What do you guys use for 100 and 200 amp service? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Canadian Electrical Forum


Like Tree16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2020, 04:57 PM   #21
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boonies, Ontario
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 212
Default

4/0 rw for 200's
1/0 rw for 100's
if you look in the 2" lb it will say max 3 4/0, so when we do commercial 200's with 250's we use 2.5" lbs and 2" pipe. Although our inspector never gives us a hard time with running the additional #6 through the service conduit
I always bring an insulated green through the meter can without terminating and use the service conduit to get to the panel to ground. saves a penetration.
quick_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2020, 08:25 PM   #22
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,731
Rewards Points: 8,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quick_2 View Post
4/0 rw for 200's
1/0 rw for 100's
.
I assume you talking about aluminum, but why such a large conductor for 100 amps?
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 12:01 AM   #23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Most of my work is small town/rural, with no gas service, so 98% is 200A services.
3/0 copper RW90 with a bare #3 copper for neutral. Metal mast if I need the height, 2" PVC from meter socket to panel.

For underground from a CSTE or pole mounted meter socket, then 250MCM USEI usually.
Viggmundir is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2020, 04:54 PM   #24
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boonies, Ontario
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 212
Default

We only get deliveries once a week, and i understand its harder to get #1, so we usually buy per the reel and 1/0 works in every situation and long feeders for voltage drop too.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
quick_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 05:54 PM   #25
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
The_Modifier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 2,995
Rewards Points: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
Why only up to 400 amps?
Exactly, those fools are leaving profits on the table- a real pro knows to use #14AWG.
Bird dog and Kevin_Essiambre like this.
__________________
Opportunities multiply as they are seized.
The_Modifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 05:59 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 6,546
Rewards Points: 798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Modifier View Post
Exactly, those fools are leaving profits on the table- a real pro knows to use #14AWG.
and leave a taillight warranty.
__________________
EARTH FIRST! We'll strip-mine the other planets later.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 08:03 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 336
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Essiambre View Post
I use RW90, and normally for a resi 200 amp service I'll use black 250mcm aluminum for the hots, and white 4/0 aluminum for the neutral.

Never had an issue with this combination of wires.

Only reason for the reduced neutral is because 250mcm is not stocked in white, so it saves us taping it white or painting it white.

Thanks Kevin. When you go with 2x250 and 1x4/0 aluminum, does this fit into a 2in pvc lb nicely? Or do you use 2.5in lb?
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 08:28 PM   #28
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,139
Rewards Points: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie44 View Post
Thanks Kevin. When you go with 2x250 and 1x4/0 aluminum, does this fit into a 2in pvc lb nicely? Or do you use 2.5in lb?
2.5" is too expensive. I've seen the 2" LB (or LL or LR) that says 3×4/0 max, but it hasn't been an issue, and our inspections were mandatory visits, so the inspector never mentioned anything...

I'll dig up some photos later, but the photos may only have 250mcm taped grey (i had grey, and its permitted) rather than the reduced neutral.

Oh, and some were back to back LB's, but as long as you make the bends correctly, they fit without an issue.
__________________
Vote Kevin for Moderator!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Kevin_Essiambre; 07-02-2020 at 08:32 PM.
Kevin_Essiambre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 08:42 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 336
Default

Found this by the way bulletin 4-3-9
Attached Thumbnails
What do you guys use for 100 and 200 amp service?-dsds.jpg  
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 08:51 PM   #30
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,139
Rewards Points: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie44 View Post
Found this by the way bulletin 4-3-9
So we could use #2 aluminum for the neutral if we wanted when using 250mcm aluminum for the hots.... interesting and good to know.

I have the bulletins, but never really bothered to read them ALL. I read them when looking up code references or to double check something.
__________________
Vote Kevin for Moderator!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kevin_Essiambre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 01:14 AM   #31
Magic Smoke Remover
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,009
Rewards Points: 1,976
Default

Can't use #6 neutral here, even on 100 amp service.

From the head inspector when I fought my last failure:
"What is the smallest size service you can legally install on a single family dwelling? Right 100-amps! X .83% on the service ungrounded conductors and 70% on the service neutral. If we are going to use calculations to de-rate feeders, we need to have calculations printed and on site for inspector to document and keep with the permit records. A service neutral shall never be smaller than #4cu or #2al for a single family dwelling when rebuilt."

He doesn't know how to read the code book. Such a PITA, other times doesn't even open the panel.
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 08:15 PM   #32
NDC
Senior Member
 
NDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,554
Rewards Points: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quick_2 View Post
4/0 rw for 200's
1/0 rw for 100's
if you look in the 2" lb it will say max 3 4/0, so when we do commercial 200's with 250's we use 2.5" lbs and 2" pipe. Although our inspector never gives us a hard time with running the additional #6 through the service conduit
I always bring an insulated green through the meter can without terminating and use the service conduit to get to the panel to ground. saves a penetration.

how are you transitioning the 2.5" lb to 2" pvc?
NDC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 08:16 PM   #33
NDC
Senior Member
 
NDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,554
Rewards Points: 2,580
Default

BTW every 200 amp service around here I have changed never had anything larger than a #3 neutral if fed with 3/0 copper.
NDC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 08:21 PM   #34
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,139
Rewards Points: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NDC View Post
how are you transitioning the 2.5" lb to 2" pvc?
I'm willing to bet he uses one of these Carlon PVC reducer bushings. (Or any brand, but this info is Carlon).
__________________
Vote Kevin for Moderator!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kevin_Essiambre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 07:44 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 336
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Essiambre View Post
So we could use #2 aluminum for the neutral if we wanted when using 250mcm aluminum for the hots.... interesting and good to know.

I have the bulletins, but never really bothered to read them ALL. I read them when looking up code references or to double check something.

This client is specifying that they want copper wire not aluminum and a full 200 amps.
If I use 3/0 copper, do you think going with a #3 copper neutral will be ok with the inspector?
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 08:57 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 336
Default

Whats easier to work with copper 3/0 RW or copper 3/0 T90?
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 09:35 AM   #37
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,139
Rewards Points: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie44 View Post
This client is specifying that they want copper wire not aluminum and a full 200 amps.
If I use 3/0 copper, do you think going with a #3 copper neutral will be ok with the inspector?
I always like to explain to these clients that the wiring that connects the entire electrical grid is aluminum.

As for the neutral, you posted this table below in post #29

My interpretation of this would mean #3 copper is large enough for a 200 amp service regardless of if the hots are oversized.
__________________
Vote Kevin for Moderator!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kevin_Essiambre is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com