3 pole disconnect for single phase? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree17Likes
  • 2 Post By NDC
  • 3 Post By Kevin_Essiambre
  • 4 Post By Cow
  • 2 Post By CoolWill
  • 1 Post By NorthernElectricain
  • 1 Post By bob_says_hello
  • 1 Post By CoolWill
  • 1 Post By Incognito
  • 1 Post By Cow
  • 1 Post By CoolWill
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2019, 03:21 PM   #1
NDC
Senior Member
 
NDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,353
Rewards Points: 2,186
Default 3 pole disconnect for single phase?

I have a really nice non-fusible ferraz shawmut disconnect that Ive have stored for a while. Its a 3 phase motor disconnect rated for 60 amps but id like to use it for a 2 pole car charger single phase. Id essentially be using only 2 of the 3 terminals. Is this code compliant?
Attached Thumbnails
3 pole disconnect for single phase?-vcxc.jpg  

Navyguy and splatz like this.

Last edited by NDC; 06-06-2019 at 03:26 PM.
NDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2019, 11:53 PM   #2
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 164
Default

I personally don't see an issue with it. It opens all the ungrounded conductors.

Sent from my Samsung using Tapatalk
splatz, RRF and Incognito like this.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 12:08 AM   #3
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,925
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

More often than not, I can get a 3p disconnect cheaper and faster than a 2p, so a 3p gets used.


It gets done all the time.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Cow For This Useful Post:
Southeast Power (06-07-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2019, 12:18 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,568
Rewards Points: 7,075
Default

I've seen it done quite often. As long as it opens all the energized conductors it could be a 2-pole toggle switch (depending) for all that matters.
__________________
-------------------------------
~ She thinks I'm crazy, but I'm just growing old~
joebanana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 06:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,217
Rewards Points: 2,716
Default

Many 3 pole disconnects say in the instructions that when using them on single phase, use the two outer poles.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 10:26 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: BC - Lower Mainland
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 138
Default

...and so long as it's an approved disconnect in an approved box.

since it's hard to make out if it is from the photo.
bob_says_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 04:51 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

As every one else mentioned you should be good to go, however I would be mindful not to land the neutral on the unused terminal. I don't think a Neutral should be broken inside a disconnect.
glen1971 likes this.
NorthernElectricain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 11:48 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,724
Rewards Points: 3,806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernElectricain View Post
As every one else mentioned you should be good to go, however I would be mindful not to land the neutral on the unused terminal. I don't think a Neutral should be broken inside a disconnect.
Me either.. And yet I see it often and for no reason..
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 12:47 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: BC - Lower Mainland
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
Me either.. And yet I see it often and for no reason..
Can go either way. Provided you break all ungrounded conductors at the same time there's no problem also breaking neutral too. It's just not needed.

Some projects preferred it, in the more 3phase systems where you don't trust the neutral being solidy grounded always, but that's more edge cases than a rule.
Incognito likes this.
bob_says_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 06:14 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,217
Rewards Points: 2,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
Me either.. And yet I see it often and for no reason..
If you want something truly isolated, that's what you do.
Incognito likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 07:19 AM   #11
RSE Master Electrician
 
Incognito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 785
Rewards Points: 888
Default

I never open the grounded conductor in a disconnect but, like others have already said, you can.

14-016 Connection of devices
Devices required by this Section shall not be connected in any grounded conductors except where
a) the devices simultaneously or previously disconnect all ungrounded conductors
glen1971 likes this.
__________________
2018 Canadian Electrical Code
Incognito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 08:41 AM   #12
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,925
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

We really only break the neutrals when wiring fuel pumps.

That's about the only time we do it.
glen1971 likes this.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 02:50 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,724
Rewards Points: 3,806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
If you want something truly isolated, that's what you do.
After I shut the breaker off, I'll have to start disconnecting neutrals in the panel then when I change out a fixture at home then.. (sarcasm).. lol..
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 04:11 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,217
Rewards Points: 2,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
After I shut the breaker off, I'll have to start disconnecting neutrals in the panel then when I change out a fixture at home then.. (sarcasm).. lol..
Don't you get sassy with me lady!
glen1971 likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com