Box fill 3x2x2.5 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By 99cents
  • 1 Post By LawnGuyLandSparky
  • 2 Post By qwertyjjj
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2019, 07:53 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Montréal
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 6
Default Box fill 3x2x2.5

Reading through electrical code simplified (ps Knight) there is an example for a 3x2x2.5 box that seems weird.
"If we are using #14 cable and intend to run a 2 wire supply and 2x2 load cables into a 2in deep switch box and plan to make 2 joints in this box, we cannot.
...
The table shows a 2.5in deep box may contain the 5-#14 wires and the two splices (caps) we need."

3 cables is 6 wires so is something wrong on the table in their book? Page 108-110
qwertyjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2019, 08:44 AM   #2
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,329
Rewards Points: 7,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qwertyjjj View Post
Reading through electrical code simplified (ps Knight) there is an example for a 3x2x2.5 box that seems weird.
"If we are using #14 cable and intend to run a 2 wire supply and 2x2 load cables into a 2in deep switch box and plan to make 2 joints in this box, we cannot.
...
The table shows a 2.5in deep box may contain the 5-#14 wires and the two splices (caps) we need."

3 cables is 6 wires so is something wrong on the table in their book? Page 108-110
Don’t have the book in front of me, but are you including the device? It counts for two wires as well.
eddy current is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 08:53 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Montréal
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Yeah that's what it's saying. 2 for the device, 2 for the wire nuts, then only allowed 5 conductors. However there are 6 so the book is saying a standard 12.5cu in cannot be used.
qwertyjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2019, 09:43 AM   #4
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,329
Rewards Points: 7,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qwertyjjj View Post
Yeah that's what it's saying. 2 for the device, 2 for the wire nuts, then only allowed 5 conductors. However there are 6 so the book is saying a standard 12.5cu in cannot be used.
That is correct, it can not be used. I assume the picture is showing you what you can not do as that size of box can only have 8 x 14 awg wires as per table 23.

5 conductors
2 conductors for the device
1 conductor for up to 3 wire nuts

=8


Can you post a pic of the drawing you are talking about?
eddy current is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 10:15 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Montréal
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Will do in a second. So in a 2x3 wall, I can never bring power to a switch, then wire onward to a light and another switch because it's too many conductors. My only option would be to bring power to the bigger octagonal box first? Even then I have to bring 3 wires down to the switch and have it as a switch box only?
qwertyjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 10:25 AM   #6
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,329
Rewards Points: 7,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qwertyjjj View Post
Will do in a second. So in a 2x3 wall, I can never bring power to a switch, then wire onward to a light and another switch because it's too many conductors. My only option would be to bring power to the bigger octagonal box first? Even then I have to bring 3 wires down to the switch and have it as a switch box only?
Are you an electrician or apprentice?
eddy current is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 10:27 AM   #7
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,499
Rewards Points: 13,367
Default

Use a 4 X 4 and a plaster ring.
The_Modifier likes this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 10:33 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Montréal
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 6
Default

To be apprentice. More studying really at the moment...
qwertyjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 07:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
LawnGuyLandSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,380
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qwertyjjj View Post
To be apprentice. More studying really at the moment...

WTF is a to be apprentice? A to be apprentice who just happens to be building a home, asking about exterior service disconnects, box fill and electric baseboard heater loads?
splatz likes this.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 08:05 PM   #10
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 6,130
Rewards Points: 1,840
Default

If you can stuff the receptacle in the box, yer good to go. If not, a couple of spacers work wonders
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 09:00 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Montréal
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwertyjjj View Post
To be apprentice. More studying really at the moment...

WTF is a to be apprentice? A to be apprentice who just happens to be building a home, asking about exterior service disconnects, box fill and electric baseboard heater loads?
You never asked about that when first starting out? 😉
99cents and RRF like this.
qwertyjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com