Smallest 200A panel with main breaker - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By eddy current
  • 1 Post By splatz
  • 1 Post By wcord
  • 1 Post By 99cents
  • 1 Post By eddy current
  • 1 Post By 99cents
  • 1 Post By five.five-six
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2019, 09:17 AM   #1
NDC
Senior Member
 
NDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,294
Rewards Points: 2,070
Default Smallest 200A panel with main breaker

I'm looking for the smallest possible 200 amp panel with a main breaker AND a cover with a door.

This homeline https://www.nedco.ca/cnd/Category/Di...evPageNumber=1 seems to be the smallest I could find but I cant find the dimensions for the life of me.

anyone know the size of this?
NDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2019, 02:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NDC View Post
I'm looking for the smallest possible 200 amp panel with a main breaker AND a cover with a door.

This homeline https://www.nedco.ca/cnd/Category/Di...evPageNumber=1 seems to be the smallest I could find but I cant find the dimensions for the life of me.

anyone know the size of this?
Iím not sure of its size but it looks very small.

Curious why you want a 200 amp panel with such little amount of space for circuits? If itís for a residence that actually needs 200 amps that thing will be jammed full.

I would just make room for a full size panel.
NDC likes this.
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 03:29 PM   #3
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,679
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
Iím not sure of its size but it looks very small.

Curious why you want a 200 amp panel with such little amount of space for circuits? If itís for a residence that actually needs 200 amps that thing will be jammed full.

I would just make room for a full size panel.
True but sometimes a small main panel and a big subpanel with most of the circuits makes sense.
NDC likes this.
__________________
Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might;
for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom,
in the grave, whither thou goest.
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2019, 05:15 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wcord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 3,721
Rewards Points: 1,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NDC View Post
I'm looking for the smallest possible 200 amp panel with a main breaker AND a cover with a door.

This homeline https://www.nedco.ca/cnd/Category/Di...evPageNumber=1 seems to be the smallest I could find but I cant find the dimensions for the life of me.

anyone know the size of this?
According to their catalog, enclosure type 9
14.25 X 29.86 X3.75
NDC likes this.
__________________
Social media has made too many of you comfortable with disrespecting people and not getting punched in the mouth for it.
wcord is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wcord For This Useful Post:
NDC (04-08-2019)
Old 04-07-2019, 05:41 PM   #5
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 19,882
Rewards Points: 10,125
Default

Smallest might be Siemens listed at 27”. The door might be an issue, though (special order?).

I put one in a couple of months ago and it was small but the main breaker compartment still had lots of room.
NDC likes this.

Last edited by 99cents; 04-07-2019 at 05:52 PM.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 08:05 PM   #6
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
The_Modifier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 2,513
Rewards Points: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NDC View Post

anyone know the size of this?
Homeline is towards the bottom if I recall correctly

Manual
__________________
Opportunities multiply as they are seized.
The_Modifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:07 AM   #7
NDC
Senior Member
 
NDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,294
Rewards Points: 2,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
Iím not sure of its size but it looks very small.

Curious why you want a 200 amp panel with such little amount of space for circuits? If itís for a residence that actually needs 200 amps that thing will be jammed full.

I would just make room for a full size panel.

I plan to install the 200 amp panel in the garage and make their existing main a sub. The 200 amp panel is to feed two car chargers only at full charging rates.
This home is only 3 years old.

The existing ground is a plate buried directly on the outside of the panel under a concrete walkway where the service conduit enters the home. I'll have to pull a ground wire into the existing service conduit which shouldnt be a problem but I would really like to use the existing ground plate to ground the new 200 amp panel which will be about 25 feet away.
I'm assuming I have to use compression type crimp to tie into the ground correct?

I know 2018 OESC says we can use split bolts now but that code takes effect in May. You guys think an inspector would allow the new code rule to fly?
NDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:31 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NDC View Post
I plan to install the 200 amp panel in the garage and make their existing main a sub. The 200 amp panel is to feed two car chargers only at full charging rates.
This home is only 3 years old.

The existing ground is a plate buried directly on the outside of the panel under a concrete walkway where the service conduit enters the home. I'll have to pull a ground wire into the existing service conduit which shouldnt be a problem but I would really like to use the existing ground plate to ground the new 200 amp panel which will be about 25 feet away.
I'm assuming I have to use compression type crimp to tie into the ground correct?

I know 2018 OESC says we can use split bolts now but that code takes effect in May. You guys think an inspector would allow the new code rule to fly?
Where is the existing panel? Is it also in the garage? Is there digging involved in upgrading the new service or is it just new wire and conduit from the meter base?

Iím thinking it would be easier to just abandon the old ground and install a new one along with the new service unless the new panel is going in the same location as the old one or close to it.
NDC likes this.
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:36 AM   #9
NDC
Senior Member
 
NDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,294
Rewards Points: 2,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
Where is the existing panel? Is it also in the garage? Is there digging involved in upgrading the new service or is it just new wire and conduit from the meter base?

Iím thinking it would be easier to just abandon the old ground and install a new one along with the new service unless the new panel is going in the same location as the old one or close to it.

The existing panel is in the basement no digging required for the new one. The new panel will be in the garage on the opposite side of the meter base.

I was going to re-route the 1-1/4" conduit to the new panel. Installing a new plate means i have to break the concrete walkway.
NDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 08:37 AM   #10
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
The_Modifier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 2,513
Rewards Points: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NDC View Post
You guys think an inspector would allow the new code rule to fly?
That would be up to the inspector, not an internet forum.
__________________
Opportunities multiply as they are seized.
The_Modifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 10:01 AM   #11
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 19,882
Rewards Points: 10,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NDC View Post
I plan to install the 200 amp panel in the garage and make their existing main a sub. The 200 amp panel is to feed two car chargers only at full charging rates.
This home is only 3 years old.

The existing ground is a plate buried directly on the outside of the panel under a concrete walkway where the service conduit enters the home. I'll have to pull a ground wire into the existing service conduit which shouldnt be a problem but I would really like to use the existing ground plate to ground the new 200 amp panel which will be about 25 feet away.
I'm assuming I have to use compression type crimp to tie into the ground correct?

I know 2018 OESC says we can use split bolts now but that code takes effect in May. You guys think an inspector would allow the new code rule to fly?
I know a guy who knows a guy who would do the work now and pull the permit May 1.
tmessner likes this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 01:00 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
five.five-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,026
Rewards Points: 8,368
Default

Zinsco used to make a really small 200A but that went up in flames.
99cents likes this.
__________________
Liberal Paradise would be a place where everybody has guaranteed employment, free comprehensive healthcare, free education, free food, free housing, free clothing, free utilities, and only authorities have guns. We have such a place. It's called prison.
five.five-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Breaker - Miswired or Cross Connection Question priya1 General Electrical Discussion 4 01-18-2019 08:17 AM
Need Second Opinion on Circuit Breaker Panel Brian99 Residential Electrical Forum 6 01-13-2019 08:00 PM
Powering a main lug panel through a breaker? hovelmarkj Other Codes and Standards 7 10-30-2018 11:50 PM
Size feeder for Resi 200A panel. 4/0? - tricky bullheimer NEC Code Forum 15 02-15-2018 02:18 PM
Main Circuit Breaker in Sub-Panel (Again) swimmer NEC Code Forum 166 12-17-2017 04:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com