? fire alarm code whiz - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Trade Topics > Other Codes and Standards

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By Dpcarls1598
  • 4 Post By LARMGUY
  • 1 Post By JoeSparky

Old 04-27-2020, 06:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 486
Default ? fire alarm code whiz

I'm an electrician who also installs the fire alarm system in the buildings I wire but some aspects of NFPA 72 I don't get.

I thought a fire alarm system DACT could not use two telephone lines for primary secondary transmission of events but two fire technicians have disagreed. I just installed a small system and the monitoring company have chosen to use the FACP DACT with 2 telephone lines from Verizon, that might be POTS lines. All other systems I've done were monitored by a different company and the buildings did not have Verizon lines available and radio systems were used.

Whenever I'm told I'm wrong about this I timidly mention section 26 of NFPA 72 and hear mumbling or nothing. I thought this was changed in 2013 but I don't really know. I'm reading my handbook in 26.6.4 digital Alarm Communicator Systems I only see an exception in 26.6.4.4 and subsequent areas, especially the expert Handbook commentaries, clearly are telling me you can only use two identical transmission methods when invoking that exception.

Anyone have help for this electrician dabbling with tiny wires?
farmantenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!