations on box and best method. Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
I can only offer one word of thoughtful advice:
Poke Through.
Southeast Power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:12 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Philly/NJ
Posts: 656
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

https://www.gordonelectricsupply.com...MaAiSwEALw_wcB

you can usually dril these with a hammer gun core bit with a pilot.

The RC7 series is less than 200$ and requires a ~3 " core bit hole.

I drill a 1/4" hole to spot my location then have a guy hold a bucket under the hole to catch the debris

Last edited by Tonedeaf; Yesterday at 07:14 AM.
Tonedeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,552
Rewards Points: 5,298
Default

In a different approach, you might want to check to see if they have a cellular floor.

If it is an office building, just drilling through the floor anywhere could be disastrous.

Cheers
John
Attached Images
 
Wirenuting and telsa like this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:34 AM   #9
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 9,492
Rewards Points: 1,624
Default

Make sure to cover your ass regarding hitting anything in the deck before you drill. If in doubt, farm it out. It might not be that much more than the core drill rental.

Be careful to read the instructions carefully before you order the floor box, some are much harder to core drill for than others. One wanted the core to be two diameters. I don't remember the numbers but it might have been 2.5" all the way through but 3" for the first 1/2" to countersink the flange. I believe I've always wound up with Hubbell.

The only time the recessed floor boxes make sense to me is when the area is not used all the time, like on a stage or a trade show floor. If it's under a desk or cubicle or conference table etc., go with the pedestals (aka tombstones or doghouses) every time. Not only cheaper and easier, it's a better install because you can usually orient the box so the cord is somewhat protected. These can almost always be fed by 1/2" conduit, so a 7/8" bit and worst case a 7/8" rebar cuter will do the job with no special equipment.
telsa likes this.
__________________
Whatsoever they HAND findeth to do, do it with thy MIGHT
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:01 PM   #10
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 28,305
Rewards Points: 18,979
Default

If I find out this is all because you need to meet new code in an existing building regarding the stupid conference room rule, I'm gonna go all postal.

This rule needs to be ignored on all counts. It's just flat out anti-American.
__________________
If you start feeling the effects of a possible Corona infection, do not take Ibuprofen (ADVIL) to relieve pain, it increases the ability of the virus to replicate itself.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:18 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 14,267
Rewards Points: 26,780
Default

ALWAYS farm out the core drilling.

Get pre-approval WRT pedestal or flush kit... etc. DON'T guess.

These puppies come with specific kits (an activation assembly) for trimming out.

You DON'T get the entire assembly as one item.

So, even the trim-out requires specification... usually.

Hubbell totally dominates this market... so go to their website... first.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:01 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
just the cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Farm it out if your not sure, pretensioned cables don't mind getting cut but people freak out if you do.
__________________
The cost of our answers are not free, we charge you a answer back.
"DID THIS FIX IT??"
just the cowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:45 PM   #13
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,386
Rewards Points: 478
Default

Wiremold also makes some really good poke thru devices. In fact I've installed many of them, and probably only one Hubbell in the 10 years I've been doing commercial electrical.

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:54 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
wcord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 3,919
Rewards Points: 1,800
Default

Poke thru or pedestal, make sure you fire stop your penetrations.
__________________
Nothing is to be gained by arguing with fools.
Nothing can be gained by reasoning with ignorant people.
wcord is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com