Splicing in LB's and T's? - Page 5 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree77Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2019, 04:54 PM   #81
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkadelicfred View Post
Does anyone have an answer for Ontario? Lately it's been about ALberta, which is fine and dandy and all that but I'm trying to find an answer for Ontario. The codebook makes it seem like it would be fine but I'm getting mixed replies from everywhere.
There is no specific CEC or OESC code that says you can not do it.

And again, there is a volume stamped on it for a reason and that reason is for box fill, not conduit fill.
glen1971 and emtnut like this.

Last edited by eddy current; 03-15-2019 at 05:01 PM.
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2019, 03:32 PM   #82
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Ontario
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Update guys! Talked to the ESA inspector today about splicing in LB'a and T's and he said as long as it doesn't go over your conduit fill then there's no problem!
Funkadelicfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 04:24 PM   #83
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkadelicfred View Post
Update guys! Talked to the ESA inspector today about splicing in LB'a and T's and he said as long as it doesn't go over your conduit fill then there's no problem!
You mean box fill
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2019, 10:08 AM   #84
Senior Member
 
Borgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,665
Rewards Points: 3,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkadelicfred View Post
My boss says we can't put marrette's and splices in things like LB's and T's but I don't see why not? It's marked by a volume and the code doesn't say anything against it. Is he right that you can't do this?
Your boss is absolutely correct! The CEC does not permit it!

12-912, 12-3000(1) and the most important one 2-024(1). Feel free to consult the front of the code book for definitions.

Have a nice weekend!

Borgi
__________________
If a man aint a feared he's a fool!
Borgi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 11:29 AM   #85
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgi View Post
Your boss is absolutely correct! The CEC does not permit it!

12-912, 12-3000(1) and the most important one 2-024(1). Feel free to consult the front of the code book for definitions.

Have a nice weekend!

Borgi
Neither of those codes say you can not make a splice in an LB. LB's have a volume stamped on them for only one purpose, box fill. They are considered an "equivalent device" by many provinces, including Ontario and Alberta. Feel free to review your post #79 for clarification


12-912 There shall be no joints or slices in conductors or cables within raceways, except in the case of busways, wireways, cable trays and surface raceways with removable covers.

12-3000(1) A box or equivalent device shall be installed at every point of outlet, switch or junction of conduit
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 07:38 PM   #86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
Neither of those codes say you can not make a splice in an LB. LB's have a volume stamped on them for only one purpose, box fill. They are considered an "equivalent device" by many provinces, including Ontario and Alberta. Feel free to review your post #79 for clarification [IMG class=inlineimg]https://www.electriciantalk.com/images/smilies/wink.png[/IMG]


12-912 There shall be no joints or slices in conductors or cables within raceways, except in the case of busways, wireways, cable trays and surface raceways with removable covers.

12-3000(1) A box or equivalent device shall be installed at every point of outlet, switch or junction of conduit
Oh, and I forgot the most important one, 2-024, use of approved equipment.


*see the bullets in the product description below for what the product is approved for, especially the fourth one where it says “ for use as a chamber for making splices and taps”

http://www.cooperindustries.com/cont...cfittings.html

Another point about why they are approved for splices is there is a volume stamped on them. For instance, pull 90’s do not have a stamped volume so they are not meant for splices. If LB’s were not approved for splices, there would not be a volume stamped on them, just like all other approved boxes have.
Bird dog likes this.

Last edited by eddy current; 03-29-2019 at 08:25 PM.
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 10:40 PM   #87
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
I've done that before and thanks.
Usually im running 1/2 emt (I know another subject! ) and don't have room. Also I want to keep the condulet watertight if outside.
I will try again and see if it's doable, I don't like the wrap around method myself but don't want to leave it ungrounded.

Sink a fine thread wafer tek screw into the back of the condulet. I wouldn't do it in an explosion proof environment but I'd trust it to be at least as water tight as the cover gasket secured by an aluminum cover.
Gnome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gnome For This Useful Post:
zac (04-15-2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com