Duct smoke detectors? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2019, 08:30 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 550
Rewards Points: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Honeywell are very common.

They mount on the return duct (side or bottom) and have a sampling tube that goes across the duct.
Why on the return? Is it to pick up the smoke that may be in the room.

I have asked numerous times and have never got an answer about this. I have always put them on the supply side, with the understanding it was to pick up smoke that would be coming from the RTU itself.

I always assumed that the room smoke detectors would pick up smoke in the room and one in the return duct was redundant.
darren79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2019, 08:33 PM   #22
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 656
Rewards Points: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
They are required for any airhandler/furnace moving 2000 cfm or more, resi or commercial is irrelevant.
Fire department person here in ottawa wants a duct detector where the building has forced air furnace with 2 or more apartments / units in the building fed from the furnace. My dad has installed several of them. They normally shut off the furnace and trigger the smoke alarms. They also have to be verified after installation by another company with a fire alarm licence here.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:35 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 424
Default

2000 cfm is a huge for an apartment. I don't do houses and largest was 12k and never have seen them big enough for duct smokes
farmantenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2019, 08:35 PM   #24
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 58,950
Rewards Points: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Essiambre View Post
Fire department person here in ottawa wants a duct detector where the building has forced air furnace with 2 or more apartments / units in the building fed from the furnace. My dad has installed several of them. They normally shut off the furnace and trigger the smoke alarms. They also have to be verified after installation by another company with a fire alarm licence here.
Interesting!

When it comes to safety items like that I'm all for it.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:37 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Essiambre View Post
Fire department person here in ottawa wants a duct detector where the building has forced air furnace with 2 or more apartments / units in the building fed from the furnace. My dad has installed several of them. They normally shut off the furnace and trigger the smoke alarms. They also have to be verified after installation by another company with a fire alarm licence here.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
interesting.
farmantenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:37 PM   #26
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 58,950
Rewards Points: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmantenna View Post
2000 cfm is a huge for an apartment. I don't do houses and largest was 12k and never have seen them big enough for duct smokes
A typical 4 ton system can be 2000 cfm depending on the area it's in.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:43 PM   #27
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 58,950
Rewards Points: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darren79 View Post
Why on the return? Is it to pick up the smoke that may be in the room.

I have asked numerous times and have never got an answer about this. I have always put them on the supply side, with the understanding it was to pick up smoke that would be coming from the RTU itself.

I always assumed that the room smoke detectors would pick up smoke in the room and one in the return duct was redundant.
Because it would pick up smoke from anywhere within the conditioned space as soon as it hit the return plenum.

Smoke detectors are not in every room.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:45 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darren79 View Post
Why on the return? Is it to pick up the smoke that may be in the room.

I have asked numerous times and have never got an answer about this. I have always put them on the supply side, with the understanding it was to pick up smoke that would be coming from the RTU itself.

I always assumed that the room smoke detectors would pick up smoke in the room and one in the return duct was redundant.

again I'm in US but here there's a conflict between NFPA fire alarm code that dictates in the supply of HVAC systems larger than 2k cfm and the mechanical code that dictates the return. I have never put them in the return in smaller units. I'm an electrician so don't know who's right.

I personally witnessed while doing unrelated electrical work in a retail store what happens when the blower motor in a RTU burns up: smoke starts billowing out all the registers until the duct smoke shuts things down
farmantenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:50 PM   #29
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 58,950
Rewards Points: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmantenna View Post
again I'm in US but here there's a conflict between NFPA fire alarm code that dictates in the supply of HVAC systems larger than 2k cfm and the mechanical code that dictates the return. I have never put them in the return in smaller units. I'm an electrician so don't know who's right.

I personally witnessed while doing unrelated electrical work in a retail store what happens when the blower motor in a RTU burns up: smoke starts billowing out all the registers until the duct smoke shuts things down
Many areas require them in supply and return in some use groups.

Medical facilities, assisted living facilities, and several others.
eddy current and glen1971 like this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kidde smoke detectors recall MechanicalDVR General Electrical Discussion 13 03-26-2018 05:59 AM
Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detectors kuziwk Canadian Electrical Forum 25 11-12-2017 05:35 PM
Odd question about residential 120V smoke detectors Bzzzzzt General Electrical Discussion 20 08-26-2017 10:46 PM
May 5 smoke detectors and strobe question Fessca Canadian Electrical Forum 12 07-09-2016 06:27 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com