Nova scotia electrical Permit question - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By joe-nwt
  • 1 Post By HackWork
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2019, 10:31 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 2
Default Nova scotia electrical Permit question

Do I need to get a to install a generator panel? In assuming yes. I dont have much experience having to get permits.

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
surefire902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2019, 11:12 AM   #2
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,158
Rewards Points: 1,320
Default

Are you an electrician? Do you work without getting permits?
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 11:21 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 2
Default

I've always worked for someone else. My background is commercial but the last few years has been industrial so I've never had to do the office work. Yes I'm an electrician, I keep getting asked to do generator panels after this storm

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
surefire902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2019, 12:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 309
Rewards Points: 620
Default

If you are going to do electrical installations, yes, you need a permit. Not sure what the NS regs are but you might have to have a Master's (or whatever they may call it there) to pull a permit.

Call your inspection department and ask.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
joe-nwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 04:19 PM   #5
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,727
Rewards Points: 11,821
Default

Definitely permitted work.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 04:32 PM   #6
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,685
Rewards Points: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surefire902 View Post
I've always worked for someone else. My background is commercial but the last few years has been industrial so I've never had to do the office work. Yes I'm an electrician, I keep getting asked to do generator panels after this storm

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
it sounds like you are doing sidework, which most likely means that you can't pull a permit.

Most people with the proper electrical license to pull a permit would already know that they need to pull a permit for an involved job like this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:23 PM   #7
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,727
Rewards Points: 11,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
it sounds like you are doing sidework, which most likely means that you can't pull a permit.

Most people with the proper electrical license to pull a permit would already know that they need to pull a permit for an involved job like this.
The cheesy way to do it is off a homeowner’s permit. Technically, though, whoever pulls the permit needs to do the work even if he’s a dumbf***.

Some jurisdictions won’t allow homeowner permits for panel work.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:25 PM   #8
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,685
Rewards Points: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
The cheesy way to do it is off a homeowner’s permit. Technically, though, whoever pulls the permit needs to do the work even if he’s a dumbf***.

Some jurisdictions won’t allow homeowner permits for panel work.
Yup, same here. That's why I underlined and bolded it the way that I did, so he got the hint.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:26 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
it sounds like you are doing sidework, which most likely means that you can't pull a permit.

Most people with the proper electrical license to pull a permit would already know that they need to pull a permit for an involved job like this.
Thanks for your input. I do have the proper license to pull a permit. I assumed I would need to but I didnt bust out of the womb as a business owner

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
surefire902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:28 PM   #10
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,685
Rewards Points: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surefire902 View Post
Thanks for your input. I do have the proper license to pull a permit. I assumed I would need to but I didnt bust out of the womb as a business owner
Gotcha. Take your time. Ask lots of questions. After you have a certain amount of posts you will get access to a private business forum here with lots of good info.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:38 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Gotcha. Take your time. Ask lots of questions. After you have a certain amount of posts you will get access to a private business forum here with lots of good info.
Awsome thanks. Anothe reason I asked that question is I was at a friend's house who had a gen panel put in by another electrician recently and it really didnt look like an inspector would have passed it.

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
surefire902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:39 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Gotcha. Take your time. Ask lots of questions. After you have a certain amount of posts you will get access to a private business forum here with lots of good info.
Actually she said he didnt have to get a permit

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
surefire902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 05:45 PM   #13
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,685
Rewards Points: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surefire902 View Post
Actually she said he didnt have to get a permit

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
That's what he told the homeowner, doesn't mean it's true.
surefire902 likes this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 06:07 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
That's what he told the homeowner, doesn't mean it's true.
That's what I figured as well.

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
surefire902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 06:45 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surefire902 View Post
Do I need to get a to install a generator panel? In assuming yes. I dont have much experience having to get permits.

Sent from my SM-A205W using Tapatalk
Do it buddy !
Alexander1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com