Feeders and Branch Circuits in the same Conduit. - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > NEC Code Forum


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Navyguy
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2019, 11:48 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 20
Default Feeders and Branch Circuits in the same Conduit.

Is there an NEC article that requires Branch circuits and feeders to be in different conduits? Specifically I'm wondering about two panel tubs that are nipple together and do I need a separate nipple for the feeders and for the branch circuits
Dizzykidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2019, 11:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,653
Rewards Points: 449
Default

It's fine, just watch your derating.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 12:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,071
Rewards Points: 3,858
Default

Can you use a panel as a raceway in the NEC? We are not allowed to up here. If we had two panels nippled together (not sure why we would even), you could not pass through one panel to get to the breakers on the other panel.

That is why you see things like this up here...

Cheers
John
Attached Thumbnails
Feeders and Branch Circuits in the same Conduit.-im000587.jpg  

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2019, 12:47 PM   #4
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,634
Rewards Points: 16,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzykidd View Post
Is there an NEC article that requires Branch circuits and feeders to be in different conduits? Specifically I'm wondering about two panel tubs that are nipple together and do I need a separate nipple for the feeders and for the branch circuits
No useally not unless it is speced in the prints and just be aware of derating that will get ya if you are not aware of that.

That part is in NEC but for CEC it dont allowed for some reason ( unless someone in CEC side post the code number for it )
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 01:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,653
Rewards Points: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navyguy View Post
Can you use a panel as a raceway in the NEC? We are not allowed to up here. If we had two panels nippled together (not sure why we would even), you could not pass through one panel to get to the breakers on the other panel.

That is why you see things like this up here...

Cheers
John
Yes, you can provided there is adequate space, which is very hard to fillup, so yes.

As for your picture, that wouldn't work well here. Because of derating requirements it doesn't make sense to put that many circuits into the same raceway.

If we needed circuits from 2 different panels to enter the same raceway, we would typically use a small trough to do it. But that is more of a commercial thing, no need in resi.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
Navyguy (02-17-2019)
Old 02-17-2019, 01:31 PM   #6
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 14,384
Rewards Points: 7,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post

If we needed circuits from 2 different panels to enter the same raceway, we would typically use a small trough to do it. But that is more of a commercial thing, no need in resi.
Unless you're Chicken Steve.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 01:32 PM   #7
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 14,384
Rewards Points: 7,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navyguy View Post
Can you use a panel as a raceway in the NEC? We are not allowed to up here. If we had two panels nippled together (not sure why we would even), you could not pass through one panel to get to the breakers on the other panel.

That is why you see things like this up here...

Cheers
John
Are those new FPE breakers?
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 01:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,071
Rewards Points: 3,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
Are those new FPE breakers?
That is a new install circa +/-2006 I think. FPE panels have not been available since about 2009 or so in Canada. They are still, by far, the most popular residential panel in Ontario for anything that was installed prior to +/- 2009.

On almost every residential job I go to, there is a FPE panel installed. Breakers (except for the AFCI) are plenty available. If you install a new AFCI circuit you need to install a deadfront or AFCI receptacle since AFCI breakers are not available.

Cheers
John
MTW likes this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 05:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
EJPHI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N California
Posts: 268
Rewards Points: 338
Default

For nipples of which <2' lengths of conduit are one type, you don't have much concern with derating like you do with raceway.

I think fill also gets relaxed a bit but I am not too sure being just an engineer.

Last edited by EJPHI; 02-17-2019 at 05:24 PM. Reason: damn typos
EJPHI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessory Building Spark Master Residential Electrical Forum 14 09-17-2017 12:31 PM
Branch neutrals are all burnt on neutral bar dham206 General Electrical Discussion 26 07-21-2017 11:29 PM
UF cable cover requirements WronGun Residential Electrical Forum 76 07-21-2017 08:23 PM
Voltage drop on feeders especially the grounded conductor Arrow3030 NEC Code Forum 13 09-28-2016 06:54 AM
Multiple Voltages in the same conduit Aegis Canadian Electrical Forum 14 06-07-2016 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com