PVC pipe close to chimney . - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Navyguy
  • 1 Post By oliquir
  • 1 Post By 99cents
  • 1 Post By Navyguy
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2018, 09:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 50
Default PVC pipe close to chimney .

Hi everyone. I need to move a panel but the problem is chimney. There is no way to pass this chimney and i wondering is any rules about how close service pipe can run along chimney. Panel has to go 7-8 meters left . Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
PVC pipe close to chimney .-img_4721-1-.jpg  
yarik is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2018, 09:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 5,334
Default

I see two options (while not knowing how close the pipe is to the wall)...

1. Use rigid conduit;
2. Install a disco at the current location and run #3/3 inside to the new panel location.

To be realistic, I think that if that pipe got over 90*C there would be bigger problems then the service conduit being too close.

Cheers
John
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 09:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 189
Rewards Points: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yarik View Post
Hi everyone. I need to move a panel but the problem is chimney. There is no way to pass this chimney and i wondering is any rules about how close service pipe can run along chimney. Panel has to go 7-8 meters left . Thanks
Can you not go underground from the meterbase and come back up when you get past the chimney?
silver50032000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2018, 09:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,490
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

this is an insulated chminey, you just need 2" clearance from combustible materials
51360 likes this.
oliquir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 09:27 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 14,268
Rewards Points: 26,782
Default

Pardon me, but how is it that the co-ax cables survive the transit ?

Yeah, it doesn't look like you have any other issue than getting on by.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 09:37 AM   #6
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 22,433
Rewards Points: 15,269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navyguy View Post
I see two options (while not knowing how close the pipe is to the wall)...

1. Use rigid conduit;
2. Install a disco at the current location and run #3/3 inside to the new panel location.

To be realistic, I think that if that pipe got over 90*C there would be bigger problems then the service conduit being too close.

Cheers
John
EMT maybe. Thinner OD, bigger air gap.
Navyguy likes this.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 09:57 AM   #7
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,487
Rewards Points: 7,938
Default

Curious, is Hydro requesting you move the new meter base as well?

You only need 1 meter as per 2-324, but it is hard to tell how far the meter is from the gas in the pic.
eddy current is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 10:49 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 5,334
Default

I am finding that the utility is less concerned with the meter location now that smart meters are pretty much everywhere.

It might be easier to get the utility to approve the relocation of the meter socket past the pipe (not knowing how high it goes) assuming this is a mast that goes through the roof.

Cheers
John
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 12:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,922
Rewards Points: 7,787
Default

Move the chimney.
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 05:07 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Problem solved, owner wants to get gas fireplace and get rid of the chimney ....anyway it would be a good challenge . thanks everyone for your replies
yarik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 10:05 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 158
Rewards Points: 330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navyguy View Post
I see two options (while not knowing how close the pipe is to the wall)...

1. Use rigid conduit;
2. Install a disco at the current location and run #3/3 inside to the new panel location.

To be realistic, I think that if that pipe got over 90*C there would be bigger problems then the service conduit being too close.

Cheers
John
What is the reasoning for this? Is it because the always live feeders will be in the house for a longer than normal distance?
Canaduh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 10:25 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 5,334
Default

Rule 6-206(1)(c) and 6-208 and Bulletin 6-1-15.

Cheers
John
Canaduh likes this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Navyguy For This Useful Post:
Canaduh (02-07-2018)
Old 02-07-2018, 10:50 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 158
Rewards Points: 330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navyguy View Post
Rule 6-206(1)(c) and 6-208 and Bulletin 6-1-15.

Cheers
John
Thank you John. I still dont see the need for a disconnect on the outside if the code states 7.5m of unfused conductors can be in the home if in rigid or emt.
Also in regards to the bulletins, would you know how to set up some sort of notification for any new ones being released? Or do we have to just keep checking for updates? I didn't know there was an updated list since I last checked in March 2017.
Canaduh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2018, 12:41 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 5,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canaduh View Post
I still dont see the need for a disconnect on the outside if the code states 7.5m of unfused conductors can be in the home if in rigid or emt.
The disconnect would go inside where the existing panel is now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canaduh View Post
Also in regards to the bulletins, would you know how to set up some sort of notification for any new ones being released? Or do we have to just keep checking for updates? I didn't know there was an updated list since I last checked in March 2017.
I just keep checking the ESA website, I don't think there is a notice announcement... but don't remember.

Cheers
John
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NM-B Thru Studs Enclosing Chimney Assembly swimmer NEC Code Forum 0 11-30-2017 11:09 AM
Shot in the dark regarding pipe routing quarky2001 General Electrical Discussion 9 08-11-2017 10:29 PM
Receptacle for TV mounted in chimney brick Sparkykaboom Canadian Electrical Forum 12 04-20-2017 08:12 AM
6-3 Non-Metallic Wire; close to gas pipe and HAVC ductwork...SAFE? orange315 NEC Code Forum 12 03-25-2017 05:55 PM
Pipe fill ElectricalArtist General Electrical Discussion 10 08-22-2016 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com