Australian Plug wiring - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By jw0445
  • 2 Post By daveEM
  • 1 Post By Incognito
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2019, 11:48 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default Australian Plug wiring

Hi, I need to convert an Australian 240V 15A 50Hz plug to a north american plug. It's a 3 prong plug, two hot wiring on either side and the middle prong is wider and I am hung on weather it is Neutral or Ground. I think it is a ground just wanted some more opinions. This device has a control panel that controls 3 elements.

Any body experience this before?

Thanks,
gusterminator is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2019, 12:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
canbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Just North of Calgary
Posts: 697
Rewards Points: 1,378
Default

I'll refrain from being a smart ass, but you shouldn't be rewiring this even if you knew what you were doing.


Tim.
canbug is offline  
Old 04-17-2019, 12:31 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

I have contacted the supplier and they are going to send me a diagram on the proper North american wiring. Next I will be Modifying the Unit so I can control it with Craft BeerPi. I will have solid state relays control the elements. I will have a switch that will allow the factory controller to control the temps or My controller to control the temps.
This is just the first modification of many
gusterminator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2019, 12:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jw0445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kirkwood, Pa.
Posts: 1,108
Rewards Points: 1,590
Default

good luck
The_Modifier and tmessner like this.
jw0445 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to jw0445 For This Useful Post:
gusterminator (04-17-2019)
Old 04-17-2019, 01:04 PM   #5
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,665
Rewards Points: 2,374
Default

Careful you don't burn up.
The_Modifier and 99cents like this.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daveEM is offline  
Old 04-17-2019, 01:37 PM   #6
RSE Electrician
 
Incognito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gusterminator View Post
I have contacted the supplier and they are going to send me a diagram on the proper North american wiring. Next I will be Modifying the Unit so I can control it with Craft BeerPi. I will have solid state relays control the elements. I will have a switch that will allow the factory controller to control the temps or My controller to control the temps.
This is just the first modification of many
What province are you in? I assume this equipment does not have a CSA logo on it?

In Ontario you would have to get "special inspection" to certify any modifications you make and give it CSA approval.
The_Modifier likes this.
Incognito is offline  
Old 04-17-2019, 01:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: BC , Canada
Posts: 377
Rewards Points: 756
Default

No ...I know how to power equipment....and if it is from overseas what certifications are needed.
Or is this something you are playing with ? If so this is not the site for you .
scotch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non grounding type plug ratings reyamkram Other Codes and Standards 3 05-08-2018 02:21 PM
Residential Wiring Issue ParkModelElectrician Residential Electrical Forum 2 02-20-2017 08:12 PM
Continuity Between 2 Phases of 240V Plug Azachi Canadian Electrical Forum 13 02-16-2017 09:00 AM
NPLFA circuit wiring khfiei General Electrical Discussion 5 02-05-2016 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com