Mobile Office 50+30amp - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Commercial Electrical Forum


Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By Kevin_Essiambre
  • 1 Post By electricguy
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2019, 03:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default Mobile Office 50+30amp

I’m in process of building a mobile workshop/office (shipping container). I need a/c, reefer, dryer, lighting & outlets. I need it to be able plug into service. A lot of the places I set up have 30&50 amp plugs. And the minimal amount of onsite electrical work is best. Any thoughts on dual panels; one 30amp and one 50amp service panel with plug hookups; divide the loan appropriately.. Is there a better way or a big downfall to doing it this way? Thanks

-Nick
Pasture714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2019, 03:47 PM   #2
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,669
Rewards Points: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasture714 View Post
I’m in process of building a mobile workshop/office (shipping container). I need a/c, reefer, dryer, lighting & outlets. I need it to be able plug into service. A lot of the places I set up have 30&50 amp plugs. And the minimal amount of onsite electrical work is best. Any thoughts on dual panels; one 30amp and one 50amp service panel with plug hookups; divide the loan appropriately.. Is there a better way or a big downfall to doing it this way? Thanks

-Nick
Why not just setup your system for 30A and use a cord adapter when you only have a 50A receptacle to plug into?
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 04:01 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

I worry 50amps won’t slways be enough. 30+50=80amps. I understand it’s not 80amps total but I would divid the load between each separate service.
-Each service would look like-
30amp panel: lights, outlets, reefer
50amp panel: A\C, 220 outlet, washer/dryer
Pasture714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2019, 04:06 PM   #4
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,669
Rewards Points: 509
Default

So if you only had a 30A outlet at that location, you wouldn't be able to use the AC or the washer/dryer? That's silly.

If you think that you will need more than 30A, then set the system up for 50A and use an adapter when there is only a 30A receptacle.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 06:13 PM   #5
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 812
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasture714 View Post
I’m in process of building a mobile workshop/office (shipping container). I need a/c, reefer, dryer, lighting & outlets. I need it to be able plug into service. A lot of the places I set up have 30&50 amp plugs. And the minimal amount of onsite electrical work is best. Any thoughts on dual panels; one 30amp and one 50amp service panel with plug hookups; divide the loan appropriately.. Is there a better way or a big downfall to doing it this way? Thanks



-Nick
You're over thinking this, do as hackwork has said, one panel for 50 amps and use a cord that will allow you to plug into a 30 amp.

Also, please fill out your profile.


Sent from my Samsung using Tapatalk
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 06:15 PM   #6
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 812
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasture714 View Post
I worry 50amps won’t slways be enough. 30+50=80amps. I understand it’s not 80amps total but I would divid the load between each separate service.
-Each service would look like-
30amp panel: lights, outlets, reefer
50amp panel: A\C, 220 outlet, washer/dryer

30+50 does in fact equal 80 amps... at 240 volt. You'd have 160 amps if it's 120 volts... assuming you're using single phase gear. You could always go three phase...

Sent from my Samsung using Tapatalk
electricguy likes this.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 06:41 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Ya your right; I’m over thinking it. I’ll just put a 50amp plug and work with that! & yes It will be 3 phase. Almost every place Iv been has both a 30&50 plug on panel; that’s why I was thinking of taking advantage of both. I just meant I would not have the full 80amps on one panel; so I would have to use accordingly so breakers aren’t tripping all the time.

Thanks
Pasture714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 07:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,906
Rewards Points: 2,980
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasture714 View Post
Ya your right; I’m over thinking it. I’ll just put a 50amp plug and work with that! & yes It will be 3 phase. Almost every place Iv been has both a 30&50 plug on panel; that’s why I was thinking of taking advantage of both. I just meant I would not have the full 80amps on one panel; so I would have to use accordingly so breakers aren’t tripping all the time.

Thanks

Here that is a relocatable building and would need a silver lable applied by the Safety officer so a permit is needed.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
electricguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com