Disconnect type for 60A car charger - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree16Likes
  • 3 Post By VELOCI3
  • 1 Post By newbie44
  • 2 Post By Navyguy
  • 2 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 2 Post By The_Modifier
  • 2 Post By Kevin_Essiambre
  • 1 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 2 Post By Navyguy
  • 1 Post By billyhunter
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2019, 01:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 230
Default Disconnect type for 60A car charger

Would it be considered a bad idea to use one of those Eaton outdoor 60A A/C disconnect for a 60A car charger circuit at 48 amps continuous load?
I see a lot of these Teslas installed at 60 amps with this pull out type disconnect.
Which disconnect do you use instead for 60 amps?
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2019, 03:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: NY
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie44 View Post
Would it be considered a bad idea to use one of those Eaton outdoor 60A A/C disconnect for a 60A car charger circuit at 48 amps continuous load?
I see a lot of these Teslas installed at 60 amps with this pull out type disconnect.
Which disconnect do you use instead for 60 amps?

It’s rated for 60 amps and it is a means of disconnect
VELOCI3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 04:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 727
Rewards Points: 1,393
Default

It's a non issue. If the equipment you're installing needs to be shut off frequently with this disconnect, I'd put one in with a handle, or use one of those Eaton black plastic 60a weatherproof "not a breaker" disconnects.
JoeSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-20-2019, 08:57 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VELOCI3 View Post
It’s rated for 60 amps and it is a means of disconnect
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSparky View Post
It's a non issue. If the equipment you're installing needs to be shut off frequently with this disconnect, I'd put one in with a handle, or use one of those Eaton black plastic 60a weatherproof "not a breaker" disconnects.

I agree but then I came across this post on the net https://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/thre...-switch.39873/
VELOCI3 likes this.
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to newbie44 For This Useful Post:
VELOCI3 (08-20-2019)
Old 08-20-2019, 09:09 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,208
Rewards Points: 4,126
Default

During our code update, the inspectors actually mentioned that this was the most cost effective way to meet the code requirement.

The issue in the attached article has nothing to do with the disco, it is the install / maintenance. Look at the angle of those wires, the gap of missing insulation (obviously been nicked or compromised in some fashion, even the attachment to the conduit looks suspect.

Cheers
John
The_Modifier and Incognito like this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 09:15 AM   #6
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,588
Rewards Points: 1,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navyguy View Post
During our code update, the inspectors actually mentioned that this was the most cost effective way to meet the code requirement.

The issue in the attached article has nothing to do with the disco, it is the install / maintenance. Look at the angle of those wires, the gap of missing insulation (obviously been nicked or compromised in some fashion, even the attachment to the conduit looks suspect.

Cheers
John
Yeah that pic looks like it belongs in the gems thread.

There is a lot to be said for workmanship or in this case lack thereof.
The_Modifier and Navyguy like this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 07:31 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Question on the code requirement for the disconnect on an EV charger (Ontario). I have recently moved and so have to install yet another hardwired L2 Charger (40/32Amp Chargepoint). I installed the last one and did not have a disconnect. Pulled an ESA permit, ran Teck 90 with proper connectors from charger through cinderblock / masonry into panel. Inspector passed it with flying colors...

I now have to do something similar, but with a longer run to the panel. Is the disconnect a new requirement? (Last one was installed in 2017) Or perhaps a provincial addition to the CEC?

Thanks.

Apologies if considered hijacking a thread.
Darkskypoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 10:12 AM   #8
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
The_Modifier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 2,598
Rewards Points: 452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkskypoet View Post
Question on the code requirement for the disconnect on an EV charger (Ontario). I have recently moved and so have to install yet another hardwired L2 Charger (40/32Amp Chargepoint). I installed the last one and did not have a disconnect. Pulled an ESA permit, ran Teck 90 with proper connectors from charger through cinderblock / masonry into panel. Inspector passed it with flying colors...

I now have to do something similar, but with a longer run to the panel. Is the disconnect a new requirement? (Last one was installed in 2017) Or perhaps a provincial addition to the CEC?

Thanks.

Apologies if considered hijacking a thread.
Fill out your profile.

Specifically your general location (it helps the rest of us with making sure that the local codes are cited and your electrically related profession
glen1971 and Kevin_Essiambre like this.
__________________
Opportunities multiply as they are seized.

BRINGING RESPECT TO THE TRADES IS IMPERATIVE. DO YOUR PART!
The_Modifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 02:42 AM   #9
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 841
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Yeah that pic looks like it belongs in the gems thread.



There is a lot to be said for workmanship or in this case lack thereof.
I like the conduit going in the top.

Someone mentioned that you couldn't usr the A/C disconnects for EV chargers to me one day. Asked an inspector and he laughed and said why would the be rated for 60 amps if you couldn't put up to 60 amps on it.

Sent from my Samsung using Tapatalk
MechanicalDVR and Navyguy like this.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 10:35 AM   #10
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,588
Rewards Points: 1,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Essiambre View Post
I like the conduit going in the top.

Someone mentioned that you couldn't usr the A/C disconnects for EV chargers to me one day. Asked an inspector and he laughed and said why would the be rated for 60 amps if you couldn't put up to 60 amps on it.
It isn't like the disco knows what it's connected to.

Like you say, they are rated for amps not intellect.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:37 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
0day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: GTA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 38
Default

I don't think its code to add the disco, it just more of a convenience to have a service switch right next to the item. Same with transformers in buildings, its not code to add disco but we do it all the time.
0day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:49 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Fist of lightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0day View Post
I don't think its code to add the disco, it just more of a convenience to have a service switch right next to the item. Same with transformers in buildings, its not code to add disco but we do it all the time.
Only time you do not need a disco when feeding equipment is if the ocp is in site of the equipment.

When feeding a tranny if the primary panel is insight of the tranny it’s feeding you dont need a disco ,the oco is means of disconnect.


Say the primary panel is in a diff room of the tranny I belive it’s code that you have to mount a disco and feed the tranny from that means of disconnect .
Fist of lightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 10:26 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,208
Rewards Points: 4,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0day View Post
I don't think its code to add the disco, it just more of a convenience to have a service switch right next to the item. Same with transformers in buildings, its not code to add disco but we do it all the time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fist of lightning View Post
Only time you do not need a disco when feeding equipment is if the ocp is in site of the equipment.

When feeding a tranny if the primary panel is insight of the tranny it’s feeding you dont need a disco ,the oco is means of disconnect.


Say the primary panel is in a diff room of the tranny I belive it’s code that you have to mount a disco and feed the tranny from that means of disconnect .
Time for a code class (update?) or two me thinks...

Cheers
John
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 10:28 AM   #14
RSE Master Electrician
 
Incognito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 790
Rewards Points: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fist of lightning View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0day View Post
I don't think its code to add the disco, it just more of a convenience to have a service switch right next to the item. Same with transformers in buildings, its not code to add disco but we do it all the time.
Only time you do not need a disco when feeding equipment is if the ocp is in site of the equipment.

When feeding a tranny if the primary panel is insight of the tranny it’s feeding you dont need a disco ,the oco is means of disconnect.


Say the primary panel is in a diff room of the tranny I belive it’s code that you have to mount a disco and feed the tranny from that means of disconnect .

Not all equipment requires disconnects within sight. Motors, hot tubs (in Ontario) and EVSC rated 60 amps or more yes, but not for transformers. Good idea, but not code.
__________________
2018 Canadian Electrical Code
Incognito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 10:54 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Fist of lightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fist of lightning View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0day View Post
I don't think its code to add the disco, it just more of a convenience to have a service switch right next to the item. Same with transformers in buildings, its not code to add disco but we do it all the time.
Only time you do not need a disco when feeding equipment is if the ocp is in site of the equipment.

When feeding a tranny if the primary panel is insight of the tranny it’s feeding you dont need a disco ,the oco is means of disconnect.


Say the primary panel is in a diff room of the tranny I belive it’s code that you have to mount a disco and feed the tranny from that means of disconnect .

Not all equipment requires disconnects within sight. Motors, hot tubs (in Ontario) and EVSC rated 60 amps or more yes, but not for transformers. Good idea, but not code.
Is this a recent code that has changed unless I was always incorrect .

I remember trannies always needing a disco if the breaker was not In sight .
Fist of lightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 10:56 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,208
Rewards Points: 4,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito View Post
Not all equipment requires disconnects within sight. Motors, hot tubs (in Ontario) and EVSC rated 60 amps or more yes, but not for transformers. Good idea, but not code.
Agreed.

I think there are more code related reasons to have disconnecting means than not. Rarely over the years have I ever installed a piece of equipment that was so perfectly engineered or a distribution designed and installed that did not require some sort of disconnecting means (especially trannys). The biggest one I have come across is oversizing the tranny and requiring secondary protection on the load side to protect the equipment, usually a MLO panel or splitter.

Cheers
John
0day and Incognito like this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 10:15 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
billyhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 218
Default

I never use that for client except for A/C installation purpose, normally I use a disconnect with a handle, not heavy duty but OK for house use.

Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
billyhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com