Non mast overhead house service - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree30Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2019, 01:53 PM   #21
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,157
Rewards Points: 3,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I have never had an issue getting a coupling on a cut 90. PVC cement is slippery (if only for a few seconds ).

I went to my supplier once and asked for a PVC 45 and he looked at me like I was from outer space. He said everybody just cuts a 90 in half. I have done it that way ever since.
I wouldn't think that would work, you'll be slipping the coupling on a curved piece not a straight piece.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2019, 02:02 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,624
Rewards Points: 391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I wouldn't think that would work, you'll be slipping the coupling on a curved piece not a straight piece.
You could hammer a square peg into a round hole with a big enough hammer.

And up there they only have snow, not rain. So they don't have to worry about the riser being sealed.
splatz likes this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 03:04 PM   #23
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 651
Rewards Points: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
You could hammer a square peg into a round hole with a big enough hammer.



And up there they only have snow, not rain. So they don't have to worry about the riser being sealed.
Hydro one doesn't even install a weatherhead on PVC conduit runs... after many years the conduit will fill with water... That's what the drain holes are for in the meterbases.

Sent from my Samsung using Tapatalk
__________________
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!"
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2019, 03:14 PM   #24
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,551
Rewards Points: 11,459
Default

I guess rain falls up in NJ.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 11:33 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
billyhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 208
Default

I use ACWU cable for service without mast and hot PVCBOOTS to shrink all wires, I passed inspection.
billyhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 11:50 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,867
Rewards Points: 2,012
Default

I have never seen a Poco-installed transition to underground that had a weatherhead. All their PVC is open. I guess they rely on the fact that their installers probably just dry fit it.

The only weatherheads I see on pole risers are the risers installed by an EC.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 12:04 PM   #27
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,634
Rewards Points: 16,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
I have never seen a Poco-installed transition to underground that had a weatherhead. All their PVC is open. I guess they rely on the fact that their installers probably just dry fit it.

The only weatherheads I see on pole risers are the risers installed by an EC.
I put weather head on the pole only if the UG riser or conduit is higher than the meter or pad transformer. but otherwise I dont bother with it . the reason why sometime you will see a water coming out like a guyser especially after heavy rainstorm or moonson season in my area .
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 01:19 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 616
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
I have never seen a Poco-installed transition to underground that had a weatherhead. All their PVC is open. I guess they rely on the fact that their installers probably just dry fit it.



The only weatherheads I see on pole risers are the risers installed by an EC.
That must depend on the POCO. Whenever we have to provide the wire and cable for up the pole we need the weatherhead as well.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 01:28 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,867
Rewards Points: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge Boyz View Post
That must depend on the POCO. Whenever we have to provide the wire and cable for up the pole we need the weatherhead as well.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
You still installed it. I'm speaking of conduit installed by the utility.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 01:37 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 616
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
You still installed it. I'm speaking of conduit installed by the utility.
Actually not. This is for on the pole. The most we do is one stick up the pole and leave the rest there for them to do.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 04:00 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,894
Rewards Points: 2,956
Default

About poles in BC if you only use 1 stick of pipe and there is still 5 ft of pole left it will fail . AHJ wants the full height of the pole used or use a shorter pole. He doesnt like to hear well i only have a ladder the will only reach that height.

Last edited by electricguy; 07-07-2019 at 04:03 PM.
electricguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 06:39 PM   #32
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,634
Rewards Points: 16,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricguy View Post
About poles in BC if you only use 1 stick of pipe and there is still 5 ft of pole left it will fail . AHJ wants the full height of the pole used or use a shorter pole. He doesnt like to hear well i only have a ladder the will only reach that height.
Here tha thing .,, if that is on Hydro pole I would tell the AHJ pound sand after they read the specs what Hydro want

I know what I always in my area and my POCO approved my methold is just slap a full stick and let POCO make their own termation on the uility side.,,

and I am not too keen to stand under 14.4 KV lines that why only one stick and be done with it.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 06:43 PM   #33
RSE Master Electrician
 
Incognito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 485
Rewards Points: 618
Default

Around here (Ontario) the electrician only installs one length of conduit, but they have to supply all the materials (conduit, straps, screws, weatherhead ) for the whole service. the utility installs the rest
__________________
2018 Ontario Electrical Code
Incognito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 07:11 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
spinninwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 574
Rewards Points: 1,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito View Post
Around here (Ontario) the electrician only installs one length of conduit, but they have to supply all the materials (conduit, straps, screws, weatherhead ) for the whole service. the utility installs the rest
The utility installs the conductors then and terminates in the meter base?
__________________
life is a wild adventure or nothing - helen keller
spinninwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 07:26 PM   #35
RSE Master Electrician
 
Incognito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 485
Rewards Points: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninwheels View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito View Post
Around here (Ontario) the electrician only installs one length of conduit, but they have to supply all the materials (conduit, straps, screws, weatherhead ) for the whole service. the utility installs the rest
The utility installs the conductors then and terminates in the meter base?
No the electrician does all the lower work but only runs the conduit and conductors 10’ up the pole if the pole has live wires on it. The utility does all the higher work.
__________________
2018 Ontario Electrical Code
Incognito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 07:45 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,894
Rewards Points: 2,956
Default

Sounds like I should clarify this would be a customer owned pole I have never seen where we could put metering equipment on a POCO owned pole for a residence
electricguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:16 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
spinninwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 574
Rewards Points: 1,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito View Post
No the electrician does all the lower work but only runs the conduit and conductors 10’ up the pole if the pole has live wires on it. The utility does all the higher work.
What electricguy said. I didn't realize you could put customer gear on POCO's poles.
__________________
life is a wild adventure or nothing - helen keller
spinninwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:25 PM   #38
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,634
Rewards Points: 16,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricguy View Post
Sounds like I should clarify this would be a customer owned pole I have never seen where we could put metering equipment on a POCO owned pole for a residence
Customer owned pole yuh we can install the metering devices but POCO owned post .,, no .,, see below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninwheels View Post
What electricguy said. I didn't realize you could put customer gear on POCO's poles.
Most case the POCO kinda frown on that and they kinda discourge it for good reason due if they have to replace the pole for some reason they have to tear all the stuff off to get the pole replaced.

Only super limited situation then POCO can allowed metering on the pole ditto in my area it super rare our POCO not too keen with it due most of our poles are concrete so that one reason why.,,

the only time I will typically see it is primary metering that about it. anything else it kinda a shot in dark.,,
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:29 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 616
Rewards Points: 46
Default

It's not installing gear on poles. It running pipe in a ditch over to the pole and then up.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:39 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
spinninwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 574
Rewards Points: 1,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge Boyz View Post
It's not installing gear on poles. It running pipe in a ditch over to the pole and then up.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
I've seen POCO's secondary poles on the customer's property. Even with Teck or ACWU, still a no go.
__________________
life is a wild adventure or nothing - helen keller
spinninwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service mast back bracket 99cents Canadian Electrical Forum 63 09-19-2018 11:35 PM
Service mast change out jordandunlop General Electrical Discussion 23 04-23-2016 10:40 PM
overhead service raceway drain dirk103 Canadian Electrical Forum 29 03-18-2016 12:32 PM
Supporting service mast flush mout new construction so cal Dodge47 Residential Electrical Forum 6 02-24-2016 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com