Tandem breaker question - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > NEC Code Forum


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By WPNortheast
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2019, 07:14 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
blueheels2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 320
Default Tandem breaker question

I have attached a picture of GE TM 3020 panel that a customer would like to add another circuit to. As you can see tandems have been installed already but I’m not sure that is correct. Normally I would check the label on the panel door and it would give me all of the relevant info however in this instance the label is ripped and torn off. The only info I can see is a stamp in the box that says it is a tm 3020. Pretty sure after researching this means 30 space 200 amp. Could be 30 circuit though meaning the panel is a violation at this point.

House was built in 79’ and it is the original panel.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Tandem breaker question-0ad01ff1-f52c-4679-a49a-a42d2d778018_1552561953791.jpg  

blueheels2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2019, 07:30 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,225
Rewards Points: 1,601
Default

I don't know much of anything about GE panels.

Those aren't actually tandems, they are skinny breakers. And it's my understanding that if they fit, they are ok to use in it (similar to normal tandems being locked out if they aren't supposed to be used). So you should be able to remove one of the full size breakers on the left bottom and replace it with 2 skinny's.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 07:38 AM   #3
Sentimental Mental
 
CTshockhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 952
Rewards Points: 1,388
Default

Yeah, what Hack said, the fun part will be the neutral bar.
__________________
.
__________________________________________________

Either you like bacon, or you are wrong.
CTshockhazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2019, 08:24 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,225
Rewards Points: 1,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTshockhazard View Post
Yeah, what Hack said, the fun part will be the neutral bar.
Yeah, even if there are enough circuits left in the panel, the neutral bar often gets filled up. I usually just take a bunch of grounds off and wirenut them together.
CTshockhazard likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 10:32 AM   #5
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueheels2 View Post
I have attached a picture of GE TM 3020 panel that a customer would like to add another circuit to. As you can see tandems have been installed already but Iím not sure that is correct. Normally I would check the label on the panel door and it would give me all of the relevant info however in this instance the label is ripped and torn off. The only info I can see is a stamp in the box that says it is a tm 3020. Pretty sure after researching this means 30 space 200 amp. Could be 30 circuit though meaning the panel is a violation at this point.

House was built in 79í and it is the original panel.

Thanks
That looks like a 3040 to me...especially if its a 200 amp main. I think you would be fine to use the thin style GE breakers on the left.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 09:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
WPNortheast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT
Posts: 259
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Bottom 3 on left are all prime for turning into THQPs.. Neutral bar is open too.
lighterup likes this.
WPNortheast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 10:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ppsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 98
Default

If the breaker space accepts a THQP, it is legal to do so. The bus bar design is different where it accepts THQPs.
ppsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 01:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
blueheels2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 320
Default

Thanks guys!
blueheels2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 01:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 20
Default

GE thin breakers will only go where there is a T shaped bus slot as the thin breaker mount is completely different than the thick breaker space or any other brand. Looks like a mixture of breaker brands in there already. Not the best looking panel I have seen.
Wiredindallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-continuous breaker rating/ CSA pratice tool Mcarthur00 Canadian Electrical Forum 6 10-02-2017 01:28 PM
Non-continuous breaker rating/ CSA pratice tool Mcarthur00 New Member Introductions 2 10-01-2017 11:43 AM
Creating a "service call kit" for your second truck HackWork Business, Marketing, and Sales 41 04-07-2017 12:12 PM
AFC breaker Tripping? Darg87 Canadian Electrical Forum 10 05-29-2016 10:18 PM
what is the differences between inverse time circuit breaker and regular breaker? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 17 05-22-2016 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com