Adding new 3rd party circuit to Service Entrance Panel (Street Lighting) - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By torontorepair

Old 07-10-2019, 05:26 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2
Default Adding new 3rd party circuit to Service Entrance Panel (Street Lighting)

New to the forum and this is probably going to be a difficult question to answer, but I can't get a clear answer from anyone.

I work in the Telecommunications Industry (Ontario). I'm tasked with planning for new 5G radios mounted to the City's street light poles. We have to route fibre add power 120V to these radios. My main concern is the power. Our 1 option is to place a new hydro feed from the LDC's underground transformer to the light pole, up the outside of the light pole to a new 15amp breaker, then to the radio mounted ~5m up. We'll us Uguard near the base of the pole. We also would have to run a fibre up the pole.

Now I don't like this option at all because all the wiring is visible, its very expensive to build because many of these radios will be in the downtown core surrounded by concrete.

What I want to do is use the City's existing street light infrastructure to run our fibre and power through the ground and into the chaseway of the light pole, we would drill out (City approved). We would install a new breaker in the City's Service Entrance Pedestal, which is the demarcation point between the LDC and the Street Light Asset Owner. We would also add a new meter if required unless we could just pay flat rate.